We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (100)
Filter reviews
101 results
Traveller rating
87
12
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
87
12
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews walk in shower the pub duty manager old police station double sinks high street night manager excellent room staff were very friendly helpful thoroughly enjoyed our stay biscuits lovely hotel saturday night beer garden hotel experience comfortable night sized bed
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 101 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2018

The room was fine. Large comfortable bed and immaculately clean room with excellent facilities. Well done to all concerned.

The staff were fine. Like all workers in this modern age they are overworked and underpaid.

Not sure about Wetherspoon's policy of politicising their establishments with Brexit literature strewn all over the tables. Personally I don't care about Brexit one way or the other but I do understand others could find it a little disconcerting.

I know W'spoons prices are good and I have to confess I've always been a little suspicious of 'spoons core clientele. I've lost count of the number of times I've seen 'spoons pubs rendered uninhabitable by the nasty foul mouthed morons of the EDL and latterly the so-called Democratic Football Lads Alliance (DFLA) engaging in what they call banter (their idea of banter is inappropriate sexist comments to female staff, outright racism, misogyny etc (their idea of an innocent 'larf')).

For the people watchers among you there is a unique inhabitant of Wetherspoons establishments. I refer of course to the 9am Stella Fellas. Men of a certain age that cannot wait to get into the strong stuff at their earliest opportunity and sit by the door glaring at everyone.

Anyhow all that said. Well done Wetherspoons. The hotel rooms were such that we didn't get any bar noise to worry us. The food was ok and as far as I am concerned whatever 'Spoons are paying those harrassaed staff isn't anywhere near enough.

Room tip: All the rooms are ok.
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hornegraham30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2018 via mobile

We live local to this newly formed addition to our town and sadly can say little positive about the place despite trying it out a few times.

Pleased to see that Weatherspoons had finally caught up with the world and are offering a varied menu to accommodate all dietary needs yet still it does not shake the cheap and tacky service and staff that seem to be a permanent fixture of this embarrassment to JD's.

We often have family and friends visit from Europe and beyond and its always a treat to take them to a local British pub for a traditional meal / experience.
Sadly we were failed dreadfully by our latest and certainly our final trip to The Golden Hope, in Sittingbourne.

On a Thursday summers evening when we approached we noticed that the front doors were flanked by embarressingly stereotypical back street club 'London' style 'bouncers' - they eyed our small group up and down rudely and made us feel judged before abruptly dismissing us with a wave of the hand turning us away to collect ID (no issues with the ID request, it was the manner in which it was done and what followed on our return).
This is not how I would expect a welcome from a Weatherspoons to be. Far from warm.
A European friend had indeed forgotten their ID so we returned home a little hungrier than before, collected the ID (they are 23) and showed the staff, who upon recognising us from 20 minutes prior again looked us up and down and dismissively told us one of the group could not enter as they were wearing tracksuit pants and trainers. 
What followed next was a great deal of laughing (at us) and then the staff on the door simply turned their backs on us and began talking amongst themselves.
As I tried to absorb this and try to apologise for my fellow countrymen's behaviour to my foreign friends, we watched as server people exited the pub dressed in sports clothes and flip flops who earnt friendly attention from the same.staff managing the door.

We queried the dress code and the rudeness intensified and they surrounded us aggressively and tried to bully us away from the building in a manner I have never experienced before (I am in my late 30's), quite unsettled at this point I requested to view the dress code guidelines as we are all professionals and work in various entertainment and customer relations in our varied employments and would expect nothing less from our own environments / customer service management. 

The door staff made little and failed efforts to source a manger and instead showed us the small print at the bottom of the menu (presumably expecting that it couldn't be read as a portion of our group spoke another language in addition to English).

The small print said nothing about dress code, in fact showed information relating to the menu content / pub details.

What followed from here was an embarrassing and shameful display inside the foyer area of the pub, and despite us repeatedly explaining we just wanted to eat a meal as we had enjoyed many on previous occasions, we were ushered roughly out of the pub and and told to leave.

I have since been approached by a manager following this review and she asked to discuss this matter with me, and then failed to ever return contact with me.
Which, I am sad to say is a complete reflection of the entire experience at The Golden Hope in Sittingbourne.
Certainly not a place I will be taking friends or family in the future.
Customer service points - ZERO.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank squidsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018 via mobile

This place we think is the best little find in the country.Stayed before and didn’t disappoint. Rooms clean and quiet, food well it is Witherspoon’s but it was ok. Drinks fab value. Ed the nite manager was his usual fab host self. We will be back, thanks xxx

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Blonndemadwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

When we booked I wasn’t holding out much hope with the price being so cheap & it being a Wetherspoons but I was so wrong!
The check in was fast & easy.
The room was a good size with a MASSIVE bed. Tea & coffee facilities, biscuits & bottle water. Modern bathroom with walk in shower.
The room was spotless & comfortable, as was the bar & restaurant.
Staff were very friendly & helpful.
Would stay again here or in another Wetherspoons.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Loudavis84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2018 via mobile

The Golden Hope In Sittingbourne is arguably the best hotel we’ve stayed in on our 7-week trip around Europe. What a cool place. The rooms are new and perfect - we stayed 5 nights (visiting family in the town) and the room was quiet, clean, serviced well and had the best shower and most comfortable bed of our trip. The 119 table restaurant was spread around the bottom floor in many secluded areas including the old police cells and two outdoor areas. They have something like 50 beers at the bar including real English ales and craft beers, all dirt cheap. The restaurant food was great with many choices and daily deals with terrific service and rock bottom prices. You can either order at the bar or download the Wetherspoon mobile app and order/pay online - so easy! The restaurant toilets are the best we have ever seen! Interaction prior to staying was professional and friendly - and Night Manager Ant Willis is one very cool young guy!
We will be annual visitors and look forward to our next stay in 2019

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank DebnGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews