We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Another excellent family weekend at Rose Bank”

Review of Rose Bank

Rose Bank
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rose Bank
Main entrance Hall Library - books / games / pool / table football
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
67 reviews
Rose Bank
Main entrance Hall
Library - books / games / pool / table football
Kitchen - Large fridge+ under-counter fridge / Large freezer. Range Cooker
Kitchen / breakfast seating for 10
Dining Room with seating for 22/24
Main Drawing Room with open fire, seating for 22 and 60' wall TV
Playroom for our younger guests
Ground Floor Bedroom with king sized bed - easy access
Bedroom 1 - King sized bed
En Suite shower and dressing room.
Bedroom 2 - Super king - splits into two singles if required. Toddlers bed
Bedroom 3 Double bed + single + traditional wooden cot
Bedroom 4 - King sized bed splits into two singles if required. + single bed.
En Suite - Huge roll topped bath original to the house
Family Bathroom - full suite plus separate double shower.
Bedroom 5 - double + two single beds
Bedroom 6 - double plus single bed
Bedroom 7 - King sized bed
Bedroom 8 -twin bedded
Bedroom 9 - single room
Bedroom 10 - king sized bed
Pool ; Leisure area - available at additional cost see details
Terrace with BBQs / seating & tables and Hot Tub area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
11 Bedrooms, 9 Bathrooms, Sleeps 24
Lugwardine, Hereford, Herefordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 67 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Karen1110...
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Another excellent family weekend at Rose Bank”
Reviewed 17 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Just returned from another wonderful weekend spent with family at Rose Bank. This was our third visit which has become an annual event after having spent such a wonderful time in this lovely old house for my father's 80th in 2014. Rose Bank is perfect for our family get togethers as it has perfectly proportioned accommodation for large numbers of people to be able to relax comfortably together, including a dining table that seats 22. When first researching somewhere to hold our celebrations it was easy to find large houses with numerous bedrooms, but most always lacked the living space downstairs, not enough sofas, not enough dining table. Rose Bank has it all.

The owners are very accommodating and helpful, even taking in our Asda shopping delivery for us which arrived earlier than expected. Firewood for the beautiful open fires is ready in abundance for your arrival, Bed linen is spotless as are the fresh towels in every room, and dressing gowns, and always plenty fo hot water. The beautiful cream cake placed in the fridge for your arrival is delicious, though unfortunately we never manage to get around to eating it all!!!

Yes the house does have its little idiosyncrasies but don't all houses! This is a beautiful old house, with many original features and bags full of charm, it is a house that is very easy to kick back and relax in and perfect for our stay. I am sure we will be booking again as soon as circumstances allow.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Large rooms, roaring fire, relaxing atmosphere
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Oct 2016
Karen,
Thank you for your kind words. So pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the meal. We look forward to greeting you and your charming family again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surysol19
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Needs a lot of TLC very disappointed with this property”
Reviewed 13 October 2016 for a stay in July 2016
6
people found this review helpful

I visited this property in July with a large group of friends and the reason for writing this late review is that I was hoping some of our issues with the owners would be resolved but unfortunately they have not been.
This could be a very nice place but due to the lack of maintenance to the house and grounds it is far from worthy of a good review.
Pool and surrounding area was very run down and filthy dirty in fact we had to clean many of the chairs tables and BBQ area ourselves and we also had concerns with regards to the safety of the BBQ unit itself which we brought to the attention of the owners while we were there. The pool itself was not clean to the hygiene standard it should of been in fact we dragged the bottom of the pool ourselves and what we found was a disgusting mess this was also brought to the attention of the owners who were not best pleased with our what they called constant complaining but as we had been asked to pay an extra £500 + for the use of the pool area and was told this charge was due to them having to maintain the pool with certain chemicals before its use and we would need to give them more than a weeks notice though now I fail to see why?? The pool and surrounding area was defiantly not fit for use and the owners told us that it had been used the previous week with out any complaints which I myself find difficult to believe as the weather the previous week was not good and I should know as I only live about 20 miles from this property and also the state of
everything it looked as if the area hadn't been used for a while . There was also two jacuzzis on site but only one useable after we had cleaned round it.
The House
The kitchen was dirty with thick cobwebs down the side of the units and cupboards not clean, the main lounge had lots of stains on the carpets which in my opinion yes you will get things split on carpets but these looked like they had not been cleaned for a long time we pointed this out at the end of the weekend we were told they have regular cleaners come in well maybe they should employ new ones because they certainly aren't doing their job properly .
The bathrooms /showers not fit for use for 24 of us as we were only able to use 2 of the showers one being in one of the bedrooms and only had a rattern screen for privacy . The problems with the other showers ranged from hardly any water coming out to one being dangerously hot and unable to control the temperature. This we reported to the owners and they did come in to sort out but it was not resolved as it should of been .
Evening dinner
We had requested to use the facility they offered as a chef/catering company to provide our dinner in the evening we were led to believe this was an outside catering company but it was in fact the owners just the two of them cooking and serving the food for 24 people which wasn't of the standard it should of been especially as at least six of our party are in the hospitality trade and then 4 to 5 of our group actually served the food to the table and when some helpful advice was offered in the kitchen they took exception to this and regarded it as us interfering.
Unfortunately the owners saw our genuine complaints as just moaning but we have rented many properties over the years and never have we had any issues with any of them in fact I myself have wrote many reviews on Tripadvisor with regards to restaurants hotels and many rentals be it modern boutique, barn conversions to period houses all being mostly positive.
This could be a very nice place for large groups and families but unfortunately it has not been looked after and maintained as it should be especially the pool area which in my opinion is a health and hygiene risk and the owners made it clear they were unhappy about us constantly
moaning !!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Overall hygiene and bathrooms not good
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Oct 2016
This is yet a further review from a group which threatened to post poor reviews unless we gave them money. They were stupid enough to do so in writing. Needless to say we did not give into them. We did advise TripAdvisor because we are sure they have done this before.
Other people who did not agree with their opinion, we were told had not the same standards as they were used to.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian B
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect for big get togethers!”
Reviewed 2 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

This was our second stay at Rose Bank, with a group of friends - its perfect for big gatherings as the house is huge and ideal for numerous families. We are a group of 6 families in various shapes and forms - the place just swallows us up, with lots of sleeping variations. Such a grand, unique house - kids loved the hot tub, snooker, hide and seek and playing the piano. Everything you need out of a house. Great value in a central location!

Thanks for hospitality Margaret and Paul - and looking forward to seeing you again next year, we'll be in touch.

Regards.

Julian and all

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Oct 2016
We look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlushTent...
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
“One of our best holidays ever!”
Reviewed 27 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We love this house and the wonderful couple who are kind enough to rent their beautiful family home to us.
Its got such a lovely vibe about the place and everyone of my family who stayed with us walked in and went wow!
They have thought of everything for us, plenty of things for adults, our favourite was all sitting round the rather impressive fire in the lounge, or playing the piano in the grand lobby. A few of them were in the games room which appealed to all ages.
The hot tub was a great success for the kids.
We would love to come again for a yearly celebration!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Sep 2016
As you are in the high end hospitality business this kind review had extra meaning for us.
We were delighted to be able to facilitate your special day and would be only too pleased to welcome you and your family back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ingrid W
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“run down and did not appear as in the photos”
Reviewed 16 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
6
people found this review helpful

Poor quality and not as advertised. Although a nice old building, a majority of the rooms/fittings were run down or broken. Photos had obviously been taken some time ago and did not reflect the current run down property it is now. The garden was unusable, the grass knee high and there was an abundance of brambles and weeds, thus making use of the provided crochet set useless! The games room was damp and musty, our on-suite 'as advertised' bathroom was approx 10m down the hall and was infact a communal bathroom. The entire house was filthy, carpets covered in muck! It becomes a worry when the host instructs you not to strip the beds upon departure!, the ceilings also leaked water when it rained, apart from the above the house was great????.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2016
Sorry but I do not recognise this person as a guest booked with us.
Nor do I recognise the description. There is around two acres of garden and a small area is left natural but there is a full sized football pitch on which they could have played croquet.
We do not have a games room - there is a pool table in the library - and as this has hundreds of books, some quite old and valuable, there is no way that it is "damp & musty"
We have two en suite bathrooms and both are adjoining the bedrooms.
We ask that beds not be stripped so that we can check all bedding and if any problems (stain / tears) we know who might be responsible.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing