We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary Meal”

Call It What You Want
Ranked #1 of 52 Restaurants in Cowes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$34
Description: Welcome to the parish of Call It What You Want - a humble neighbourhood eatery in Cowes old town, serving simple food with big flavours inspired by cuisine from the southern edge of the lower 48. Food. Booze. Music. People. Nothing boring.
Restaurant details
Description: Welcome to the parish of Call It What You Want - a humble neighbourhood eatery in Cowes old town, serving simple food with big flavours inspired by cuisine from the southern edge of the lower 48. Food. Booze. Music. People. Nothing boring.
Reviewed 10 September 2021

Me and my partner are foodies to say the least, and this meal was just perfect for us, a mixture of foods, but all the perfect amount. We visited for our anniversary and had the best night - the guy serving was ace too, so humorous and friendly! If you love flavour, tasty Cajun/American Food and a good laugh - this is the perfect night for you

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank laurenwZ4963VP
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2021 via mobile

Absolutely great vibe and concept! We enjoyed some beaut veggie food with a Jamaican/creole twist.
Red and white wine flowed throughout the night and we had some great banter with the owner Mark. Thank you, we will definitely be recommending you guys!

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank KFLiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 September 2021 via mobile

My family of 4 ( all adults) went for dinner here last night. Admittedly we were a little unsure of the ‘no menu concept’ but are now converts and absolutely loved it all!

Both the food and host (Mark) were brilliant and we will definitely be returning.

Would highly recommend!

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank Ben261076
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Relax38170610257, Owner at Call It What You Want, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2021

Ben real kind words man….glad you enjoyed and do come back sir…much love CIWYW

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2021 via mobile

Our visited here was based on all the positive reviews and we were not disappointed. No menus for food/drink but asked if we were veggie/vegan or had any intolerances. Food served share style with paper plates which we loved, it focuses more on the food and atmosphere rather than fancy plates and settings. The host was funny and made the atmosphere so relaxed.
The food was so tasty and fresh, the jambalaya in particular was incredible.
Genuinely a must visit!

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank Climber628139
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Relax38170610257, Owner at Call It What You Want, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2021

Climber glad you enjoyed all the meagre offerings we have to offer…come back soon man and we can do it again…

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2021 via mobile

Fun, quirky, delicious. Mark the host is hilarious. Food is soooo good. The wine was also excellent. Make sure you book!
Definitely a different night out and so nice not to have to decide what to order! Could not recommend enough

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank BritishNic
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Relax38170610257, Owner at Call It What You Want, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2021

Ahh people we just happy you happy…come back soon so we can tell you what you what you cannot have and serve you with we got…much love

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Call It What You Want also viewed

 
Cowes, Isle of Wight
 

Been to Call It What You Want? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.