We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful birthday dinner”
Review of The Black Horse

The Black Horse
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Pluckley
Price range: US$11 - US$66
Cuisines: British
Description: Situated at the heart of Kent's prettiest village of Pluckley, The Black Horse has been a traditional inn for over three hundred years with parts of the current building dating back to the 15th century. The Black Horse boasts beamed ceilings, inglenook fireplaces and offers a fine dining experience using the freshest locally sourced ingredients to create outstanding dishes that are as exquisite to the eye as they are sensational on the tongue. The food is complimented by a wide range of fine wines, choice of wonderful aperitifs and digestifs and extensive gin menu
Restaurant details
Description: Situated at the heart of Kent's prettiest village of Pluckley, The Black Horse has been a traditional inn for over three hundred years with parts of the current building dating back to the 15th century. The Black Horse boasts beamed ceilings, inglenook fireplaces and offers a fine dining experience using the freshest locally sourced ingredients to create outstanding dishes that are as exquisite to the eye as they are sensational on the tongue. The food is complimented by a wide range of fine wines, choice of wonderful aperitifs and digestifs and extensive gin menu
Reviewed 9 October 2021

Travelled from Margate to take my partner here for his birthday, beautiful evening with amazing hosts. Nothing was too much trouble, friendly service and the food was incredible! So much so that we tried to book for Sunday lunch but they’re totally full! Obviously a testament to how well the new owners are doing. We wish you every success and we will be back!

Date of visit: October 2021
1  Thank Emmagrace1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TTBC, Owner at The Black Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2021

Thank you for your kind words and well wishes. We were honoured that you chose The Black Horse to celebrate your partners birthday. We are sorry we were unable to feed you on the Sunday too, we do get really booked up for Sunday roasts. Hopefully you get to come and sample a Sunday lunch soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2021 via mobile

The pub is a wonderful venue and the serving staff and management were super. But the chef must have been overwhelmed for the Sunday lunch. Waited 50 mins for mains, the beef was not up to expectations and had to be sent back. Meant we had a disjointed meal and wasn’t enjoyable. We will try again, but not at a peak time again. Can’t fault the staff though, they tried to rectify the issues and didn’t charge us for what wasn’t eaten, even providing complimentary drinks.

Date of visit: October 2021
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TTBC, Owner at The Black Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2021

Good morning and thank you for taking the time to leave this review. We would however like to point out that we served 42 other customers with beef on Sunday and all were extremely satisfied with the quality of the meat. Despite this we were happy to provide you with replacement meals. With regards to the waiting time The Black Horse is a very busy restaurant and bookings are allocated at certain time intervals to ensure a smooth and efficient service. Unfortunately, as half of your party arrived twenty minutes late this may have resulted in a slight delay to your service in order to ensure that all our other diners were served on time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2021

We chose the Black Horse as we hadn’t been here for years and knew it had changed ownership. We were welcomed in and the food and the service was superb. We were actually celebrating our Golden Wedding Anniversary but didn’t tell anyone.
I did note that they have a super large dining table set on its own which would be ideal for a private party of approximately 8/10 people.

Date of visit: September 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank LesleyKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TTBC, Owner at The Black Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2021

Hello, thank you for your wonderful review. We are so pleased you chose The Black Horse to celebrate such a special occasion - secretly! Happy Anniversary and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2021 via mobile

5 out of 5!
We visited there today for a Sunday lunch and I have to say, the service and food were of the highest quality. I think my roast beef was perfect! My wife loved her roast pork, and she’s normally hesitant on having a roast dinner, as they’re never the same as a home cooked one.
Also, it’s a wonderful old building, packed with authentic character.
We will definitely revisit.
Oh, and it’s very dog friendly.
The only slight slight criticism would be that there would have been nice to have some non roast lunch options.

Date of visit: September 2021
1  Thank KentishManofKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TTBC, Owner at The Black Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2021

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a fantastic 5 star review, we are so pleased you and your wife enjoyed your Sunday roast. We do offer a fish dish on a Sunday and 5 small plate options, however we are mainly about the roast dinners on a Sunday! We look forward to welcoming you and your wife back soon, our Al La Carte and Set menu can be enjoyed Wednesday through to Saturday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2021 via mobile

So happy we risked this pub again after some time away … new owners … WELL DONE !!
It’s back to being not only a beautiful pub , steeped in history , but a welcoming , warm and great traditional pub with excellent service and food .
The staff accommodated me, my partner and my dog … great front of house , staff polite , helpful and cheery throughout ,
I chose the roast chicken , I must say it was one of the best roasts I’ve had , a very generous portion size and all the accompaniments one would hope for … pig in blanket and stuffing , four veggies and cauliflower cheese ( again one of the best I’ve had )
Really hope these lovely people do well
And thanks again , hope to see you again soon

Date of visit: September 2021
1  Thank saffy-belle
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TTBC, Owner at The Black Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2021

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this 5 star review! We really enjoyed reading your feedback. We look forward to welcoming all 3 of you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Black Horse also viewed

Been to The Black Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.