We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent value for money”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Links View

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dining room / kitchen Dining table (seating 8)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
25 reviews
Dining room / kitchen
Dining table (seating 8)
Tiles with details of St Cuthbert's story
Living room
Toyboxes
Hallway and stairs to first floor
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Family bathroom
Library
Stairs to second floor
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 4
Patio garden
The Castle
Sandham Bay
Across the sandflats to mainland, view of Cheviot and Hedgehope
View to the Farne Islands and Bamburgh Castle from the Heugh
St Cuthbert's Island with mainland beyond
Phil the grey seal
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Holy Island, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
186394Mol...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
Reviewed 1 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We were there as a 3 generation family including 3 children. The house is very interesting, spacious very clean and extremely well equipped. Obviously well loved by the owners who have an eclectic taste in reading material available.
We have rented other properties on the island but this is definitely our favourite!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise W
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed 30 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Lovely home - thank you. A well appointed house in a beautiful location; spacious and absolutely immaculate. We will return!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Oct 2017
We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay and liked the house so much. Look forward to welcoming you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deacon P...
2 reviews
“plenty of space but damp rendered lounge unusable .”
Reviewed 17 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The location wonderful. Kitchen well equipped and toys etc for children as stated.
On entry the house smelt of damp & lounge furniture felt damp to touch. When son arrived, he was unable to go in lounge as felt tightening in chest. Grandson 13 also felt tightness in chest.- neither are asthmatic.It was very good weather throughout stay.
The loo downstairs very difficult to flush - mentioned in guest book 2016.
The dog friendly garden had holes in fence allowing access to other peoples gardens which previous guests had tried to block with sticks, I added to these.
Hoover did not pick up.
The decor was very tired and just needs sprucing up as does furniture.
Overall not good value for money.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2017
Hi Deacon,
I am so sorry that you had some problems during your stay with us. We are very glad you enjoyed the house generally, and thankyou so much for bringing these issues to our attention after your stay - all of the minor issues are being attended to.
I should point out that the garden is not advertised as "dog-friendly", as the yard leads onto the neighbour's yard, dogs can certainly use the garden but should be under control, and this is requested in the house handbook. We are so close to lovely beaches, paths and open spaces that few of our doggie guests find they need to exercise in the garden :)
The house has a 16th century cellar, and we have recently had damp works done at the top of the cellar stairs, and are replacing the cellar dehumidifier. This should tackle any remaining smell.
However, I was most concerned to read that you thought the living room was damp including furniture. I must say we've found this mystifying, and have really tried to get to the bottom of it, as we can not feel or locate any damp in this room - and both sets of guests who stayed immediately before and after you, have confirmed all of the furniture was fine during their stay. I suspect one of the chair arms was still slightly damp from cleaning, and I apologise for this.
Please do email us personally if you re still not satisfied. We normally try to rectify any concerns during guests' stay, but were not aware on this occasion. Thankyou for your frank review, and we hope to welcome you again in future for a trouble-free stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizzieKay...
Northumberland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, unique and atmospheric house.”
Reviewed 15 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Links View is very hidden away yet in the most convenient spot. It is a very old house with a complex history that makes for a unique and very special holiday experience. The decor is very William Morris which is just right for this house.
There is no reserved parking but we managed fine on the street . We were a group of six women away for a creative weekend and links view was just the job . The communal spaces are lovely with a big kitchen table in the kitchen diner and comfy seats in the lounge . There are three toilets, one on each floor but only one shower . The heating was exactly right and there is constant hot water . Only slight downside - Some of the beds are a little past their best and a bit lumpy and creaky. It was excellent value and everything was very straightforward. We noticed there are cupboards packed with games and DVDs so you can have a great holiday with the family even if the weather is poor. Well equipped kitchen. We had a fab time and plan to go again very soon.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jo462
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful stay in unique property.”
Reviewed 5 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Even having seen the photographs of Links View before our arrival, the house comes as a wonderful surprise! It is very large with lovely, light, spacious rooms in a beautiful historic building. We stayed at the end of January, but the house was still delightfully cosy and warm after our chilly walks down to the sea. The kitchen is very well equipped, so self-catering was a pleasure. It is ideally located, just on the edge of the village centre, with spectacular views of the castle from the front gate. A really outstanding property - we had a marvellous, relaxed time and would definitely stay here again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing