We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect for our large group”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of DURSTONE COTTAGES

DURSTONE COTTAGES
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
DURSTONE COTTAGES
DINING ROOM THAT SEATS 20+ Beautifully furnished bedroom with relaxing atmosphere
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
DURSTONE COTTAGES
DINING ROOM THAT SEATS 20+
Beautifully furnished bedroom with relaxing atmosphere
VIEWS FROM THE COTTAGES
COTTAGES NESTLED IN THE HILLS
KITCHEN MEADOW VIEW
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
9 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 22
Bromyard, Herefordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sharonjoy...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect for our large group”
Reviewed 21 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We have just returned from a weekend at the cottages. We were a large party of 18, (mainly couples) who went to university together and now meet up every couple of years for a reunion. We struggle to find somewhere to stay, that is comfortable, where we can all eat together and relax together and have fun without disturbing others.
The cottages were perfect for us. They were clean, well equipped and we all agreed they suited us perfectly.
The location was beautiful, great scenery, peaceful and great for walks or just sitting around.
Sarah the owner was very helpful when we booked, all our questions were answered promptly and the process was painless. She must have thought we were mad when we asked for logs and kindling for us to light the open fire, as it was the middle of summer. However a few minutes later she arrived with logs and kindling!
A great find and we all said we would certainly return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful location.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gfitz2015
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great party house with everything you need”
Reviewed 1 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

I hired this cottage for a stag do along with 16 other guys. House has everything you need, lots of comfy beds, plenty of bathroom/shower rooms/toilets, 2 good size kitchens and lounges,large space out side with BBQ and games room in the Garage.

Owner was very polity and helpful.

Made for an excellent weekend. Would recommend for any large group looking for a getaway.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dianne R
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“60th birthday party”
Reviewed 18 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

The cottages were a lovely place to celebrate my 60th birthday, with my family. Clean, spacious and well equipped, set in beautiful countryside. The local pub provided a good meal for the 15 of us, though they do need advanced notice for a large party.
Would be an excellent location for Christmas, as both cottages have large open fireplaces.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful scenery ,peace and quiet.
Liked least: The farm track leading to the property.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anne D
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“great place for a party”
Reviewed 5 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We rented Durstone cottages for a weekend for my husbands 70th Birthday party .We were a large group with 17 adults ,5 children and a baby. there was plenty of room for us all and the large dining room that links the 2 cottages was a super place for our Birthday meal and "murder mystery".
The Kitchens were very well equipped with everything you could need for a large group.
The bedrooms were all comfortable and warm. the open fire was great and there was lots of wood.There were plentiful towels and hot water.
The owner was extremely helpful both before and during our stay. The kids were so happy in the houses they never reached the games room.
The surrounding area has some lovely walks and the local pub (Wheelwrights Arms )was able to provide excellent fish and chips takeaway and roast dinners for us all on the Sunday.
One minor point was that one downstairs bathroom was a little chilly but this was the middle of December and the person using it from USA!
We would highly recommend this place and hope to visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and character of the property
Liked least: ???lck of heating in one downstairs bathroom.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T481tha
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic property!!”
Reviewed 3 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I just saw the next review, as I came to write mine... I promise I'm not copying!!! I also rented the property for my 40th birthday and stayed there with 23 others and thoroughly enjoyed it, John's right it certainly is worth the journey from London!!! Extremely well presented, immaculately clean, very comfortable and fully kitted out (even baking equipment in the kitchen). Emails back & forth proved the owner to be very friendly & helpful. The chap below said the games room was a little shabby...which was perfect for having a bit of a party & not worrying if someone spilt a drink or dropped a cigarette with the added bonus of ping pong & pool, not forgetting a place for the smokers out of the rain. Everyone who came thought it was the best venue we've had, over the years of all our birthdays. Highly recommended!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The games room
Liked least: Leaving (not just cos we were leaving but that road out of there is a bit harsh on low vehicles)
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing