We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Evening meal”
Review of The New Inn

The New Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The New Inn is a traditional country pub serving great food and real ale. The pub was refurbished and reopened in January 2013. It is a freehold pub, family owned and family friendly, just 3 miles west of Northallerton.The restaurant, to the rear of the pub, seats 40 and can be booked for private parties. The lounge and bar area is ideal for eating and/or drinking with 2 fires, including a traditional wood burner.All food is sourced from local suppliers wherever possible and is homemade by the landlord and chef, Carl Tinkler. The pub frequently serves cask ale from Northallerton’s local Walls County Town brewery in addition to cask ales from the popular Black Sheep brewery at Masham.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Extremely disappointed, unable to eat the chicken parmo. Horrible . Was offered another meal but was passed it after waiting a while fir our food

Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carl t, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

You are obviously out to undermine our reputation. Our chicken is free range & always fresh. When you were approached by waiting staff you did not like the sauce or you thought that there was too much. I don't really think that a personal view on one dish resorts to a crazy minded review on here. You obviously don't use TripAdvisor!! That's a good thing for everyone else

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just a short walk from Canada Fields Camp site!. We were truly amazed at finding such a gem in such a small Hamlet. myself the gluten free wife & 3 children were absolutely blown away with the food & service encountered. price was very good too for such great quality. We will certainly return on our next tourist visit. Keep up the hard work

Thank carlbennett356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carl t, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018

Four of us arrived at our B&B in Northallerton at 6 pm on a Saturday and didn't start booking dinner until 7. We struck out on our first four attempts before managing to get in here for 7:45. I read the reviews and thought we were in for standard stodgy pub grub with overcooked veg, not least because the New Inn's website doesn't have a dinner menu and brags about its "buffet menu" and beer. Could not have been more wrong. The food was excellent and the two servers were a total delight. And, yeah, the beer IS something to brag about.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank TFredWells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carl t, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018 via mobile

We called in on a afternoon and we were greeted by Vicky. She was so lovely and friendly. For starters had the prawn cocktail and duck orange parfait, followed by haddock and chips. The food was outstanding, the best we've eaten for a long time . I finished with a pudding of ice cream, hazelnuts and salted caramel, again lovely. Will definitely be going back and would highly recommend.

Thank rick321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018 via mobile

We were there today, 8 of us as parents visiting.

Delicious delicious delicious! What more can I say!

Staff attentive and friendly.

Deep fried Brie was the best I've ever tasted! Roast lamb to die for.

Thanks so much

Thank Tracyat2066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carl t, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2018

Thank you very much. We hope to see you all again very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The New Inn also viewed

Northallerton, North Yorkshire
Northallerton, North Yorkshire
 
Northallerton, North Yorkshire
Northallerton, North Yorkshire
 
Northallerton, North Yorkshire
East Cowton, Northallerton
 

Been to The New Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing