We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing location a few metres from quiet beach...”
other travellers have booked this property
The property sits on the promenade a stone's throw from the sea
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The property sits on the promenade a stone's throw from the sea
The living room with it's wonderful sea view 
seen from the dining room The dining room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
24 reviews
The property sits on the promenade a stone's throw from the sea
The living room with it's wonderful sea view 
seen from the dining room
The dining room
The well equipped kitchen
One of the main bedrooms looking out to sea
Our newly created very large bedroom with fabulous views of the bay
The third main room also has a king sized bed
The fourth bedroom has two  full size single beds
A second lounge/study allows space for quiet solitary moments
The long hallway
The main family bathroom also has a separate walk in shower
The utility room with laundry facilities
The second bathroom has a walk in shower
Private garden
Totland Bay at low tide
One of Totland Bay's famous sunsets
View from the dining room in the early morning
Your own beach hut
Perfect location for a summer's evening in front of the beach hut
A plaque on the wall of the old Boat House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Totland Bay, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Doreen N
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing location a few metres from quiet beach with fabulous sea views.”
Reviewed 19 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We loved this apartment.
The spacious open plan living area was just what we needed as a group of friends who just get together once a year - it makes for a very sociable space.
The light from the huge windows at the front of the building gave the space a fabulous air of tranquillity & of course the fabulous sea views. The best bit being the glass in the lower halve of the windows was one way so you never had to close yourself off from the view - passers-by never gave us a glance.
The Waterfront Bar & Restaurant is a short troll from the Beach House serving real ales, great coffees, & really tasty meals washed down with fabulous sunset views.
Then we discovered cream tea by the beach hut (delicious scones knocked up by one of our group) & we really struggled to visit anywhere else on the island. We had everything we needed on our doorstep & nowhere else could match our views.
The only negative (& I'm struggling to write a negative) was the fourth bedroom (twin) is a bit cramped & dark (especially compared to the light & spacious bedrooms at the front) with nowhere to hang clothes. A couple of pull out wall hooks that could take hangers would have been useful. The light & airy study went unused as holiday makers but would've made a good fourth bedroom.
No welcome pack with this rental which is unusual for IOW hospitality but not necessary as local shops (about 5 minutes drive) had everything you could need.
Especially must mention the fishmongers in Freshwater, J&B Fisheries, for lovely fresh IOW crab & fish smoked on the premises.
Short walk to the No. 7 bus route that circuits the West Wight & hits most of the villages with the best pubs - great if you want to get about without using the car.
We've bought a weekly ticket & used this a lot in other years but couldn't tear ourselves away from those sunsets this year.
This was our groups 14th annual pilgrimage to the island & every year we look for somewhere new to stay. I'm hoping the group agrees to search no further!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great for family holiday”
Reviewed 9 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Our 4th stay in Beach House Apartments and were not disappointed, even the weather was good for us. The ground floor apartment is well equipped for a large family holiday and the new room layouts make a much better use of space. It was a bit of a drag having to bring the garden furniture in at night a removable cover would have made it less effort. Looking forward to our return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langstaff...
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best location”
Reviewed 14 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Our 5th visit to the Beach House - cant beat the location and views, especially the sunsets! Owners are very helpful and make sure everything in place for your holiday, apartment is well equipped and well kept and cleaned. Spacious living areas and good size bedrooms, two with great sea views. Two good restaurants a short walk along the waterfronts.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex C
1 review
“A Christmas to remember!”
Reviewed 22 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

As part of a round-the-world trip we traveled the length of the UK from the Scottish Highlands to the Isle of Wight in December 2016. We rented the ground floor apartment over the Christmas and New Year period and cannot speak highly enough about every aspect of this place.
The house is very well set up, with a feeling of being in a home, not just another rental property. The layout worked well for us too, with everyone (especially the kids) getting the rest they needed without being disturbed by conversations in neighboring rooms. Fortunately for us we had fantastic weather, so we slept with the front bedroom window just open enough so we could sleep to the sound of the waves on the beach.
We found the beds and social spaces comfy, and the kitchen clean and well equipped (we cooked our Christmas dinner).
The Waterfront Restaurant is little more than a stones throw along the beach and they dished up a great roast on New Years Day. We tried to have a different walk each day, but ended up on Headon Warren a number of times - what great views of Totland Bay and the Needles (thanks again for the tips on where to go).
From booking to checkout, a pleasant experience.
Thanks again, and we hope to one day return to your lovely home.
Alex and family (Brisbane, Australia)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john h
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not so great”
Reviewed 25 December 2016 for a stay in September 2016

OK, Great view. But home was in need of repair. Walls damaged, Things broken and NOT so clean. Kitchen was poorly equipped and we arrived to find pots and pans greasy and broken. Some windows would not open and although the location is very good, The home has not been well maintained. Lots of space and empty room where some furniture would go, Was a waste. Owner didn't respond to email complaint. Would not return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Dec 2016
Thank you for your feedback, as we welcome constructive criticism. We are very disappointed that you did not enjoy staying in our apartment. It is of the utmost importance that our guests have wonderful holidays there. We have gone through all our emails, and have not received any from you; we would have responded to a complaint immediately. You had our phone number to phone us at any time during your stay, but you did not call. We would take a complaint very seriously.
It comes as a big surprise that you felt the kitchen was poorly equipped, as we provide plenty of equipment, crockery and utensils for 8 people. There have not been any other complaints concerning equipment, before or after your stay. If we had been informed at the time, that the pans were not clean, the cleaners would have been sent straight back. We are taking up this with the cleaning company, but because it is now 3½ months later, it is difficult for them to ascertain how this happened. We have not found any broken pots and pans and indeed, we do provide a maintenance book for notification of breakages, which will be replaced immediately provided we actually know about them.
This year we have replaced all our front windows, all of which definitely open. Because the outside of the building has been redecorated this year, it seems as though a couple of the back room windows may be stuck and need releasing. Again had we known about this we would have sent the decorators back to rectify it.

We have to point out that because the house was built in the 1800s and sits on the promenade just 10 metres from the sea and the corrosion caused by the salt spray, the maintenance is extremely onerous. We run a very extensive maintenance programme. In our vacant period from now until Easter, we are remedying the issues on the inside walls, inevitably caused by the proximity to the sea. The house is not damp, because we keep it well heated and ventilated, but it has left a few marks on the walls. These will all be dealt with before the beginning of the 2017 season.
Again we are very sorry that you did not enjoy your holiday, but we feel it only fair to stress that given the opportunity to remedy any issues that may arise during a stay, we do have a team able to come in at short notice, but if we do not know of such things we feel it unfair to be accused of inaction.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing