We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just lovely”
other travellers have booked this property
Relax in the quiet back garden, great for a morning coffee
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Relax in the quiet back garden, great for a morning coffee
Heron Cottage, just 200m from the beach Cosy winters with a glass of wine by the fire
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
Relax in the quiet back garden, great for a morning coffee
Heron Cottage, just 200m from the beach
Cosy winters with a glass of wine by the fire
Beach on the doorstep
Modern, well equipped kitchen with kitchen staple items all available
Relax with a bottle of wine, they'll be one in the fridge
Enjoy and home cooked meal or takeaway in the open plan dining area
One of my favourite places, reading the paper with a coffee in the sunroon
The master bedroom has lots of space, blackout blinds and a ceiling fan
The double room has a ceiling fan for warm evenings and a blackout blind for a good nights sleep
Follow Hythe's history on the short heritage trail
St Leonard's Road - right between beach and high street
The twin room looks out over the garden
The twin room has a ceiling fan and blackout blind for a good nights sleep in summer or winter
Space for a game or two, or just a glass of wine
Eat alfresco with a barbeque or just a picnic
Enjoy a long soak in the jacuzzi bath or a quick shower in the separate shower
Working beach with fresh fish daily, not Sundays, at Griggs from 7am to 1pm (12pm Saturdays)
The large 11th-century church is up the hill; restored in 1750
There's always something to watch on the beach
Great walks for a view over Hythe
The Royal Military Canal at Hythe from the Ladies' Walk footbridge
Engraving of 'The Barracks and Town of Hythe, Kent' from Ireland's History of Kent, V
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Hythe, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Catherine...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just lovely”
Reviewed 7 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Perfect location. Lovely cottage - photos don’t do it justice. Comfortable, clean with every mod con. Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2018
Thank you.
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Normanbit...
Cheadle, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Comfortable clean cottage”
Reviewed 2 April 2018 for a stay in December 2017

This was our second stay at Heron cottage.
Generally excellent, but there is no tumble dryer and the washing machine was full of sand!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Apr 2018
Hi there
I’m sorry the washing machine was full of sand - quite odd in December and when Hythe beach isn’t sandy - someone obviously had fun!!! As you know we don’t live on site so are not aware of these things unless pointed out to us at the time.
We don’t have a tumble dryer as really there’s no room but we do provide a good sized clothes dryer. We find a lot of guests don’t seem to even use the washing machine.
Thanks for the review and hope you’ll come again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
5 Oct 2017
Glad you found everything to your liking. Please do come again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mary H
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Home from Home”
Reviewed 4 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

A lovely homely property which accommodated my son and 3 grandsons perfectly. They had a lovely time and enjoyed the well equipped cottage. Plenty of room and all mod cons!!! The arrival proceedure was seamless and the cottage was clean and tidy. In a great location close to the sea and the shops and parks and sports facilities. Everything they needed was on hand. A great little find and one I am sure we will be using again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Sep 2017
So glad it allowed you to have quality family time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarethS66...
1 review
“Perfect location”
Reviewed 29 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We had a week in Heron Cottage, not long enough. We walked a lot, went to the zoo, went to Dymchurch on the train , went rowing on the Militairy Canal and we even had time to sit on the beach. The shops are walking distance as is the beach.
The house has just about everything to make it a home away from home.
We've been hiring houses in the Kent coastal area for 8 years now and this is the best by a long shot.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Sep 2017
What an accolade. Thank you. We try to keep it homely as we use it ourselves for a "get away".
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing