We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Full of character & great location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Harbour Cottage

Dining Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dining Room
Harbour cottage Twin bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
29 reviews
Dining Room
Harbour cottage
Twin bedroom
Cosy fireside
Dining Room
Tea in the dining room
Lounge
Private dining in the courtyard
Enter a caption for your photo
Kitchen
Kitchen
Period sash window - back bedroom
Rear kingsize bedroom
Shutters and whitewashed floors
Front kingsize bedroom
Family bathroom
View the sea and harbour from the room at the top!
Local seafood market for that great meal
Lively Whitstable harbour
View of sea and harbour from twin bedroom
You can't miss it
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Whitstable, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Michelle...
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Full of character & great location”
Reviewed 30 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

What a great find Harbour Cottage is. Fabulous location right opposite Whitstable habour and only a few minutes walk to the Main Street with lovely shops and places to eat. A really cozy cottage, beautifully decorated and a great place to relax with family. Definitely recommended for a trip to Whitstable. We were a family group with older teenagers and a 9 year old - the cottage suited us nicely.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cozy authentic harbour cottage
Liked least: Duvets were too thick, although a minor niggle would not stop me returning
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lilmissch...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect week in a perfect cottage.”
Reviewed 19 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We fell in love with Harbour Cottage the moment we walked through the front door. Lots of room for the 6 of us. Comfy living room, big enough dining table for us all, lots of cupboard space in the kitchen. Downstairs bathroom but we're used to that. Upstairs two lovely spacious king size bedrooms. Very happy to find the windows opened as we had hot hot weather. Steep stairs up to the two room. Teenagers had no problem with them and even the 3 yr old and 21mth old we're going up and down them with supervision. Delightful courtyard garden which helped keep the little ones happy. Very close to the centre of Whitstable with its amazing shops, restaurants and harbour. Sand would have been good on the beach but Ramsgate etc are not far away at all. We didn't want our holiday to end.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hazelskip...
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful home in a fab location!”
Reviewed 27 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

What a beautiful cottage! Such a pretty home and the decor is just perfect. The cottage is situated directly opposite the harbour (if you stay on a weekday, be aware that it is a working harbour from the early morning)
We visit whitstable often but only for day trips and so a 3 night stay was lovely and well needed!
When we arrived it was after the very hot few days and so the top room was very hot. I contacted Kim and Ergin and they were quick to help and drop off an air con unit for us all which made our stay more comfortable.
The kitchen has all you need as does the whole house.
As others have mention the stairs to the 2nd floor are steep but if you take care there is no problem. And the stairs to the first floor are fine. It's part of the quirkiness of the cottage.
There were a few little bits for children in the drawer much to my 2 year olds amazement!
Whitstable is so easy going and we dined at the Whitstable Oyster Company which was delicious!
The courtyard at the cottage is a decent size and my little boy enjoyed watering the flowers each morning and evening. All in all an enjoyable stay and Kim and Ergin go out of their way to ensure your stay is a happy one. Thank you! From all of the Skippers :)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location for visiting Whitstable”
Reviewed 10 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This is a great location for visiting Whitstable and the surrounding area. Close to everything, and the station, well maintained and nice feel.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and condition. Owner was responsive and helpful.
Liked least: The steep steps to the upper bedroom. Not good for children, the elderly or disabled.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaAmar...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Despite the glowing reviews...”
Reviewed 17 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed with our daughter & her children in Harbour Cottage for 3 nights and agree with many of the positive things previous renters have stated. It was lovely to be welcomed by wine and biscuits waiting for us; we appreciated how comfortable and beautifully decorated the whole house was in general, the access to the lovely tiny patio as well as to most amenities in this fabulous town none of us had been to before – but certainly often will from now on!

We will however not stay at Harbour Cottage again. One of the previous reviewers mentioned that the property “is not suitable for people with mobility disabilities” and indeed in the general description the owners Note the steep steps to twin 2nd floor bedroom. There was no mention that all the steps, including the ones for the first floor, were also extremely steep and none were carpeted. This made it not only a bit difficult (& potentially dangerous) for the children to climb, but also rather noisy for all of us to use especially at night given that the only bathroom is situated just next to the kitchen on the ground floor (there is no cloakroom upstairs). We think that this should have been clearly stated.

Also important to note is the fact that the steps that curved up to the second floor were not just steep but very twisty with narrow treads at one end; on the last night we decided not to use the topmost room and our daughter, her husband and the children all slept on the first floor for greater safety.

The other serious concerns we had were, firstly, that the handrails up both flights of stairs were loose; and secondly that when one of the adults opened the shutters of the room where the kids were staying half of it actually came out the hinges and the whole thing fell on the floor. Thank goodness it wasn’t one of the kids opening them!! We have commented on these quite significant faults to the owners and asked for an assurance the cottage would not be rented to anybody else till they were made safe: we did receive this assurance. But we still would not stay again in a cottage with only one downstairs bathroom and two sets of steep stairs.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jun 2016
We would like to reassure future guests that we did take immediate action to repair the shutters. Although we do make monthly checks the cottage does get a lot of through traffic and the hinge worked its way loose. We will not be using the shutter fitters again who did not do a very good job with the fitting. We were upset that this problem arose.
However, we did do a safety check on the handrails and can reassure guests that they were safe. We note you did have a complaint to the previous cottage you rented re handrails.
The comment regarding not having a second bathroom is unfair. It is clearly stated that the cottage only has one bathroom.
Regarding the uncarpeted stairs - most cottages in Whitstable have whitewashed floors and stairs as is the fashion these days.
On booking your son did say that you were a 'fit' elderly person and it is clearly stated that the floor to the top twin room has twisty steep stairs and we state clearly 'not suitable for the infirm'. However, in five years of trading we have never had a complaint as most people find it charming. Most of the fishermen's cottages in Whitstable have these same stair so it may suit you better booking a new build style property.
Nobody has ever commented on the first flight of stairs being steep.
The incident with the shutter was very unfortunate and if the guests had contacted us we would have took immediate action instead of contacting us after their stay.
We would like to reassure our guests that there are no safety issues in Harbour Cottage and that they can be assured their stay will be 'hitch free'. The cottage is a delight to most of our guests who leave very supportive comments in our guest book. Occasionally things go wrong but we can assure everyone that Harbour Cottage is finished and maintained to a very high standard.
Kim and Ergin Rasit
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing