We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent meal! - attention to detail perfect”

Hythe Bay Seafood Restaurant Hythe
Ranked #20 of 81 Restaurants in Hythe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$94
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Hythe Bay Seafood Restaurant is in a beautiful building right on the beach. The restaurant is privately owned by the Parrett family, who run the highly successful Eastwell Manor Hotel and Spa in Ashford and we offer a fabulous choice of first-class fish dishes as well as meat and vegetarian options.In the summer months, you can dine al fresco on the terrace. Move indoors for the winter months where you can enjoy watching the waves through the windows, hearing the sea roar, whilst you are safe and snug behind the glass.Our menu depends on the local fishermen's catch. The most popular dishes include the fresh shellfish platter, grilled prawns, local grilled fish, and local cod and chips.
Reviewed 28 June 2018

To say “excellent” and “attention to the smallest detail” would be an understatement for what was a truly memorable evening meal

David (Manager) and his staff were very friendly & helpful, attentive but not intrusive

The food (as always) is as good as you can get; plentiful and served in a professional manner

The restaurant's position, on Hythe seafront, is excellent be it during the day time to enjoy the sunshine or the evening, to watch the moonlight shimmer across the water, a perfect location for any occasion to enjoy great food and service

Complementary soft warm bread (yes, warm bread – which even some 4-star hotels not too far away, sadly no longer provide) are served with lovely mackerel pate upon on arrival

Good selection of beers; wines and cocktails

This meal was for our wedding anniversary where we had previously always gone back to the same place for 30 years, having honeymoon at that venue only to be very disappointed at the changes that had been made

We have been to the Hythe Sea Food restaurants many times over past years and so we decided to go there for our special anniversary meal - and so please that we did. Not only we will book in for 2019 but also venture down to Hythe at ad hoc times throughout the year

The mixture of fine dining experience delivered in a relaxing style and at the same time maintaining high professional standards is a combination putting the restaurant at the top of anyone’s’ chosen destination

David – thank you and your team for a fantastic evening and taking us back to the quality and service of other locations. See you again soon

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Shipwrecked49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HytheBay, Owner at Hythe Bay Seafood Restaurant Hythe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Thank you for your kind words. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (917)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 65 of 917 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

We had a draught trip across France to get to the Chunnel and didn't have time to eat in the services. We came out in Folkstone, looked on trip advisor and found this place. What a find. A view over the sea, sunny weather (I kept reminding my French friends) and really fresh food. Thank you for the attentive service too.

1  Thank Dintrar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HytheBay, Owner at Hythe Bay Seafood Restaurant Hythe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Thank you. We are delighted that you enjoyed your meal and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

We stopped here for lunch and were not disappointed. This restaurant sits right on the sea front, and with tables outside as well as in. We sat out as it was an excellent warm day.
The staff were very bright and helpful, the food was as good as you can get and served in a very proffesional manner.
Enjoyed the nice cold draft cyder also.
We'll be sure to stop here when next in the area.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank paulandsonja2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HytheBay, Owner at Hythe Bay Seafood Restaurant Hythe, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Thank you. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

We where greeted by big smiles and very enthusiastic staff. My wife had the moules her favourite starter and said as good as she has ever had. My white bait was great.
Main courses Thai prawn curry for my wife and I had smoked haddock with poached egg, both dishes were fantastic. We will be going back to celebrate our eldest sons 50th birthday. Thank you for a memorable evening.

Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HytheBay, Owner at Hythe Bay Seafood Restaurant Hythe, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Thank you for your kind words. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018

I had high hopes for my meal here. I love seafood and there were a lot of positive reviews. The restaurant's position, on Hythe seafront, is excellent. Complmentary warm bread and mackerel pate on arrival were nice. The service was friendly and helpful. That more or less sums up the positives.
My wife had fish and chips, which she rated 7/10. The beer-batter looked a bit odd to me, compared to what it usually looks like.
I had seafood in a provencal sauce with new potatoes and sugar snap pea. It left a lot to be desired. The peas were undercooked and the seafood was overcooked. One of the mussels was still closed and, therefore, left uneaten for health's sake. The sauce was heavily underseasoned. I have had much better elsewhere.
The beer choice was pretty woeful, small and samely. No craft beers at all.
Shan't be going back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HytheBay, Owner at Hythe Bay Seafood Restaurant Hythe, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Thank you for your comments. Beers are primarily from Shepherd Neame, locally in Faversham, which is generally considered an excellent choice. There are dozens of craft beers in Kent and the chance of choosing one that everyone likes is unlikely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hythe Bay Seafood Restaurant Hythe also viewed

 

Been to Hythe Bay Seafood Restaurant Hythe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing