We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect, about the best holiday let I have ever...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Victoria Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Whitstable, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sheilaskf
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect, about the best holiday let I have ever stayed in, we all fell in love with this beautiful cottage.”
Reviewed 2 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
4
people found this review helpful

The cottage was very spacious and beautifully decorated. It is a real home from home with just about everything you could ever possibly need and then some. The cottage is very central and just a couple of minutes to the beach and shops. Lovely garden and about the biggest bathroom I have ever seen in a cottage plus an en suite in the main bedroom and another toilet downstairs.The owner was easy to contact and helpful and even left us a bottle of wine, milk, sugar, biscuits etc. We will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, cleanliness of cottage, space, homely feel.
Liked least: There was nothing to dislike.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary & Do...
Rostrevor, Northern Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sweet and well cared for”
Reviewed 17 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Location was spot on for the town centre. The house was like the tardis it seemed to expand on entering. We found it spotless, well equipped and comfortable. We were fortunate to have lovely weather so enjoyed breakfast in the cute cottage garden.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cleanliness
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daddyp58
Rye, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Charming cottage in great location”
Reviewed 16 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Sarah, the owner was very accommodating in letting us stay for a Sunday to Thursday break and was absolutely brilliant in communicating with us - she even offered to post us a stray sock we left behind ! The cottage is well laid out and reasonably equipped with a lovely cottage style garden with just enough space for a table and chairs to sit out and enjoy the sun. Location is perfect being just a two minute walk to the shore with the harbour to your right and the beach to your left and just enough distance away to be quiet away from the crowds when you want. We had a beautiful meal at the Whitstable Oyster Co restaurant opposite the Pearsons Arms although you will need a word with the bank manager first, average price for a bottle of wine £26 with the cheapest at £18. This was our second stay in Whitstable and I doubt it will be our last, would recommend Victoria Cottage especially as it has a parking space !! (No Chelsea Tractors though - they wouldn't fit ;-) )

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: the north wind !!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bev D
Retford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great cottage”
Reviewed 7 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely week in Victoria cottage. It was well equipped and conveniently situated for the beach, town and harbour.The parking place was a real bonus as on street parking was very narrow and often full around the cottage although it was difficult to get in when the neighbours were using it too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: had problem connecting more than one device at a time to the wifi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ehrlich20...
East Sussex
1 review
“Great location and enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

As mentioned in other reviews, the cottage is in a great location with easy access to Whitstable's main street (called Oxford Street) and the seafront/harbour area . The owner was particularly helpful and responded promptly to telephone and emails. We did appreciate the opportunity to be able to bring our dog although we we didn't (in the end) do so.
The cottage was generally well equipped although there were some minor issues for us with a lack of surfaces in the bathroom and en suite for personal items, and with places to store food in the kitchen. Also the overall cleanliness was a little lower than we'd expected (particularly sinks, basins and showers). An additional set of crockery would have been useful (not a criticism but a suggestion to reduce water and fuel bills) . Nevertheless, we very much enjoyed our stay and would recommend this accommodation .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Lack of surfaces and hooks in the bathroom and en suite shower on which to place personal items. Little or no storage space for food in the kitchen. Not as well cleaned as we'd expected.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing