We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Welcoming, Relaxing, Tranquil - Outstanding!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Backhill Bothy

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Alan P
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Welcoming, Relaxing, Tranquil - Outstanding!”
Reviewed 12 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Arriving at the Bothy, you are immediately in relaxing mode - really peaceful, fantastic views of the surrounding farmland and the coast. Berwick upon Tweed is only a few miles away. John and Trish have really put some thought and care into the furnishing of the cottage - we thought that most things if not everything which we required had been catered for - even down to a starter pack of tea, coffee, sugar etc. and a very nice bottle of wine.
We had a really relaxing week, taking advantage of the sun room every day - the views are exceptional.
There are plenty of opportunities for walking in the local area, however if you wish the local beaches are tremendous - long golden sands and they are empty for the most part.
We would recommend driving the coastal route, stopping at the various picturesque fishing villages especially Sea Houses (Fish and Chips are great).

To sum up our visit - we had a really relaxing time, John and Trish are really welcoming hosts who have built a truly exceptional rental cottage. We will certainly be back and can thoroughly recommend Backhill Bothy.

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The tranquillity
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2015
That's exactly what we had hoped to provide - a relaxing and comfortable home-from-home - we're very glad we met your expectations.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarahtO51...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Top cottage to celebrate our Silver Wedding Anniversary”
Reviewed 2 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The best cottage we have ever stayed in ! And we have stayed in many over the last 30 years
The Bothy was very spacious and we enjoyed sitting on the decking in very comfortable deck chairs .
The kitchen was superbly equipped with all the utensils you would need
And the picnic hamper was a added bonus
The views are stunning and it is so peaceful as well
It is very close to all places we wanted to visit .
We even drove to Scotland
We will be back :)

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The enormous shower and super king bed
Liked least: Leaving
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2015
What a fantastic review - thank you so much. Glad the weather was good enough to use the deck chairs! Don't wait for your next big anniversary before coming back to see us!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
900kated
Thirsk, United Kingdom
1 review
“wonderful”
Reviewed 5 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

had a great stay. lovely welcome. beautiful accommodation. not to be faulted, photos do not do it justice. we will be back

Date of stay: July 2015
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harriett...
1 review
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 5 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Beautiful accommodation, not to be faulted. The photos do not do it justice. Lovely welcome from the owners. Immaculate place with stunning views. Had a wonderful time. Thank you we will definatley be back.

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2015
... and we will definitely look forward to welcoming you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JarrarPee...
Peeblesshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best of everything”
Reviewed 9 July 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We stayed at Backhill Bothy for a special celebration and it more than lived up to expectations. The hosts have thought of everything and more. It was spacious, comfortable and luxurious. The location is perfect for exploring this beautiful area we just wished we could have stayed longer. The bonus is being able to take your dog. The hosts are so friendly and welcoming and couldn't have been more helpful. We have recommended it to many of our friends and cannot wait to return.

Date of stay: April 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving to come home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2015
We are so pleased your special celebration went well and would be delighted to welcome you back again, when hopefully you can enjoy a longer stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.