We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disapointing and concerned for the rabbits”
Review of The Pink Pig Farm

The Pink Pig Farm
Ranked #5 of 24 things to do in Scunthorpe
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A friendly Lincolnshire farm with an award winning farm shop, Greedy Pig cafe, indoor playbarn & family farm park with lots of indoor and outdoor play and animals to meet pus a free tractor/trailer ride. Free-range, homemade, happiness.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited with Grandson and was disappointed...felt it was little more than a café and soft play area. There was a few sandpits with a few tatty toys in them and the water feature in one of the sand pits wasn't working and I had to ask for it to be switched on. There was a water race game where you had to squirt water to push a pig along a track….3 out of the 4 water handles were broken so rendered the game unusable. The indoor soft play was good and my grandson enjoyed it the most. My main concern was for the welfare of the rabbits. The rabbits were kept in hutches that had nothing in them but water and straw...no stimulus at all for the rabbits. They were taken out and put on a table to be stroked by children but other than that just confined to a boring cage. Although the cages were clean and would just about meet RSPCA guidelines I felt more could be done to enhance their lives and with so much space on the farm it would have been nice to see them in an outdoor space. When I asked the lady doing the rabbit petting session about their confined space she said they have problems with foxes.... but secure outdoor space is achievable even if they are brought in overnight. Rabbits should also have constant access to hay as they eat constantly...straw isn't adequate. Some of the chickens also had no shade and it was 25 degrees and their water tray was filthy with green slime. I wouldn't recommend going.

Thank Denise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carriejacksonn, Owner at The Pink Pig Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Goodness Denise, what a shame that you didn't enjoy your day. We take the utmost care with our animals and they are regularly inspected by the local EHO with a clear bill of health. I take all your comments on board and if we look to change in the future we will think again. It is a shame that you didn't go on the toboggan ride, or giant swing, or ride on tractors or the big digger or the tractor trailer ride? Best Wishes, Sally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (669)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"farm shop"
in 84 reviews
"play barn"
in 56 reviews
"tractor ride"
in 93 reviews
"pig farm"
in 61 reviews
"sausage"
in 54 reviews
"indoor play area"
in 36 reviews
"zip wire"
in 26 reviews
"panini"
in 11 reviews
"guinea pigs"
in 17 reviews
"working farm"
in 8 reviews
"soft play"
in 19 reviews
"sand pit"
in 14 reviews
"be visiting again"
in 15 reviews
"local produce"
in 8 reviews
"food was lovely"
in 8 reviews
"afternoon tea"
in 11 reviews
"year olds"
in 10 reviews
Filter

7 - 11 of 669 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I would give it higher than 5 if possible. Our granddaughters (aged 5 and 3) absolutely loved every second. There are so many different things to do and plenty of space. I particulatly loved the water and sand park - no electric just handpumps. Buckets, spades, everything you need on an indoor beach is provided. The mud kitchen was a huge hit. The taboggan was fantastic - our girl's couldn't ride on that enough. It was so beautiful to see all the children taking turns and helping pull them back up. The pedal tractors are superb and the adventure looking for dragons was also very special. I think the beauty of the farm is the variety of things to do and see, which is simple enough for their imaginations to find space to run wild.
As for Moonbeam - well what an amazing unicorn and even more amazing experience that will stay with my girls forever. Absolutely magical!!
They can't wait to come back. Thank you very much for a fantastic day and wonderful memories!

Thank ljphillpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carriejacksonn, Owner at The Pink Pig Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you, thank you for your fabulous review. We are so glad that you all enjoyed your day. Look our for a 'be a farmer' and 'be a bushranger' events in the summer holidays - even more fun! Best Wishes, Sally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Attended forvthe Unicorns and Dragons event - slightly higher than usual price was entirely worth it my daughter was overjoyed. Good friendly staff , great outdoor play area, the indoor play area and cafe is good and we frequently use the restaurant as the food is great. It’s good for an afternoon out even if the weather is rotten.

Thank Nick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carriejacksonn, Owner at The Pink Pig Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Nick, so glad you enjoyed your day - just £1 more for children and 49p more for children - not bad value for all the extra activities! We love unicorns and dragons too. Thank you for your lovely review, best wishes, Sally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018 via mobile

Came here Saturday afternoon and only stayed a few hours, not been since it's changed would say it was ok nothing amazing son enjoyed it for couple of hours but after that he was ready to go!! Didn't get chance to go on the tractor ride as everytime we went it was full!! Not much animals!! Wouldn't come again would say they is better farm parks about

1  Thank wheatley1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carriejacksonn, Owner at The Pink Pig Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Thank you for your review. Our tractor trailer rides run all day if we are busy - do try earlier or later. I hope your son enjoyed all the sand and water play, zip wire, toboggan run, frisbee golf, giant digger, big swing and duck racing too! Best Wishes, Sally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2018 via mobile

We are an Out Of School Club, who arranged an educational visit for today. We were greeted off the bus by Linda, who stayed with us all day. She showed the children how important farms are and arranged for a Tractor- trailer ride, a close up handling experience with a snake, a tarantula, lizard and more!!! Took us on a guided tour of the farm and even provided drinks to give the children on a hot day! Much appreciated! All the staff were helpful, the outdoor play area was well equipped to cater for the different ages of our children on the trip!!! The whole place had a relaxed feel and I would recommend it to families with young children. Thank you, we will be back soon!!!

Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carriejacksonn, Owner at The Pink Pig Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2018

Thank you Martin. I have passed o your good wishes to my team and especially Linda and I'm so glad that you had a great day. We hope to see you again next holidays! best Wishes, Sally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Pink Pig Farm also viewed

 
Scunthorpe, Lincolnshire
Messingham, Scunthorpe
 

Been to The Pink Pig Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing