We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Destinia.com
View all 13 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (216)
Filter reviews
216 results
Traveller rating
117
55
25
13
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
117
55
25
13
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old building low beams baguette kent village pleasant staff ate here old english bar and restaurant lovely food warm welcome delicious meal friendly service scotney castle continental breakfast history century churchyard
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 216 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2020 via mobile

We only had lunch here and didn’t see any of the bedrooms but were impressed by this fine old hotel in a charming Kent village, which, judging from photos, hasn’t changed much since it was built. Charming bar area with lots of old timber. We enjoyed our whitebait and ham baguette which with soft drinks and coffee came to £26.45. Friendly service.

Goudhurst is on a hill and the hotel has rooms which overlook the surrounding beautiful countryside.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank higvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2020

We ate here as a family recently to support our local pub.
We gave our name and phone number and were taken to our table.
Our meal was fantastic. We all had something different. Each of our meals were very well presented! Nothing left on plates- delicious.
Highly recommend- food, drinks and service was amazing.

Room tip: Great views. Fantastic restaurant. Very friendly and helpful staff
Date of stay: August 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sassbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2020 via mobile

This is our favourite local & we sing their praises all the time.
The food is great, freshly cooked & seasonal + local. The team who run the bar and restaurant are friendly, knowledgable & helpful - no forgotten or wrong orders, ever, lots of advice on the dishes & help if you have dietary needs.

As a family with big wheat/gluten issues it’s a nerve wracking thing eating out - there is such a high chance that lip service is paid and we suffer the next day. It is never the case at the Star and Eagle, they have a well run kitchen and really care about their customers.
If you ever get a chance to stay here, do it! We’ve had visiting VIPs stay there, friends and family too over the years. They are always well cared for with beautiful bedrooms (4 poster beds...) with fabulous views of the weald of Kent.

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank MumofAurelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2020

We have decided to visit an inn a once a month to support local businesses and this was our first trip. We came back this morning after one night B&B and we had an evening meal
Good points: friendly staff; good location;
Bad points: room 9 was probably the worst room I have ever stayed in, access very awkward, the ceiling was so low that I couldn’t stand up ( I am 5ft 11in), no ventilation as windows painted in, soft mattress

The evening meal was ok. My starter was lovely but I chose Fish Cakes for the main course which appeared to have no fish, just mashed potato or something
The bar was good but a little expensive. A glass of Prosecco was £6 with a bottle in Asda’s for £5.

Not much to do in Goudhurst, we had a walk yesterday afternoon and one before breakfast and that was it, saw everything

Overall we had a good time and a nice break. I would only return if it was guaranteed that I wasn’t in room 9

Room tip: Not number 9
Date of stay: August 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter_burt101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2020 via mobile

Booked for a night but Decided to stay an extra night. Great mini break. Food was really good. Parking round the back, the main road is fairly busy. Very friendly and professional staff. Will return. Great walks around the area. Popular with locals, nice ambience in the bar and all socially distanced.

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank oliverm927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews