We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Murphy's Rest

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Filey, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mark S
1 review
“Excellent.”
Reviewed 21 March 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Murphy's Rest was ideal for our weekend away. The house was clean and well looked after. The welcome pack and extras were lovely. The weather was atrocious, so it was good to have access to Sky TV and broadband as well as The Bay's pool. Recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Mar 2018
Thank you for your kind words and we are glad you enjoyed your stay despite the British weather! All the best Louise
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie S
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Just perfect!”
Reviewed 27 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We have just enjoyed a wonderful short break at Murphy's Rest. The cottage is immaculate and every little detail is thought of my the owners. All staple provisions were provided and many more above and beyond. So much thought has gone into everything you may possibly need and it is provided.
The beds are just so comfortable - I'm just struggling to sleep in my own bed now as it doesn't feel so nice!
Contact with the owners is excellent and they really are wonderful hosts.
Although the house is dog friendly, there was not a single trace of dog hair or doggy smell at all - in fact the house smells lovely.
The Bay itself is fantastic. Extremely dog and family friendly. We used the pool and the food in the pub was lovely. We had lots of walks on the beach and walked up to Filey, which is a nice little town - can recommend the Cobblers Rest for a lovely meal on the beachfront - dog friend'y too and excellent value - pizzas for £6.95 were enormous and the nicest pizzas I have had (and I have eaten a lot of pizza!).
All in all, a perfect holiday destination - my only concern is that too many people will find this little gem so we won't be able to get booked in again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Mar 2018
Thank you for your lovely review. We’re glad you had a fantastic holiday and found Murphy’s Rest comfortable. Please do think of us again in future we would love to host you for your holiday. Louise
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
17 Feb 2018
Thanks for your kind words and pleased you enjoyed your stay. Please think of us for a future holiday and hope to see you again. Kind regards Louise
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
jennyhugi...
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family visit”
Reviewed 7 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We had a lovely two night break in Murphys rest visiting nearby family. The cottage is very clean and bright and anything you may have forgotten to bring with you is pretty much provided! The weather wasn't great but it didn't matter as it was such a pleasure to stay in the cottage. Would recommend.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Feb 2018
Thank you for your kind words and so glad you enjoyed your stay at Murphy’s Rest, we hope to see you again in the future. All the best, Louise.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
9 Dec 2017
Thank you for your kind words and glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kind regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing