We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MMMm, Sunday Lunch”

The Bell Inn - Bovingdon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: This beautiful 18th century pub & restaurant serves freshly prepared food daily from Tuesday to Saturday plus a Sunday roast with several alternatives from 12 til 3pm Sunday's. Our steaks are cut from mature Hereford, American Rump or Aberdeen Angus beef and our wonderful 'Bell' burgers are made from the same beef. We have our famous top and bottom Steak & Ale Pie! We always have Vegetarian options available. Our homemade desserts are available daily as well as a list of 'specials' that includes fresh fish dishes. We have a lovely paved patio area and inside we boast 4 open fires that welcome you over the winter months.
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Great roast pork Sunday lunch, complete with Yorkshire Pudding and teeth-friendly crackling. Service and atmosphere were good and the only downside was being seated adjacent to the door - draft was pretty fierce. This aside, very happy to recommend.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GappyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natilee B, Owner at The Bell Inn - Bovingdon, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a great review, I am so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your Sunday lunch with us, we are so pleased you are happy to recommend us and we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 79 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018

The sunday roast was let down by the cold meat on the plate and the luke warm universal gravy which was used for both lamb and beef that tasted bland and reminded me of Bisto and the under cooked french beans which were not top and tailed were accompanied by yellow snap peas which were old.When I made a complaint to the manargeress she couldn't have been ruder and did not accept any critism when I was only trying to help the business. It was a pity because it spoilt our time there.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Barnieboy192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natilee B, Owner at The Bell Inn - Bovingdon, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

We are sorry to learn that you did not enjoy your meal with us and whilst we take all comments very seriously we are unsure why your experience was such a bad one when after two check backs you said how lovely the meal was and even spoke to the chef at the end of the meal with such positive feedback. If we had been made aware of your dissatisfaction at check back we would have tried to resolve the situation straight away.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

Having been in recently for lunch with a couple of friends, we chose to go for a lunch with a larger group of family and friends. The pub coped really well with a group of ten and the food was fantastic. Proper homely pub food, first class thank you. We will return as it was really nice to eat food that did not look like every other pub at the moment... the pies and gravy are particularly yummy!!

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank henrythenavigator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natilee B, Owner at The Bell Inn - Bovingdon, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

I am so pleased your party enjoyed your lunch with us, The Steak and Ale Pie is a firm favourite, thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review, we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018 via mobile

The food was excellent, lots of choice, great portions as well.
The refurbished areas are nice and the whole atmosphere is positive.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank memurrayisme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Owner at The Bell Inn - Bovingdon, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a great review, I am so pleased you enjoyed your meal with us, we hope to see you soon, Kind Regards Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018 via mobile

Recently refurbished by new owners this is the best pub in the village.
Great choice of real ales and other drinks and not overly expensive.
If you are eating it is recommended to book in advance as they do get busy.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank derek141159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Owner at The Bell Inn - Bovingdon, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Thank you for your fantastic comments, its great to hear that you like the refurbishment, we look forward to seeing you soon,

Kind Regards Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bell Inn - Bovingdon also viewed

Tring, Hertfordshire
Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
 
Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
Chipperfield, Hertfordshire
 
Abbots Langley, Hertfordshire
Whelpley Hill, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to The Bell Inn - Bovingdon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing