We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous Xmas Stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Benthall House

Sea View from lounge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sea View from lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Sea View from lounge
relaxed dining
Twin room
Lounge area
Beadnell bay
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Beadnell, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
kdcNorthu...
northumberland
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Fabulous Xmas Stay ”
Reviewed 5 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We were delighted to find a house for our family Christmas holiday on the stunning , unspoilt North East coast which was also 'dog friendly' however when we arrived at Benthall House it far surpassed our expectations. 
Benthall House was attractively & thoughtfully prepared for Christmas by Sam, the approachable & caring owner.  The accommodation is of a very good standard has a great layout for family/group leisure & fun.  The kitchen/dining/garden room works especially well.  The garden & driveway are very secure for children & dogs. 
Beautiful Beadnell Beach is right on the doorstep & along with other stunning beaches the area offers great restaurants, pubs, cafes & independent shops. 
All in all we enjoyed a wonderful family Christmas at Benthall House.
Thoroughly Recommended- 5+ Stars

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jan 2017
Hi Keith we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate all your kind words. Hope you come and stay again sometime

Thanks Sam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gamegirl4...
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic well equipped very spacious house in a fantastic location next to Beadnell Beach”
Reviewed 20 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Booked Benthall House for 6 adults, 2 teenagers and 2 dogs for a birthday surprise. The house is in a fantastic location just 1 minute walk from beautiful Beadnell Beach. It is very spacious with 4 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms, a lovely big kitchen dining area with added sunroom, utility room and an upstairs comfy lounge with fantastic views of the sea. There is also an enclosed balcony off the lounge. The house is exceptionally clean, homely and so well equipped with everything you need including tea, coffee, dishwasher tablets, washing up liquid, towels etc etc. The owner Sam, was there to meet us with a warm welcome and the key, and a delicious chocolate cake, wine and biscuits which was very thoughtful and much appreciated! There is wifi throughout, a lovely big secure enclosed garden at the back with a large patio and outdoor furniture, and lots of parking at the front. It is a short walk into Beadnell village. If you're thinking of booking this property then don't hesitate as you won't be disappointed. We would definitely go back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole house!!!and location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Nov 2016
HI Thank you for your amazing review. It was lovely to meet you when you arrived and I am pleased that you enjoyed the birthday surprise. Thank you for leaving the house so neat and tidy when you left and I hope you come and stay again soon

Sam x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorksnpro...
Huddersfield
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Simply perfect!”
Reviewed 6 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Our criteria was a fully equipped, dog friendly holiday rental with ample space very close to the beach. Benthall House scored a 10/10 in every aspect.
The owners attention to detail here is exemplary and as far as facilities are concerned this house has everything you will need to make your stay an enjoyable one.
We were greeted with a lovely Coffee cake, bottle of wine and treats for the dogs.
If you are seeking a clean attractive and comfortable base, close to the most beautiful attractions this fantastic county has to offer, then look no further.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Having to come home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Oct 2016
Hi, thank you for your kind review we are so pleased that you had a fabulous time at Benthall House and in Northumberland. Hope to see you again soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leedsrhin...
Leeds, UK
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“So spacious”
Reviewed 4 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed at Benthall House recently for a family holiday to celebrate my husband’s 60th birthday – six adults, one toddler and a large dog.

The house was ideal for our needs – plenty of space for us to spread out and only two minutes’ walk to the beach. The kitchen diner had everything we needed so we only ate out once the whole week. (The Craster Arms - vg). The beds were very comfortable and the showers had good water pressure and plenty of hot water. We’ve had many family holidays where either the beds, the showers or both were far from perfect so we all gave full marks for this!

Plenty of seating both inside and out and safety gates on the stairs. Having a dog with us, the utility room was very useful for preparing his food and drying him off after he’d been in the sea. The washer was also made good use of, but we didn’t need the dryer as the weather was so good.

The welcome pack was a lovely touch – wine, cake, biscuits and even dog treats. We didn’t get to use the barbecue as, although the weather was fair, it wasn’t quite warm enough but we took the folding chairs, windbreak and beach towels to the beach each day with a picnic.

Seahouses is a ten minute drive (or half hour walk) away with a great greengrocers and a well-stocked Co-op. There are plenty of cafes, restaurants and take-aways there too.

We took Sam’s recommendation and booked a caterer for the birthday meal. I had some reservations as we’d never done anything like that before, but Adele and her daughter were fantastic. Very organised and friendly, they prepared wonderful food (with enough leftovers for a meal the following day) washed up and left us with coffee and home-made truffles. So much more relaxing than trying to get a toddler and dog to behave in a restaurant!

We’ve visited this area before so we took the opportunity to revisit Lindisfarne, Alnmouth and Alnwick (excellent butcher and of course Barter Books). Mostly though we were content to sit in the garden or on the beach and relax.

I would definitely recommend Benthall House to anyone visiting this area with a large party of people and we hope to be back ourselves before too long.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: So much room
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2016
Hi thank you for this wonderful review. It sounds like to had a jam packed week and I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Benthall. It is great to hear that the house was comfortable for your needs and that you had a great birthday celebration. Thank you for your recommendation and look forward to seeing you again soon

Thanks again

Sam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy O
Durham
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect for our walking holiday”
Reviewed 16 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We're old hands at Beadnell holidays, and this house was perfect for our walking week. Lovely and light, bright and well equipped. Plenty of space for wet gear....but we didn't need it as the weather was fab. Half of our group walked 50+ miles over the week....the other half (hardy souls) walked 100+ miles because they walked back and didn't catch the bus Stunning sunrises at 4.20am......if you're up at that hour☀️ Enough parking space for all five cars. Nice garden and patio for evening drinks. We had a great time!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2016
HI Judy, thank you for your great review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your walking week and it sounds like you have all done a lot of walking! Hopefully you managed to relax at the house and enjoy the views

thank you
Sam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing