We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mr”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Cedar Croft

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
28 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Cowes, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Julia W
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed 1 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This is a beautiful spot with wonderful views. We did not think it would be suitable for a disabled person in a wheelchair or with limited walking abilities.
In wet weather don't try to climb down to the beach as the bank is treacherous and steep. Turn to the left as you leave property and walk down the track to the flat access to the beach.
The cabin itself was ok. Very clean and tidy but poorly equipped. Everything is on the minimum side.
The fridge wasn't working but we were given a cool box which worked quite well. The cooker job was very good but the grill didn't work. We didn't try the oven and the lovely lady who looks after the place didn't know about the grill so that will be sorted by now.
My husband had a struggle in the small bathroom. The shower is very small and if you were a large person the toilet might pose a problem. No more than the average caravan though. The sofa is small and to be honest not very comfy so I used the dining chairs the whole time I was there.
The beds are comfy and it's so quiet at night and very dark. Lovely for a good nights sleep.
Overall if you want a good base with fantastic views and are maybe used to a caravan you'll find this place very suitable.
While you're there look in the fields for wild flowers. And keep you're eyes pealed for the birds of prey etc.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAUL E
1 review
“Relaxation with a great view.”
Reviewed 30 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

When we arrived at the cottage we knew that we were in for a nice stay.The view was fabulous,the cottage itself was well equipped,snug but comfy for the four of us.The log burner was great and was to get started.We loved the seclusion and peaceful surroundings.The only down side was the very bumpy track to get to it.You could do with a 4 x 4 or just be careful and drive slowly.The fridge wasn't working which was a big minus but the owners have us an ice box rach day but it wasn't sufficient enough for us.
We really enjoyed our stay and having a beach just a short walk is fantastic.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tara S
Bordon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed 30 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Arrived 45 minutes early and cabin was nowhere near ready so we drove onto private beach quite a dirty beach didn't want to swim in it arrived back at cabin just after 3 cabin still not ready Vanessa had forgotten clean linen she arrived back at 4.45 with bed linen,bed was comfy after we turned the mattress sofa bed not comfy at all
Old couple at farm extremely lovely and helpful, cabin was still dirty so done a clean myself ,
Views are amazing the cabin cosy shower a little temperamental very quiet as no one else was around track to cabin very bumpy 4x4 recommended directions not easy needs a bigger new sign lots to do around the island

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: Having to clean the cabin myself
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vivienne...
Nr Mansfield
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely location overlooking the Solent. Husband spent hours fishing. Dog loved it.”
Reviewed 28 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

The location of Cedar Croft is sublime overlooking the Solent. There were some spectacular sunsets to be seen. Having no T.v.or WiFi network was great. Joe our dog loved playing on the field outside - could sit on the veranda and fling his ball for him whilst watching the boats, yachts and wind surfers. My husband spent many hours on the beach with the dog fishing. Although he didn't catch much- found out later that it isn't a very good place to fish from. Cedar Croft itself is lovely and cosy, but would imagine it being a tad cramped if you had to utilise the sofa bed to accommodate 5 people. The log burner warms the place up in no time at all, but be aware that you are charged for the logs.
The reasons why only given 4*s was because of the plumbing/drainage issues we experienced in the shower room which we mentioned to Vanessa.
Also the previous tenants had left bags of rubbish outside these were ripped open during the night which we had to bag up and dispose of to stop our dog getting to the spillage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: The problems with the shower room
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan B
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful area, right on the beach, BBQ in the sun, what more could you want.”
Reviewed 23 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely, just came back from a long weekend. The location is super, very picturesque and quiet - it's a short drive to lots of things to do, the Garlic Farm, Monkey and Owl sanctuary are 15 mins away (went to both, excellent), local farm shops for the meat/ wine - very reasonably priced for beginning of the season - would recommend and will most likely go back.

Go for it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Bumpy farm track to get to it
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$87
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing