We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The White Swan Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$242
US$213
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eshott Hall(Eshott)
US$151
US$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$195
US$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Purdy Lodge(Belford)
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$168
US$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Newton Hall(Newton by the Sea)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
St Aidan Hotel(Seahouses)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1 127)
Filter reviews
1 127 results
Traveller rating
320
382
247
121
57
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
320
382
247
121
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssister shipthe olympic dining roomhardy's bistroolympic restaurantclassic lodgesafternoon teano liftcoach partyold coaching innthe hotel car parknight portercourse dinnerlovely hotelcooked breakfastthe main streetbottle of proseccoalnwick gardens
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 1 127 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Staff very friendly and helpful the dinner was very nice piping hot .The room was ok nothing special the staircase and dining room were beautiful.Breakfast was ok it wasn’t particularly hot neither was the tea but adequate the breakfast did look a little lost as there was a lot of empty plate .The bed was comfortable and it was very quiet

Room Tip: We were on the first floor and there was no noise
Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank 312poll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We live locally and have been to 'The Swan' several times, eating in the Bistro. However, this was our first lunch in the Olympic Dining room, so called because all the beautiful windows, wooden carved panels etc all came from the Titanic's sister ship, Olympic.
We had the carvery, incredibly well priced at £8.95..beef or lamb, four types of vegetables, gravy...it was all hot (which some carveries definitely are not), tender meat and very tasty. For us older members of the party it was nice to just take the quantities we wanted..sometimes in the North East the portions are hugely generous!
The desserts were equally great, and not over priced at £3.95, and to cap it all off, my grandson was given an Easter Egg as we were leaving....totally unexpected, but what a lovely touch.
The waitresses were extremely good and very friendly and efficient, and the whole experience was a pleasure.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank paulaI1527MX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A very warm and welcoming hotel, all the staff were very nice. Food was really good both dinner and breakfast. Our room was a little small but its an old building and was ok for us.
Just a short walk from castle and right near all the shops and great fish & chip shop across the road - perfect location for a visit to this town.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank clairelouise1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Really poor quality fittings and unfriendly staff. Tried to change rooms but was told they’d have to ask manager but they wouldn’t be back until the day we were due to leave. Very disappointed as we’d been looking forward to our few days break. Definitely wouldn’t recommend. Sorry.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Amynjoe213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here as in the main part of the town and very handy for Alnwick Castle and gardens. The hotel is a 300 year old coaching inn and was refurbished in 2007. Room was very clean and comfortable. We loved the decor in the restaurant very grand. Staff and service very friendly.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Foxyladypmf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews