We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An excellent property in an outstanding location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Forest View

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living room - freeview TV and DVD player. Dining area.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
33 reviews
Living room - freeview TV and DVD player.
Dining area.
Conservatory with views out to the garden.
Well-equipped kitchen.
Utility room with washing machine and tumble dryer.
Master bedroom with king size bed.
Twin room with two single beds.
Twin room with two single beds.
Family bathroom upstairs shared by master bedroom and twin room.
Family bathroom upstairs shared by master bedroom and twin room.
Ground floor double room with en suite shower.
Ground floor double room with en suite shower.
Ground floor en suite shower room.
Annexe with double bed and open plan shower, basin and wc.
Annexe with double bed and open plan shower, basin and wc.
Annexe with double bed and open plan shower, basin and wc.
Secluded garden.
Play area with double swing, trampoline and slide.
Cows in the lane, just outside the house!
Donkeys at Hatchet Pond, at the top of the lane.
Ponies in the heather at dusk.
Crabbing on the quay at Lymington.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Beaulieu, Brockenhurst, New Forest, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Francesca...
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely situation, some reservations about thee house”
Reviewed 6 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We have been holidaying in Britain for a few years now. Comparing this property to some other places we have stayed:
The house was a good size with a large garden. We did not use the children's play area, so we can't comment on this part of the property.
Unfortunately on arrival the house was not as clean as we would have hoped and there did seem to be a damp smell.
The furniture in the lounge was not particularly comfortable and although the four of us had plenty of space it might become a bit of a squeeze if there are six people staying together.
The conservatory was very pleasant to sit in.
The third double bed is actually situated in an external building (complete with en suite). This could be convenient for groups staying together. However, because the nights were getting a bit colder and there was again a smell of damp, we did not use this bedroom.
There was low water pressure in the upstairs bathroom, so we shared the en suite attached to the master bathroom.
That said, the kitchen was well stocked and there was a nice dining area for the evenings.
Parking was available for two cars at the property. The gate over the gravel driveway might be a bit of a handful for some.

Certainly what really stands out from this property is the location. You can be walking in the Forest within 5 min and the area is beautiful. You will also be very conveniently located to enjoy Beaulieu and other local attractions such as Buckler's Hard and Exbury Gardens. The trip to the Isle of Wight via Lymington is also easy from here (although it's worth considering the additional traffic at the weekend). I would also recommend the New Forest Wildlife Centre (Ashurst) for a day out. If you time your visit to coincide with the animal feeding it's an amazing day out. You may even get the chance to see an otter juggle.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The situation
Liked least: The house was not as well cleaned as I would have expected
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Oct 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review. I'm really disappointed to hear that the house didn't meet your expectations. My management team are always on hand to resolve any problems that arise during your stay, so I wish I had had the opportunity to ask them to come and revisit the cleaning for you. I'm pleased to say that a new corner sofa is currently on order, but with a lead time of 16 weeks for delivery, it will only be in place for bookings from January 2015. I hope that you still enjoyed your holiday and the lovely New Forest.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daw523
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
“An excellent property in an outstanding location”
Reviewed 25 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We are an Anglo-Swiss family who thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Forest View. The house is modern, well equipped, comfortable and in an excellent condition. With the three bathrooms and four bedrooms it easily accommodated up to six of us (plus a baby). The location was just what we wanted, with access on foot or by bike into the forest from the front gate. We were just a mile from Beaulieu with its beautiful situation on the river and the house served as an ideal base for visits to Christchurch, Lymington, the Isle of Wight and the coast. Should we ever get back together again we would happily return there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality and condition of the property
Liked least: Nothing except some odours from the adjacent agricultural business
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Oct 2014
Thank you so much for your very kind review - I appreciate all of your generous comments. It sounds as though the New Forest won you and your guests over! I'm really glad that you all had such a great holiday. And thanks for taking the time to post.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gillanddo...
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely house in a beautiful location”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We have just returned from a week's holiday at Forest View. The house was charming and very comfortable and clean with a very well equipped kitchen and all very much home from home. The house next door is being extended and so the builders were there at 8am every morning, but it didn't intrude too much as we were out most days.

The location is perfect for anyone wanting to be right in the national park amongst the horses, donkeys and cows. It was a lovely relaxing week made even better by perfect weather.

Please be aware that there is no phone signal in this part of the world!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The building project next door.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2014
Thanks for taking the time to post a review. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay at Forest View.

I agree that the lack of mobile phone signal is a complete pain. Some networks may get a bit of signal (Vodafone & O2), but it's still intermittent. As there is broadband at the house, the best bet is to download an app such as Skype or Viber to enable you to make calls. I'll update my welcome pack to suggest this.

Hope to welcome you back in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi B
Peterborough, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location, great for dogs”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Lovely house, right in the middle of the forest, ponies, donkeys and cows right on your doorstep. Clean and well equipped kitchen. Extra annexe needs sorting out, and expensive for what it is.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jul 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments. I'm glad you had a lovely holiday at Forest View. I've contacted you about the annexe, and appreciate that you were not keen on the 'open plan' nature of the sleeping and bathroom facilities in the room. I can understand your reservations, and I'll endeavour to make sure that the property description makes clear the layout of this room.
Thanks again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertqua...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“wonderful location, lovely base to explore the New Forest”
Reviewed 2 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

We stayed over the Christmas period and throughly enjoyed Forest View. The house was warm and well appointed and everything was clean and tidy on arrival. As a base to explore the New Forest on foot, bike or by car, Forest view is perfect. The entrance to miles of MTB and walking trails is 100yds from the front gate and the house is close to Beaulieu, Brockenhurst and Lymington. Southampton is only 30mins away by car. Overall we had a wonderful time at Forest view and would not hesitate to be back if we visited the New Forest area again!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jan 2014
I'm so glad you enjoyed spending your Christmas at Forest View. Thanks for the great review. Hope to welcome you back in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$950
/ Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing