We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An idyllic base for our North West travels”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Midsummer Barn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The rear of Midsummer Barn The lounge, with feature full-height window giving rise to stunning long-distance views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
22 reviews
The rear of Midsummer Barn
The lounge, with feature full-height window giving rise to stunning long-distance views
The lounge, with feature staircase
The feature staircase
The kitchen, featuring a large dual-fuel range cooker
The farmhouse kitchen, with large dual-fuel range cooker
The master bedroom
The family bedroom: double bunk on the bottom, single bunk on the top, plus a cot
The twin-bedded room
The bathroom with shower, bath, basin and toilet
The front access to Midsummer Barn
The view from the back windows, over the garden to the fields beyond
Stunning views from Midsummer Barn
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Darwen, Lancashire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
garyconli...
Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“An idyllic base for our North West travels”
Reviewed 6 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Great location looking out over the valley. Even our German Shepherd loved watching the sheep and chickens in the adjoining fields.
Everything in the barn was fully accommodated for and a friendly welcome was waiting for us when we arrived.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 May 2018
Many thanks for your review, and I am so glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Andrew H
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Peaceful, cosy and well equipped”
Reviewed 29 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely cottage, that was well equipped, warm and had everything we needed. Was able to cook for friends and family while visiting and there was a well equipped laundry for catching up on the kids washing on our long holiday. Kids games, and DVDs were a welcome extra along with tourism leaflets and local maps. Beds were comfy and our kids slept better in the Bunk beds than they do at home. WIFI/internet was very slow but was helpful as we had limited connectivity on our foreign mobile phone contracts. Good access to motorways and owner seems to take feedback for continuous improvements.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2017
Many thanks for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Slow wi-fi is unfortunately one of the drawbacks of being in a semi-rural area, but we are continually looking at ways to improve it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul V
1 review
“Midsummer Barn”
Reviewed 21 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Very clean and tidy house in a quiet location. Owner gave very detailed directions to property and on arrival heating was on and fresh eggs and wine on kitchen table. Definitely stay in this house again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Sep 2017
Thanks for your review and glad you enjoyed your stay. We always try to provide our homemade wine for guests to try - supply of eggs is dependent on our chickens and tends to go down significantly in the winter months!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing View”
Reviewed 13 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Comfortable, well-equipped barn with scenic views. Pet and Child friendly. We used as a base to visit Bolton Octagon theatre and to explore the surrounding area. The Dog Inn in Belthorn village is a wonderful friendly place for the whole family inc. dogs! Food superb. We had an all-round nice time.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2017
So glad you enjoyed your stay - and also our local, Community-owned Pub - The Dog Inn!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing