We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent late lunch ”
Review of The Joiners Arms

The Joiners Arms
Reserve with OpenTable
The Joiners Arms is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 122 Restaurants in Alnwick
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Gastropub
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Meal with family and friends, sheltering from the dreadful Bank Holiday weather! Good atmosphere and very friendly staff...nothing too much trouble.

Good food and nothing disappointed. The fish & chips were excellent and huge, burger very tasty....the taste of the sea well worth it and the best dish (according to my wife).

Well worth a visit and reasonable priced

1  Thank Wintys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueManager, General Manager at The Joiners Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Wintys,

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to escape the weather. Glad we filled you up for the onward journey and that you enjoyed all the dishes. Hope to see you again soon and hopefully the sun too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 1 139 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We travel to Scotland on a fairly regular basis and having found this pub a couple of years ago it has now become our preferred stop off point for lunch. The sharing seafood platter is excellent.....well presented and delicious. The addition of the calamari has enhanced the meal even further. Just one point....2 small and thinly sliced pieces of bread with this sharing platter....I.e. One thin piece of bread each, is miserly. The waitress brought us more when we requested it but just add some good wholemeal chunky bread and this will make this meal superb. The couple next to us also requested more bread for their seafood platter so we weren't alone in thinking the bread portions were parsimonious! We'll definitely be calling in again.

Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueManager, General Manager at The Joiners Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Liz,

Thank you for your review and feedback with regards the bread. We are always more than happy to supply more bread with the platter. A coincidence that both you and the table near required more; as more often than not we actually come back with all the bread.We carry 3 different types and are more than happy to supply whatever and however much you require. Thank you again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Attended as a party of 7 without a booking. The waitress kindly seated us despite it being exceptionally busy.

Portion sizes are huge and quality of food is decent.

They were very busy and service was a little slow however the blonde waitress with plaits was very friendly and made the wait bearable.

Thank Annafandango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueManager, General Manager at The Joiners Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Annafandango,

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit and glad you found the team friendly. We had an extraordinary amount of walk in trade on top of our bookings that day and this in turn put a strain on our service times during your visit which I can only apologise for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Very warm welcome from the staff. Good food and drinks. What more could you ask for from a foodie pub near the sea.

Thank Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueManager, General Manager at The Joiners Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Maria G,

Thank you for your review and glad we ticked the 3 most important boxes of hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After having the worst start to our holiday, withe the most horrendous service and average food at a bistro in Beadnall we decided to try here and we were not disappointed. We visited a few times during our week away and the staff were brilliant, so friendly and helpful and the food is delicious too. Will be back x

Thank samnaylor180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueManager, General Manager at The Joiners Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

samnaylor180,

Glad we could get your holiday back on track after a poor start. I will pass on your feedback to the team and hope to see you and the family again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Joiners Arms also viewed

Newton by the Sea, Alnwick
 

Been to The Joiners Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing