We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Magical extended stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Front of Pottery Shed
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of Pottery Shed
Front of Pottery Shed with view of garden Porch into living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Front of Pottery Shed
Front of Pottery Shed with view of garden
Porch into living area
Living area
Living area
Living Area
Kitchen area
Kitchen area
Kitchen area
Second bedroom with king size bed
Main bedroom with king size bed
Main bedroom with king size bed
Main bedroom King size bed
Shower room
Seating area outside
Pottery Shed
Pond with decking
View of the pond
View looking across pond towards The Pottery Shed
The Garden
Patio area - The Pottery Shed
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Cranbrook, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
ClemmySou...
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Magical extended stay”
Reviewed 19 May 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We are very lucky to be the guests who have stayed the longest at the Pottery Shed to date. It is a wonderfully located holiday let, converted from an old pottery, set in gorgeous grounds in the middle of one of the most beautiful areas of Kent. The holiday let is set apart with a view of the very large pond, trees and garden with the fields beyond - the location is very quiet. The Pottery Shed is perfectly located close to most of Kent's most sought after historic buildings and gardens: Bodiam Castle is literally a short walk away across the fields, Smallhythe and Tenterden are very close, Sissinghurst and Dixter circa 15 minutes; Scotney Castle not much further; Lamb House and the charms of Rye are a stone's throw away; Knole and Ightham Mote a bit further but still accessible by car - whilst the coast at Hastings with the Jerwood Art Gallery (very best fish and chips around with the best sea view) and the quirky shops in the Old Town, as well as Winchelsea with its smuggling history, unusual beach and cliff, all very close too. If you are interested in touring the famous vineyards Chapel Down is close by as well as Biddenden too. The accommodation is comfortable and the natural light wonderful. The accommodation has its own outdoor seating with a view of the pond for eating alfresco in fair weather. If the weather isn't brilliant there is a great deal of pleasure simply to be had from just relaxing watching the ducks and wildlife (herons, rabbits, squirrels, birds of prey in the distance) whilst drinking tea reclining on the sofa - it is a great view. The owners Sarah and Ian were hugely helpful and kind. The grounds are meticulously well kept and the accommodation is scrupulously clean. Sarah cooks wonderful cakes and her Victoria Sponge was a highlight when we arrived sitting waiting for us on the dining table. This is a perfect location for touring Kent and I cannot recommend it highly enough. Tenterden and Rye are great for shopping, Tunbridge Wells is close by too and there are plenty of farm shops locally to keep food shopping and self-catering a constant source of pleasure. There is also a hugely useful shop on the doorstep with fresh local and brand foods which can provide the ingredients for a meal too. We know the restaurants in Rye particularly well and recommend Webbes Fish Cafe and the Landgate, whilst The George is great for afternoon tea. Thank you to Sarah and Ian for having us to stay - it was very memorable and enjoyable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet, the ducks and squirrels as well as the close proximity to many visitor attractions (National Trust/English Heritage + others).
Liked least: Having to leave. We miss the ducks who all have their own characters.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2015
The perfect guests who we would love to have stay again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark J
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Fantastic family holiday cottage”
Reviewed 30 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Our stay at The Pottery Shed was a real treat that far exceeded our expectations. We found The Pottery Shed to be a very well appointed, warm cottage in an ideal village location in a magnificent garden setting. For a family with a single child, the Pottery Shed was an ideal size with the 2 rooms, spacious living & kitchen area and generous bedrooms. The queen beds were really comfortable ensuring a great nights sleep.
We really enjoyed the many local walks in the Sandhurst area including a great walk to Bodium Castle and return.
Sarah made us feel very welcome, including a lovely home-baked cake on arrival and a great Christmas tree to welcome us to the cottage. We really look forward to staying there again in the future and would highly recommend the Pottery Shed.
Cheers, Mark

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Warm friendly atmosphere
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Dec 2014
We are so pleased that your stay at 'The Pottery Shed' was good. We hope the rest of your visit over this side of the world is fantastic. Enjoy the snow. Thank you. Sarah and Ian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chloe1090...
Luxembourg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“HOME AWAY FROM HOME”
Reviewed 16 November 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We stayed for the second time at the Pottery Shed, where we had a warm welcome by Sarah & Ian with a lovely homemade cake and flowers.
We enjoy the wonderful garden and the surroundings, which are superbe and free to our use during the whole stay. To mention is the calm and peace in this beautiful place.
The dogs Annie & Bridget and Moppet the cat are cute and friendly animals, living in the owners house and behaving very well.
We love the pond with the ducks and the little moorhens and the rabbits in the garden. The whole property is idyllic and arranged with so much love and care!
The shed is cosy and comfortable and we can always relax so very well, as the shed offers all you could wish for... even if you want to stay a day in.
We recommend the pottery shed to our family and friends. Thank you Sarah and Ian, we will come back :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave E E
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The Pottery Shed Good Karma”
Reviewed 8 November 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Wow what a fantastic hidden gem,the hosts were amazing, nothing was to much bother for them,our every whim was provided ,beautiful breakfast, the accommodation was spotless,luxurious , their local knowledge provided on the best walks and near by best eats was happily provided,yes we were tired from our long trip from Australia all the stress just washed away on arrival at the Pottery Shed. I read the Belgium review all I can say is travelling with some young children is obviously stressful ,hence the negativity.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The happy positive attitude of the owners
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S C
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage in. Perfect setting”
Reviewed 27 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The Pottery Shed is a very pretty cottage on the very weak kept and beautiful grounds of the owners property. The house is well insulated and is very conveniently located to buy essentials yet giving you the feeling of complete peacefulness and privacy.
The owners Sarah and Ian were exceptionally helpful and welcoming. The homemade cake provided on arrival was fantastic and they went out of there way to ensure we were comfortable.
The only drawbacks were the fact that this property is rented out as a 1 bedroom although it says 2 bedroom in the title of the property. The 2nd bedroom is available for an extra charge. This is slightly mis-leading although it does specify this if you read in detail the full description. Also there is no dishwasher. But the lovely Owens and the beauty of te property ensured a fabulous stay!! Strongly recommended!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful setting
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing