We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near perfect English summer evening”
Review of Folkestone Racecourse - CLOSED

Folkestone Racecourse
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Beautiful weather (yes, there were some great days even in July 2012), perfect setting near the Kent coast, whole family entertainment, magnificent horses, the excitement of a flutter and the challenge of weighing up the odds, with the possibility of a win to cover the outlay. What could be better?! There are always small improvements that could be made, more seating, more local food and drink stalls, alternative entertainment starts earlier, etc. But the race meeting on 26th July was a highlight of the summer for me, and for others in the family too!

Date of experience: July 2012
1  Thank George T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (15)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

9 - 13 of 15 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2012

We only stayed briefly because my son was unwell but the place has really been improved and is quite family orientated now

Date of experience: September 2011
Thank SerenityIsMine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012 via mobile

Who would have thought it, A day at the race course would be fun. Was very entertaining, makes me want to become a horse trainer. We were greeted with nice staff and entertainment.

Thank AaronG826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

I have visited this course on nine occasions now as its my "local" track and i like to support it. For convenience travel wise, it is very good as westenhangar train station almost forms part of the grounds!. The setting is nice enough and i have always found the staff throughout the venue to be very pleasant and helpful. Ok, you will find that the drinks and food are a touch overpriced but i think they are not out of place compared to any other live entertainment stadia. There are various bars and restaurants and lots of vantage points from which to view the action. I have visited many courses, Newmarket, Ascot, Cheltenham and Sandown to name a few and while they are more modern and flashy facility wise, there is something of an old charm to Folkestone. Also, the fact that its dual purpose means you can catch flat or jumps racing there. Get along and give it a try, enjoy the atmosphere and maybe back a winner or two!

Date of experience: May 2012
Thank dwmarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2012

It's a day at the races, very enjoyable if you like that sort of thing. Like most places, you are exploited for the food/drink prices.

1  Thank Tw1nblad3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Folkestone Racecourse also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing