We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable, convenient and beautiful place to...”

Review of Orchard Lee

'Orchard Lee', May 2014, peaceful and spacious
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
'Orchard Lee', May 2014, peaceful and spacious
'Orchard Lee' May 2014, looking south, showing level parking 'Pippin' wing master bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
'Orchard Lee', May 2014, peaceful and spacious
'Orchard Lee' May 2014, looking south, showing level parking
'Pippin' wing master bedroom
'Pippin' wing, living and dining area
Orchard Lee at Lee Farm
'Russet '  wing living and dining area
'Russet' wing master bedroom
apple blossom
verandah Orchard Lee
Yarmouth square
Yarmouth Quay Street
September wedding reception at Orchard Lee
July wedding reception at Orchard Lee
Round the Island Race  off Yarmouth June 09
Broad Lane leading to Wellow and Thorley
across the fields to Yarmouth
December 'heavy snow'!
Yarmouth harbourside
Yarmouth yachts dressed for Diamond Jubilee
Wellow fields after harvest
'Orchard Lee' set in a meadow looking south, 2007
Orchard Lee, 2007, set in a meadow, from approach lane,
view along coast towards Freshwater Bay
from the ferry arriving at Yarmouth harbour
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Yarmouth, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Owen_thes...
Kent
Level 6 Contributor
401 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 306 helpful votes
“A comfortable base for a family gathering”
Reviewed 12 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Our extended family of 7 adults + toddler rented this property over the Easter week to belatedly celebrate a milestone birthday.

On arrival we found the property to be very clean and easy to operate. At first it seemed rather strange to have two sitting rooms and kitchen / diners although clearly this makes it possible to rent just half the property. We tended to gravitate towards one end where we found the furniture in the sitting room to be quite comfortable although in places rather worn. Both kitchens were spacious with modern appliances (only one freezer which could be an issue for larger parties who want to self-cater). The bedrooms had limited storage. Linens were of a good quality. Having three bathrooms through the property was a boon for everyone getting ready in the morning – the very impressive accessible wet room shared between two bedrooms was a thoughtful feature. Towels were of a good size and quality. WiFi is available but with very low download speeds and mobile reception was patchy at the property. We found the underfloor heating to be less than ideal to meet our needs. The weather during our stay was cool and damp, and we had to ask the owner to come over to increase the setting as we could not exercise any control over the system ourselves. There is no supplementary heating to provide an additional instant boost if necessary. We found that sound carried easily through the accommodation and especially between adjacent bedrooms.

The property is about 10 minutes from the ferry port at Yarmouth and is ideally positioned to explore the west of the island on foot, bicycle or car. Getting to the centre and to the east of the island often seemed to result in us getting stuck in traffic congestion around Newport which might be a consideration for guests wanting to travel further afield.

Communication with the owner prior to our stay was responsive and immediate. We were grateful for the benefit of booking the expensive ferry crossing through her at trade prices.

Whilst acknowledging that we (out of necessity with three teachers / lecturers in our party) booked the property for a particularly popular time of year, I consider that it was an expensive rental and therefore not especially good value.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Apr 2018
It is good to hear you found Orchard Lee comfortable, spacious, clean and well equipped, with impressive wetroom and en suite bath and shower rooms, for your family gathering this Easter.
All bedrooms have a fitted wardrobe with shelves, and en suite bathrooms separate bedrooms so that sound cannot travel between bedrooms.
We’re sorry you didn’t get on with the ground source underfloor heating even when turned up to 25 degrees at your request, a higher setting than elderly visitors with reduced mobility, have requested.
Our wireless Internet operates at a down load speed of 28Mb/s. Here, BT offer about 1Mb/s.
Sadly, the weather and mobile reception are beyond our control, but we are pleased you appreciated our reduced rate ferry tickets for your cars, saved you money.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sallysmit...
Broxbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Comfortable, convenient and beautiful place to stay.”
Reviewed 5 March 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Orchard Lee was the perfect place, ideally situated if you have a car, well equipped and clean. We had a wonderful time with friends and their dog and our hosts were very welcoming. Would definitely stay again and highly recommend to others.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Apr 2018
So glad you found Orchard Lee perfect for your group of friends during a winter stay in the countryside of the West Wight. With eco ground source underfloor heating, the house is welcoming even during cold weather. We pride ourselves on maintaining a high standard of cleanliness and equipment in our family run holiday house and hope you'll revisit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham1Ye...
Yetminster
2 reviews
“Excellent location for a large party of people and outstanding value.”
Reviewed 31 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

We have rented properties on the Isle of Wight for some years. We had not considered the West Coast and are very glad we did. Tranquil setting with good access to beaches and many attractions. The property was ideal for our 8 adults and toddler. It had everything you could need for a large party. The owners were delightful, met us on arrival and left a lovely welcome package of local ingredients. The crossing from Limington to Yarmouth was amazing you hardly had enough time to have a cup of coffee before you arrived and travel to the house took just 10 minutes. We will definitely return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jan 2018
Our large houses, Orchard Lee and Eastern Lee ( both with 4 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms) are well placed to visit the quieter, beautiful beaches of the West Wight. Both houses are in peaceful locations and have great views facing south to the Downs. We are proud of the excellent independent restaurants and shops in Yarmouth and Freshwater, which offer locally caught fish, a great range of bread and local meats. So pleased that this family group 'discovered' the West Wight and the Yarmouth ferry, just 5 minutes from our houses.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John A
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely country location in West Wight.”
Reviewed 23 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

For those who enjoy nature and getting away from it all Orchard Lee is the perfect place. Green woodpeckers and jays can be seen in the garden, a barn owl flitting past at dusk, and on clear nights the lack of light pollution shows the stars at their best. Set in the beautiful rolling countryside of West Wight, Yarmouth is a ten minute drive away, to the South is Freshwater Bay and the Margaret Cameron / Tennyson connection, and there is a good bus service to Newport and Cowes, We've been coming here for several years now and are looking forward to our visit next year.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Oct 2017
It is great to hear that the privileged location of Orchard Lee, a warm and comfortable base for holidays out of season, is so appreciated. Surrounded by its own field it's a good place to view wildlife and the clear skies. The peaceful countryside of the West Wight offers varied walks and places to visit, like exhibitions and talks at Dimbola Lodge. We look forward to welcoming you for your next visit!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline T
1 review
“Lovely place”
Reviewed 11 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This long bungalow is perfect for a group get together. It's on a farm and is really peaceful, overlooking fields and trees with a feeling of outdoors space. It's well equipped and very comfortable. We couldn't fault it and thoroughly enjoyed our long weekend here. The weather was good and you can sit on the veranda in the morning sun and on the other side for the evening sun. There's even a bike rack outside! I would definitely come again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;