We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Leconfield
Nearby Hotels
US$83
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Rowborough Hotel(Shanklin)
US$109
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$143
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Somerton Lodge Hotel(Shanklin)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Langham Court(Shanklin)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hazelwood(Shanklin)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (382)
Filter reviews
382 results
Traveller rating
348
25
6
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
348
25
6
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsisle of wighthis teamchilled watersmall teamhigh standardattention to detailother guestsswimming poolfour poster bedlovely hoteladmiral suitebonchurch innappointed roomson arrivalcoral reeftea and cakeshort break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 382 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Our first stay in the IoW and, after our usual moderate research, we were very pleased we plucked the Leconfield off the Interweb.

Things we particularly liked....

All the basics were well covered: clean, warm, well-maintained, well-equipped room with superb sea-view, comfy bed and a shower that works well.

Extra unexpected touches: warm-welcome with tea and cake; excellent breakfast; none of those "do's" and "don'ts" labels; really friendly and professional hosting; great tips and recommendations on local inns and attractions. We enjoyed the nearby Bonchurch Inn and the Spyglass in Ventnor for food.

We felt like welcome guests in a friend's home.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulLeconfield, Owner at The Leconfield, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently, Steve. We are pleased we ticked the boxes and exceeded your expectations during your first visit to the Island. It is always nice [and helpful] to know the local dining facilities around Ventnor are also to a high standard.
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018

My daughter booked this wonderful place for my birthday. Paul and Cheryl were great hosts. We were upgraded to a lovely room with seaviews. Everything was spotless and well stocked. They gave me a card and chocolates on my birthday which was lovely of them.The breakfast variety was amazing with a conscious effort to source local produce. Will definitely be returning.Thanks to you both for making our stay extra special.x

Room Tip: Pick a room with a sea view. It’s well worth getting up in the morning to the sunrise on the horizon.
Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Sheila F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulLeconfield, Owner at The Leconfield, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Thank you for choosing us for your celebration. We are pleased you had a lovely birthday. Your comments are very kind and we appreciate your time to post a review. We look forward to welcoming you back and hope to meet your daughter too at some stage in the future. Kind regards Paul & Cheryl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2018

A three night stay during February. The Leconfield is a beautifully appointed property and Paul and his team make your stay very relaxing. The bedroom was excellent with great views over the sea and very comfortable. I am very comfortable to highly recommend this place for your break.

Room Tip: The Atlantic room is to the front of the property with fantastic views over the sea.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 195James62H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulCheryl85, Owner at The Leconfield, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2018

Thank you for your recent stay with us and your kind comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your short break with us - only wish we could have laid on better weather!! At least it is very uncharacteristic of the normal on the Island.
We are delighted you feel comfortable recommending our home and location and hope to see you again soon - Kind regards Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2018 via mobile

A real treat... lovely welcome from the extremely helpful host, Paul. Upgraded to the most fabulous room (Admirals Suite) with a beautiful sea view and the most amazing freestanding bath. Lovely breakfast and wonderful stay.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank sussex3kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulLeconfield, Owner at The Leconfield, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2018

Thank you your kind comments and of course, thank you for staying with us recently. We are pleased you enjoyed your room and had a good stay/visit to the Island. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2017

We stayed here for one night at short notice at the end of November. We stayed in the Admiral's Suite, which is very spacious and beautifully decorated throughout.Paul welcomed us and brought a tray of tea and cake up to our room :a lovely touch which immediately made us realise how special this hotel is ! The attention to detail, sea views, warm welcome and breakfast are all superb - can't wait to go back, as this is one of the loveliest hotels that we've stayed in in the UK !Thank you, Paul and all at The Leconfield: see you soon !

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MamaLou25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulLeconfield, Owner at The Leconfield, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

Thank you for staying with us on your brief visit to the Island and for your kind, apprecative comments. It was a pleasure welcoming you our home and the Island and we look forward to seeing you again soon. In the mean time, have a lovely festive period and we wish you a happy, healthy 2018.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews