We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Pictures Don't Do It Justice”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of The Hayloft

The Hayloft
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Hayloft
Driveway View from Balcony
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
26 reviews
The Hayloft
Driveway
View from Balcony
Balcony view
Spiral Staircase Entrance
Private Balcony
Kitchen Area
Walk-in Shower Room
Part of Historic Manor House
Meet our friendly boxer dog
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ryde, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Faith M
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pictures Don't Do It Justice”
Reviewed 13 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

I'm hesitant to write review in the fear that this place might get fully booked if people knew what an amazing stay we had, but it is the least I can do to thank Sarah and Mark for providing us with a perfect escape from the city life!
Upon arrival, I was greeted with a warm hug by Sarah and shown The Hayloft. She even offered to assist me with luggages up the small spiral staircase, but it was very manageable and to be honest, if you have common sense, it's easy enough to get your things up and down if there's two of you. The low ceilings on the sides sometimes caught my partner Gary who is 6'2" while going in and out of the bathroom and getting out of bed, but it didn't cause me any problems at all at 5'6". Tea, coffee, sugar, and some condiments were provided, the best one of which was the local honey in 3 lovely taster pots! Cutlery, glasses, cups, plates, pots and pans were also provided and we so much enjoyed cooking our meals instead of eating out.
The most memorable bit of our stay would most probably be the lovely sunrises we witnessed at 5:45 AM on both days we were there. The balcony overlooks a field with horses (and two boxer dogs), and on the horizon you have a beautiful view of the sea. It was just glorious!
We felt very much at home and was left to our own privacies and activities. We'd only seen them on the day of arrival, don't hear any noises from them at all and we were even allowed to leave whenever we want on our last day.
The Hayloft is definitely a place I would book again if I want a bit of escape from this busy life. No pictures attached as it doesn't really do it justice. You have to go to see it for yourself. :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Grand view of fields and the sea!
Liked least: The 10 minute walk to and from the bus stop and bus times
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 May 2016
Thank you so much, so pleased you enjoyed it!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave D
2 reviews
“Lovely place, great location ”
Reviewed 9 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Well appointed, delightful place in a quiet rural location.

Lovely views greeted us each morning yet the place is not far from all the essentials.

The beds were comfortable and the honey samples from the neighbours was a lovely touch.

We will be staying again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2016
Thanks for that - the neighbours will be pleased to hear about the honey - and we are getting bees too this summer
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FayeandRu...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The WiFi works!”
Reviewed 29 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Stayed at The Hayloft for the Easter weekend. Had it not been for a savage storm, it would have been very peaceful! Lovely private accommodation. Owner lives on site, next door. Very unobtrusive, but present if needed. Owner flexible re check-in / out times. Great views from balcony and skylights. WiFi actually worked! Have stayed at a few privately-owned properties, all in rural locations. WiFi (always listed as present) has varied from totally non-functional to intermittent at best. This was different. Although it dropped out fom time to time, video streaming was better than the paperwork suggested it would be. The wet-room works (drainage problems reported by previous users have been rectified). At 5'5 and 5'7 husband and I had no headroom problems with the sloping ceilings. The spiral staircase is as narrow as others report... definitely not suitable for the non-slim.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2016
Thanks for that and glad you enjoyed the stay.. inspite of the weather. We are currently reviewing the staircase with a view to changing it in the hear future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephparr...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Short break, good location, great accommodation”
Reviewed 24 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We (young couple) stayed at the hayloft for 3 nights at the start of August. The hayloft it's self is a great place to stay. Lounge, dining area, kitchen, twin bedroom and a wet room style bathroom. Everything you need is provided: towels, utensils, etc. Where the hayloft is situated was a prefect location for us, quiet little dead end road, walking distance to the beach, views across to Portsmouth on a clear day. The hayloft is situated above the owners garage, however you don't see them or hear them, we met once and they were very accommodating and gave us information of how to walk down to the beach and where the nearest shop was, their garden is beautifully landscaped and is a nice view from the balcony. One note to make: the entrance to the hayloft is up a very narrow metal spiral staircase, so can be quite tricky to walk up with luggage etc especially if wet!! Wootton bridge is very close to fishbourne and cowes for ferry crossings and the rest of the island is easily accessible from there. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the hayloft and for the price we paid we could not have asked for a better place! We will be visiting again soon!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2017
Sorry for the delay but thank you so much for the positive review - the staircase is going to be replaced for a more accommodating version soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
7MissR
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect location, beautiful quiet spot.”
Reviewed 17 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

A well catered living space with nice views, located in a great area to explore the island. The only negative would be the slopping ceiling as we are tall. Otherwise I would book again and recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and views
Liked least: Low slopping ceiling
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing