We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mrs”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Shy Bairns

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Alnwick Castle
Alnwick Treehouse Restaurant
nearby Alnmouth Beach
Alnmouth
Alnmouth Beach
Alnwick Aln Valley Railway
Alnwick Garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Alnwick, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jane M
2 reviews
“Mrs”
Reviewed 4 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our family break away staying in this property. It was a home from home, comfortable and welcoming from the moment we arrived. Loved the welcome gift of prosecco and delicious biscuits-thank you. The cottage had everything we needed for our stay including very comfy beds, a lorge bath and shower, space to sit, chill and play games and if we had wanted to a well equipped kitchen to cook in. The cottage was ideally placed to walk into the centre of Alnwick to a variety of shops, cafes and restaurants. Barter Books was a short walk away as was the castle with the beautiful coastline a short drive away.
We would defintely recommend a stay in this property and would love to return one day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellen T
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cosy Cottage. Great Location in Alnwick”
Reviewed 18 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is centrally situated, easy walking into the centre, Barter Books and Alnwick Castle and Grdens. Easy acces by car to all th gr at places nearby e.g. We had a great walk and lunch in Craster.
The owner was quick to respond to any query and sent timely, clear instructions on what to do on arrival. The cottage is cosy and well equipped, comfortable even in the month of February!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ellen2213...
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Would highly recommend, best equipped cottage we ever visited”
Reviewed 11 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017
2
people found this review helpful

This cottage is in Alnwick and within 5 mins walking into town, via Chapel Lane. We liked the high street very much with so many interesting shops and eating places. The cottage is furnished with everything you might want to use, including DVD and CD player and books etc. Beds are very comfortable indeed. Not far to drive to the various beaches at Alnmouth. We were lucky with the weather and drove along the coast quite a bit and enjoyed every part of it. Barters Books in Alnwick is worth going to with it's open fires, cosy places to sit and a great cafe. Thousands of books set out interestingly throughout the building. Of course there is Alnwick gardens and the garden. Highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dhr”
Reviewed 9 November 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have a fantastic stay at alnwick. The house was perfect. Very nice bedroom, clean bathroom and kitchen. Very friendly housekeeper We visit alnwick castle, the beaches.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$160
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing