We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful peaceful hideaway, excellent for...”

Review of Owl Barn

First floor living area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
First floor living area
First Floor Bedroom mezzanine bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
First floor living area
First Floor Bedroom
mezzanine bedroom
The Luxury Kitchen
The Terrace
The Dining Table seats 12
The Large Gardens
The Stunning Fireplace
Fun In The Hot Tub
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Leominster, Herefordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
mikejilly
Chipping Sodbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful peaceful hideaway, excellent for families.”
Reviewed 7 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

This was an eagerly anticipated Christmas break with 3 generations of our family, including 5 children aged 2 - 11. The build-up was good, with excellent advice and help from the owners which was SO beneficial and made the preparations much easier. The Barn is at the very end of a single track lane, and sitting in the hot tub with complete silence and stars above us (yes, we did have a little gap or too when the rain stopped!) was idyllic. Beds, kitchen/dining area and massive upstair lounge all great. Very friendly and helpful owners. The welcome pack included red wine and there were TWO decorated and lit real Christmas trees set up for us. As near to perfect as we could have hoped. Thanks so much!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet and space.
Liked least: Small fridge and freezer for Christmas week!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jan 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review we are really glad that you had such a good Christmas at Owl Barn, you were perfect guests too!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful living space.
Liked least: Bit tight on fridge space but then it was Christmas!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
12 Jan 2014
Thanks so much for your lovely review we really do appreciate it. So glad that you had such a great Christmas at Owl Barn it is very important to us that families have a wonderful time especially over Christmas.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
lakeedge0...
Westport
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location for large group reunion”
Reviewed 6 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

I stayed in this beautiful owl barn with a group of 10 friends for a uni reunion and what an experience it was!! We stayed here from Fri-Mon and it was an excellent way to spend a long weekend. The location is great for country walks and climbs (would recommend Little Hegdon and walks around Ludlow). We visited Ludlow castle and enjoyed a fantastic cream tea in Ludlow castle. The house itself is large, spacious and modern. Lovely and clean and all necessary equipment available to cook in. Hot tub was a massive plus and both nights were spent relaxing in it after a hectic day outdoors! Email communication with the owner was quick and easy with Becky and her husband kindly making themselves available when we had some queries about the surrounding area and take away recommendations. Would definitely recommend a stay in this house for large groups as everyone has plenty of space and there are loads of games/dvds etc. available to pass the time indoors if the weather is bad. No internet and poor phone coverage but it didn't make much of a difference us! Would love to go back again!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jan 2014
Thanks for the great review we really do appreciate it, glad you had such a great time and made the most of the surrounding area!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katchooon
Cardiff
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic party barn!”
Reviewed 25 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

I stayed at Owl barn for a long weekend (Fri-Mon) with my partner and 6 friends to celebrate my 30th Birthday. Email communication with the owner was great. The owners' son met us on arrival and assured us he was on hand if we needed anything. We were thrilled to find a welcome basket of complimentary goodies, including a bottle of Prosecco, gourmet crisps and chocolate! As for the barn.. wow! An amazing space and the pictures don't do it justice! Downstairs is a fabulous open plan space with kitchen, living and dining areas, two en-suite bedrooms, and patio doors off of the lounge to the spacious garden. Upstairs is a beautiful and spacious living area, with plenty of room for all 8 of us to relax, and a further two en-suite bedrooms. The height of the barn and original A-frame beams are incredible features, and the décor is crisp, clean, modern and cosy all at once. The only downside to the upstairs lounge (where the large TV is), is that there are so many windows letting light pour in, and no blinds, that it was difficult to watch films/tv during daylight hours due to so might light reflecting on the screen. There are four beautiful bedrooms in the barn, one of which upstairs has a mezzanine level with sofa bed, and one of which downstairs has an adjoining room with bunkbeds - this worked out well to accommodate our group. We had shopping delivered from Tesco, who had no problems finding the place despite it being in the depths of the countryside. The fridge, relative to the number of people staying, is pretty small though! Had we been there a week instead of a weekend, this would've been a big problem - it would be great to see a large American style fridge freezer to accommodate more supplies! The only other downsides were that that we couldn't control the heating (including switching on any of the heated towel rails), there's no Wi-Fi, and the remote location meant no phone or data signal (unless you hover in a particular location in the upstairs lounge!) - it's not always a bad thing though to be cut off from the world for little while! On the plus side, there's a hot tub outside on the patio, which all 8 of us managed to squeeze in! We even saw some shooting stars while star-gazing in the tub! A brilliant venue, that enabled a great get-together and some fabulous memories. I can't recommend this place enough - you'll have a blast!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size and style of venue! :)
Liked least: No blinds in the upstairs lounge so hard to watch tv! :(
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Feb 2014
Many thanks for your lovely review,we're really glad you enjoyed yourselves. Although WiFi isn't available in the barn we're always happy for guests to come and use ours if they need to catch up on emails or social media ( usually teenagers) as for phone signal it does tend to depend upon provider but nearly everyone gets signal in the garden and I know from experience that orange is fine in the barn. Lots of families like the fact there is no internet connection ... It means that the children have to join in with games etc and not slope off to use their computer at every opportunity.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanMorley
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect Venue For Large Family Gathering”
Reviewed 24 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

The annual Morley / Paskin / Rees / Tunbridge gathering this year moved to centre of the UK on the Welsh border near Leominster, in Herefordshire. Being veterans of booking holiday homes (France / Whitby / New Forrest / Derbyshire in recent years) we come with high expectations. Owl Bard did not disappoint in the slightest.

We were a party of 12. 6 kids under the age of 13 (from 1 - 13) and 6 adults including Grandparents - and the property was easily big enough to cope with a group of this size with enough beds - and perhaps more importantly plenty of living space. Key with so many little people.

The Barn is off the beaten track, frankly in the middle of no where. But this adds to the charm. At night it is silent. And you have loads of lovely country side and walks on your door step. We got all of our food delivered from Tesco who visit there – worked a treat.

The owners were lovely. Offered good advice. Where there when you needed them, but unobtrusive despite living over the lane. They had 2 lovely dogs that would visit - and were available for adoption if you wanted to walk them,

The barn itself is vast, and as I said very open planned with loads of room. It is very well equipped and modern. A vast kitchen that made catering for 12 a delight. The garden is massive - and the highlight for the 6 kids with the hot tub. It entertained them for hours.

Whilst in the middle of nowhere - ideally positioned for days out to local towns we went to Ludlow / Ledbury and there are plenty of National Trust places as well as outdoor venues to visit. You won’t be bored.

All in all a lovely break that the whole family enjoyed. Would highly recommended. If I was to give 2 tips (and they are small and minor) – some kind of way of getting broadband would be great and secondly some sharp knifes in the kitchen….. but then again I am slightly obsessive on the later topic !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing