We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“First class holiday accommodation”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Murphy's Rest

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Filey, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Dorothy...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“First class holiday accommodation”
Reviewed 27 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

After a day driving with two and a half hours of traffic hold ups we didn't arrive until dark. Murphy's Rest is a beautiful, spotlessly clean cottage - I was a bit dubious as dogs were welcome but it truly is spotless and very welcoming. After a late meal we settled down in very comfortable beds and rested well.The holiday village is quiet, even though there were plenty of holidaymakers around. There are lots of facilities on site but we made full use of the beach virtually on the doorstep and walked for miles. My new favourite place. I hope to return many times. Thank you Louise

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Oct 2017
Thank you for your kind words and we’re so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Although we are happy for four legged friends to stay, we make a conscious effort to make the property as clean as possible and we’re glad you didn’t feel put off by the house being dog friendly. Please do consider us for a future holiday. All the best Louise
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amy-89x
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect stay”
Reviewed 17 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Lovely stay at Murphy's rest, looked even better than the pictures. The cottage was lovely, very spotless and just perfect for the two of us and dog plus nice little welcome hamper. Only wish we would of stayed a few weeks earlier would of been perfect to sit out on a summers night. We stay somewhere different at the bay each year but will definitely return to this cottage. Thank you for having us!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2017
Thank you for your kind words and we're glad you had a great time despite the temperamental weather! Please do consider us again for a future visit. All the best Louise
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
14 Sep 2017
Thank you for your kind words, we try to make sure the house is as comfortable for our guests as possible. Please do think of us again for a future holiday. Kind regards Louise
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LindiN
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Just perfect ....”
Reviewed 20 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

I almost don't want to review Murphy's Rest so it's free for us next year ... but that would be unfair. It's absolutely perfect ... the owner has thought of everything. It's clean, it's light and airy, the attention to detail is amazing. We absolutely loved it, and only wished we had booked for longer. See you in 2018 Murphy's Rest - thanks so much for a relaxing and happy holiday (albeit brief).

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2017
Thank you for your kind words and we're thrilled Murphy's Rest was everything you could have wished for. We would be delighted to welcome you back next year! All the best Louise
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah M
1 review
“A lovely haven a stone's throw from the beach”
Reviewed 6 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Murphy's Rest is the perfect holiday retreat. The house is equipped with everything you could possibly need and is immaculate. We had a fantastic stay and will definitely return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2017
Thank you for your kind review we're so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Murphy's Rest. Please do consider us again for a future holiday. Kind regards Louise
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing