We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“very convenient and cosy”
other travellers have booked this property
Juliet Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Juliet Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Juliet Cottage
Juliet Cottage bathroom
Alnwick Castle just around the corner
Local Coast
Puffin in the Farne Islands
Our friendly blackbird in her nest
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Alnwick, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sandstone...
UK
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“very convenient and cosy”
Reviewed 10 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Cottage was situated ideally for us to avoid using the car occasionally. Well supplied with utensils etc. Welcome pack was very nice.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Mattress was too soft
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Oct 2016
Thank you very much for your lovely review. It is appreciated! Louise.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable and convenient cottage”
Reviewed 10 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Juliet cottage is located close to the centre of Alnwick, which makes it very convenient for all local amenities. The cottage is very well-equipped and comfortable, and we felt that we were made welcome with a personal note from the owner and a generous welcome pack on arrival. We spent some time in the town itself, and there are some good pubs and places to eat, and we also visited Alnmouth where we had a very pleasant walk by the sea.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Oct 2016
Thank you so much for staying at Juliet Cottage and for writing such a nice review. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
Thank you again. Louise.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rkkeys
Newton-Le-Willows, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent place to stay, a real home from home.”
Reviewed 10 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

This was our second visit to Juliet cottage and we cannot praise it enough. A real home from home in the centre of Alnwick with every amenity you could wish for. The welcome pack was a very thoughtful touch which set up a lovely start to our holiday. The beds were very comfortable, the kitchen extremely well stocked and the living room a great place to unwind after a long day out in the beautiful Northumberland countryside. We will definitely be returning in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Oct 2016
Thank you for your lovely review of Juliet Cottage. We look forward to welcoming you back to Northumberland!
Best Wishes, Louise and the Team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
butlershi...
nottingham
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Juliet Cottage”
Reviewed 10 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Had a lovely stay in Alnwick.
Cottage close to town so ideal for anyone not able to walk long distances. Alnwick Castle and gardens in walking distance and worth a visit. Plenty of equipment in kitchen etc. Good to have full size fridge/freezer in kitchen.
Enjoyed our stay in September.
Carol

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Oct 2016
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to review your stay. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. BW Louise.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise G
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Nice but needs a bit of tlc ”
Reviewed 2 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We stayed here at the end of August 2016 having booked the cottage on the basis of the consistently excellent reviews on trip advisor. We've stayed in Alnwick on several occasions over the years and the standard of accommodation has been nothing short of fantastic. Unfortunately the last property we used had seen a considerable hike in price which we really couldn't justify so we opted for Juliet cottage.
The location is second to none - literally 5 mins walk from the main attractions - castle, gardens, barter books etc and equally close to the town centre amenities. Although there are double yellows throughout the entire immediate area and very fierce traffic wardens allegedly, there's a convenient free long stay car park 2 mins away round the corner which never seemed full.
The property itself is a handsome stone terrace on a steepish hill. It's decorated nicely in a country cottage style and feels v homely once you're settled in. Loads of storage space in main bedroom - 2nd bedroom with bunks and a pull out truckle bed isn't the biggest to be honest but there's still room for a set of drawers. No separate dining room just a smallish table in the corner of the living room so you'd struggle to all fit round if there were 5 of you
The property was well equipped with everything you could possibly need. Nice welcome pack - biscuits, milk, bottle of wine etc and loads of local info provided. Nice touch was the ready provided washing stuff - powder, dish washing tabs etc
We did struggle to dry clothes
as the little yard at the back (nicely done out by the owners with fairy lights and loads of flowering plants) didn't seem to catch much sun.
Although the bedrooms and living room were v clean, hate to say it but kitchen and bathroom were a tad grimy. Black deposit round taps in bathroom which mould remover could have easily remedied - not a nice look or something I'd have in my own bathroom ( and I'm not that fastidious I have to admit ! ) Limescale totally encrusting shower door handles or maybe they were peeling ? , some of the cooking utensils, plates and baking trays etc were put away dirty and one of the drawers wasn't that clean either although oven and fridge were fine. To be honest in places the house looked like it needed a tiny bit of tlc.
I felt uncomfortable mentioning this as none of the other reviews have done and it looks like I'm being overcritical but I think it needs to be pointed out. Never experienced it before in other properties. However it's a lovely cottage and we had a great time but just something to be aware of.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2016
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to make your review of Juliet Cottage and we are delighted that you were pleased with the location, decoration and homeliness of the cottage.
We are however sorry that you were disappointed with a couple of things during your stay and we would suggest that perhaps Juliet Cottage has become victim to the large number of fantastic reviews which have been put online by previous guests.
Juliet Cottage is rated by the AA as a three star cottage; and we take great pride and enjoyment in trying to ensure that guests have a lovely surprise by the niceness of the cottage when they arrive.
We, of course, greatly appreciate the five star reviews on Tripadvisor; Juliet Cottage is in fact, only a 3 star property and so we only charge 3 star prices. During the height of the season, the school summer holidays, we charge less than £80 per night for four people, that’s less than £20 each per night.
To address some of the specific things mentioned, the cottage is only advertised for four people, not five. We have left the pull out bed in the bunk room simply because some parents may prefer to use it rather than the bottom bunk if they have a toddler who may be at risk of falling out of bed.
The table in the living room opens up and so it can be used for up to six guests eating (if you have visitors while staying in the cottage).
Earlier this year (2016) we spent £2,500 on a revamp of Juliet Cottage kitchen. We put in lovely velux windows, new dimmable lighting and completely redecorated. We apologise if one or two of the dishes had been put away by previous guests without being cleaned by them properly. Our fantastic cleaner Mandy takes great pride in her work, but she does occasionally miss things.
It is right that the silver on the shower door handles has started to peel off. About a year ago we took advice from our plumber who told us that neither the handles nor the shower doors can be replaced and that we would have to fit a new shower if we wanted to update them. The shower at Juliet Cottage works very well and so it seems a shame to replace the whole shower because of the doors. We leave a note in the bathroom apologising for the shower doors and explaining the problem with them. They are perfectly serviceable however and they work well.
We are aware of the need to replace the sealant on the two taps and that is one of the items on our “to do” list, however, the bathroom is spotlessly clean.
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We love our cottages and we love the fact that guests really enjoy staying in them. We really appreciate the time which has been taken to submit your review especially as we are always striving to improve.
Thank you again, from Louise and the team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$93
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing