We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Allenheads, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Westwell4...
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed 6 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Lovely cottage, that backs onto the moor, with all you need for a secluded holiday. No wifi so the kids actually had to communicate with us which was lovely! Lots of lovely local walks - be prepared for strong, unrelenting wind if your venture up onto the moor! Booking was easy and landlord's communication was great. Only minor frustration was that the garden wasn't linked to the house so we we had to accompany the dog when he wanted to go out.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veldee
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Simply relaxing”
Reviewed 4 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Stayed here for a week with my partner, 15 year old daughter and her friend. Absolutely fantastic cottage with everything you could need.

The cottage was clean throughout and full of character. It was very spacious. The only room I would say was small was the bathroom but still very a usable.

The garden leading down to the river was well kept n had plenty of space to sit out.... A gate lead through to the river where you can have bbq/fires and enjoy a glass of the good stuff.
I just cannot find a fault with the place. Some people may not like that you have to heat the water for a bath but we found with simple planning, each of us could have one every day and that it just added to the character of the cottage.
The cottage is set in some simply stunning scenery with rabbits and sheep on the field directly across the road and sheep wandering out the back too. Waking to the sound of ducks and sparrows was just lush (when all we hear at home is seagulls).
The nearest shop in Allendale, just a ten minute drive away and the nearest supermarket is in Hexham, just a thirty minute drive.
There are some great walks near to the cottage and tons of things to do including, Killhope lead mining museum, Hexham Abbey, and Newcastle is just a hour away is you fancy a bit of shopping.
Just book, I promise you will not regret it

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GothamGir...
Witham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage, stunning surroundings”
Reviewed 6 June 2016 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here in August 2015 after finding it on a pet friendly holidays page on Facebook. Having never hired a cottage before or even taken our pooch with us we were a little dubious.

However, we had no reason to be, we arrived at the cottage and it did not disappoint. Absolutely beautiful cottage, in stunning surroundings.

It was one of our best holidays and we will definitely return, I cannot recommend the cottage enough.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouBeeeLo...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Super cosy retreat”
Reviewed 6 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Enjoyed a lovely, relaxing week in this pretty cottage. It was well equipped with everything needed for the week, including some starter fuel for the fire It had snowed before arrival and the cottage and surroundings looked very picturesque. The master bedroom is a great size, with a wonderful four poster bed, which was very comfortable. The night storage heaters were effective in keeping the cottage warm and in the evenings we lit the open fire, which was great fun and gently infused everything with the wonderful smell of wood smoke. A short walk (a mile) from the cottage there is the Hemmel Cafe and the Allenheads Inn - both very welcoming, with fires roaring and worth more than one visit. Take a torch if heading out after dusk, particularly as you'll be walking mostly in the road. A drive in the other direction takes you to Allenheads, which has shops, cafes and a few pubs. We enjoyed a couple of great meals in the Golden Lion. Everyone we came across was friendly. It's a happy place, it did me the world of good and I'll be back :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The open fire, the cosy feel of the place
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Dec 2015
Thank you for taking the time to share this lovely feedback with us, we are so happy that you had such an enjoyable holiday! It sounds like you had everything you needed both inside and surrounding the cottage, which is just what we love to hear! We certainly hope that you come back for another visit very soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santonhea...
Cleveland UK
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Lovely cosy cottage in which to get away from modern life.”
Reviewed 21 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed at Englewood cottage in June 2015. Had a really lovely relaxing week. The cottage is clean and cosy with an nice décor. On arrival we found the cottage to be clean and well kept and has everything you need. However you are expected to take your own be linen, towels and tea towels which did not worry us but may put some people off. Cottage is pet friendly and our small terrier loved the area and especially looking at all the rabbits in the field directly opposite the cottage. The rear garden is across a shared lane at the back and would be nice on a warm day, however the weather was not kind during our stay and we did not have the chance to use it. The garden runs down to the River Allen. Fishing permits to fly fish the river at various stretches including the area behind the cottage and through the village, can be purchased at the post office in Allendale village, £10 per day or £40 for the week. The river is a great wild fishing venue for small brown trout and a good place to hone your fly fishing skills (Something the owners might want to advertise a bit more).
The location is ideal to explore Northumberland and Durham.
Bathroom only had a shower attachment on the bath and the electric heating system meant after a single bath the tank had to be boosted if someone else wanted a second bath.
Only real point to be aware of is the total lack of mobile phone coverage ( for O2 anyway).
So if you are looking to totally get away from modern life this is the place to be.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet location
Liked least: Lack of Wi-fi.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing