We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best cottage we've ever stayed in”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Breakers Bamburgh

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rear view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Rear view
Side view
Twin/Double bedroom
Master bedroom
Kitchen dining area
Lounge dining room
Bathroom
Balcony
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bamburgh, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
faytothej
Stockton-on-Tees, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best cottage we've ever stayed in”
Reviewed 25 April 2015 for a stay in October 2014

Massive 'wow-factor' as soon as we walked in, especially when we walked upstairs and saw the views and decor.

Lovely extra touches, such as the Buck's Fizz, chocolates, hard drive full of TV programmes and films, magazines, and children's toys including a train set.

We would definitely recommend this cottage to friends and hope to return ourselves one day soon.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Apr 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write your wonderful review, it is very much appreciated. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you back at Breakers in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane E
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“beautiful luxury holiday house in a great location”
Reviewed 13 April 2015 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Breakers last summer and have booked to return later this year.
Fabulous property, beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean and very well equipped. Utility room with sink and washing machine a bonus. Very quiet location with lovely balcony for eating outside at night. The excellent kitchen made cooking easy but the owners recommended lots of places to eat nearby. Plenty of good restaurants to choose from. We wanted somewhere close to the coast for visits to Lindisfarne, Farne Islands and other bird watching areas. Access to the A1 is easy and there are some great beaches within very easy reach. Loads to do in the area. Breakers was everything we were looking for.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackrat2
Hamilton, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL ACCOMODATION”
Reviewed 12 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Have just returned from a delightful week of peace and tranquillity at Breakers. The accommodation is as good, if not better, than the pictures depict. Everything is finished to a very high standard and all the furniture is lovely. Everything has been thought of and all the silly things which can often be missed in self catering properties are provided. Maps of the local area, spare bin liners, dishwasher tablets, sharp knives!! decent kettle and toaster. A truly splendid place to stay which I cannot fault.

The accommodation is about 1 mile outside Bamburgh and is part of a renovated farm with 12 or so houses most of which are rental properties. It is an 'upside down' house with bedrooms downstairs and the lounge/kitchen etc. upstairs making the most of the views. It has a view of Bamburgh Castle to one side however the balcony does face the opposite direction but has equally nice views towards the Cheviot Hills. We had particularly sunny weather for our stay and were treated to several stunning sunsets over the hills during our stay.There is a small storage hut which can be used to store up to 4 bicycles. There is a static caravan site nearby but it is shielded by trees and is in no way intrusive.

The local area has some stunning coastal walks and is relatively flat with a maze of small lanes all of which are excellent for cycling. Holy Island and Alnwick Castle are short drives away. Lots of places to eat nearby from the upmarket Mizen Head in Bamburgh to the delicious Elan pizza shop in Seahouses.

Overall a lovely property which we will be returning to and can thoroughly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Balcony and excellent quality of property
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Apr 2015
Colin, many thanks for your kind words. We've been meaning to get this sorted for ages and couldn't have asked for a better review. Your feedback is invaluable and hopefully we will have come up with more added touches in time for your next visit. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards Peter and Lisa.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing