We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (530)
Filter reviews
530 results
Traveller rating
105
171
141
68
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
105
171
141
68
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviews high street old coaching inn centre of town creaking floorboards uneven floors quaint hotel biscuits central location bar and restaurant evening meal no lift overnight stay car parking short stay attending a wedding wedding reception comfy bed
Filter
Updating list...
107 - 112 of 530 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

Stayed here recently - it started badly when my partner realised she'd booked completely the wrong night, but the staff were lovely and sorted out a room and a cancellation for us.

Slightly oddly though they sent us in the wrong direction for the room and it wasn't easy to find as it's a bit of a rabbit warren. The hotel smelt faintly of slightly run down hotel but the room was pleasant enough with plenty of tea etc.

The shower was one step above what I fondly call a "hot dribble" but not much more.

Slept well, quiet and comfy room

Breakfast was a disappointment - the bacon was the undercooked congealed bacon buffet so often sadly seen, but again the staff were lovely and the sausages and hash browns were fine

Overall - would stay if I had to , but wouldn't seek it out again and would make alternative brekkie arrangements.

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank trin0209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2017

I've been staying at the Rose and Crown regularly over the past 6 years. It's always a pleasure going back. The rooms are clean, staff efficient and always helpful, the location is excellent. Ive never had any reason to find fault with anything!

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank thomassa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed here as somewhere reasonably priced to sleep after a works night out. I found the hotel to be everything I expected. The room was a twin, which was fine as I was on my own, it was clean and warm, the bathroom looked like it had been recently refurbished, it was perfect. I found all staff, reception, bar and breakfast to be excellent. No one to starchy but courteous, efficient and very helpful. Breakfast was very good, wasn't huge but plenty in my opinion, and very tasty. The only area of the hotel which is a little disappointing is the corridors to the rooms. I appreciate it's tricky when turning an old building in to a hotel making everything open and easily accessible is almost impossible but it's a bit of rabbits warren of corridors and fire doors which are a little tatty and I feel detract from what is otherwise a very good reasonably priced, centrally located hotel. Would certainly stay again.

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank paulrO4677UV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2017

very old world. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. The rooms are comfortable and clean. needs a bit of updating but is right in the middle of the town so easy walking distance for any restaurants. Also walking distance to the station.Plenty of choice for breakfast.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank corndodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2017

The room was fairly clean. Good Cotton bed linen.
Breakfast was not good. Danish pastries were not fresh. The coffee was like soot.
The full English was only warm, not hot.I hope not to stay here again.

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lisajane1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews