We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“made our wedding extra special”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Forest Lodge

Indoor Swimming pool and hot tub facilities
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Indoor Swimming pool and hot tub facilities
Lodge Garden Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
39 reviews
Indoor Swimming pool and hot tub facilities
Lodge Garden
Lounge
The Lodge
Lounge
Dining Area
Master Bedroom
Hot Tub
Play Area
Onsite personal trainer at an extra cost
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Ringwood, New Forest, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
kate m
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
“made our wedding extra special”
Reviewed 30 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

I just wanted to say that we got married in Ringwood and we had the log cabin for 3 nights/ 4 days our whole experience was amazing, the cabin was so private, cosy and relaxing. We took our doggy with us and had some lovely walks to go on. I would recommend this to anyone and everyone can not fault it in anyway.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Oct 2013
Thank you so much for your comments they are really appreciated.Best wishes for the future Chris.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giraffe20...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We will be back! (If you will have us as we were late checking out, sorry again!)”
Reviewed 22 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This place is very hard to leave! We were looking for a safe, spacious place for the 400 kids we have in our group of friends to have free rein to have fun while the grown ups enjoyed a glass of wine for a long weekend and this is exactly what we got. The pool and outdoor space is perfect with access to the forest for walking the dog and enjoying the fresh air.
We were greeted with a warm and relaxed welcome and basically told to have a good time which is just what we did.
The pool is perfect (water warm and safe steps in for young children) and the cottage and lodge very well equipped.
We hired both the cottage and lodge for four families plus kids and found the accommodation fitted us all in with room to spare.
Very short drive to Paultons Park and were recommended by our hosts to use Burley bikes for bike hire and can definately recommend them too, helpful and welcoming.
Can't recommend this place enough, hope to visit again soon and will recommend where we can.
Thank you from Nick and everyone in our group.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Sep 2013
Thank you so much for your review and you are more than welcome back anytime.Teddy is on its way.
Best wishes to you and your family.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma F
Leeds
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great facilities but lots of areas for improvement”
Reviewed 16 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We spent two nights in the Cottage and, overall, we had an enjoyable stay. There were a few issues that could be easily resolved and I e-mailed the owner regarding these upon our return. However, as he’s not responded (4 weeks later) I will point out all our issues to potential guests to enable them to try and resolve any potential problems prior to their holiday.

Facilities
The pool area is fantastic and if staying in the Log Cabin you can access it at any time you wish. The play area is also brilliant for the little ones and an excellent idea. We just used the Log Cabin as a base for two nights whilst visiting Peppa Pig World and LongLeat Safari Park so didn’t actually spend much time there. If we had I’m sure the children would have spent more time in the pool and the park.

Kitchen
I chose a holiday cottage for two nights as wanted to be able to cook a proper meal one night. The kitchen would definitely benefit from some extra utensils. I note a previous review states ‘the kitchen was well equipped’ but I could only locate bread-style knives and could not locate a peeler! There is also very limited space for your food and it’s a shame wall units haven’t been added to the empty wall. We only had two days worth of food but had to leave it in bags on the top.

Lounge
Two big comfy sofas but we didn’t manage to get the TV or DVD to work whilst we were there. Maybe it’s our knowledge of electricals but I’ve never experienced problems using a TV before!!

Bedrooms
The bedrooms were pleasant enough with nice furniture and bedding. However one bed in the larger bedroom had no bedding on it. The owner had advised he was out that evening so we didn’t try to contact him to enquire about this, so my partner just slept on the mattress protector with a duvet with no cover.

Bathroom
I failed to realise that the bathroom doesn’t have a bath which wasn’t ideal for us as my 2 year old doesn’t like showers. It doesn’t seem to make this clear from the details.

The shower was also a bit of a mindfield with 3 nobs to operate three different outlets and none clear on which was the temperature! Two lights were out in the bathroom which probably didn’t help as it was pretty dark. If some information was provided on the shower I think this would be a great help.

Overall
The Cottage didn’t have the sparkly clean feeling that I like though I appreciate my standards might be higher than some! I also feel that the price of a property creates a certain level of expectation and at £189 per night my expectations were not met. The Cottage does have great facilities but I would not choose to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Swimming pool
Liked least: Cleanliness
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2013
sorry did not respond to email as we didn't get one. Potato peeler was in the cupboard not in the drawer. With reference to the TV,i have just asked my wife who is not TV friendly to turn it on which she did easily !There are 6 large cupboards and we have never had a complaint about lack of space !The double was made for yourself and husband you did not tell us he wanted to sleep in the other double bed, if so we would have given linen.
My wife takes great pride in the way she cleans the holiday lets and we have never before had a complaint of this nature.With reference to the price we are always busy. Thank you for your comments Kind regards Chris.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenraf
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 16 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

I honestly can't say anything negative about our stay at Forest Lodge. We stayed for a week with 3 children and from the minute we walked in to the minute we left everything was perfect. The location was great we did Paultons Peppa Pig world, and Beauleau car museum. We went to Bournmouth and Sandbanks and biked from Burley. Everywhere was easily travelled to via car or bike.
The kitchen was well equipped at the lodge and the washing machine invaluable. Having the pool was great for our children and they made firm friends with the children who live there too.
Wifi was not great but I don't go on holiday to spend time browsing the Internet etc so it was minor issue.
Thank you Chris, Lisa and Melissa for such a lovely holiday home. We hope to return.
Esther and Raj x

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2013
Thank you very much for your review i really appreciate your comments.
the wi fi is not good here and annoys me from time to time.I would like to say it was a pleasure to have you as guests,hope to see you again.
Kind regards Chris Lisa and Family.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel J
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We stayed here for a week”
Reviewed 26 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

The first issue was the wifi, it doesn't work at all in the house, this was a disappointment.
The house was attached to the owners property so we felt less secluded from the outside world. Owners were friendly.
We liked the dogs.
The road traffic noise was very bad at times.
Hose pipe was left outside back door for a long period of time, this was a hazard as my Dad almost tripped. The pool and hot tub was good.
If I go to the new forest again I will look for something more private with wifi and no traffic noise.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2013
I am sorry you had a problem with the wi- fi we have asked B T for a booster but as always it is taking forever to get sorted. The hose was topping up the pool and is Bright Yellow,we were not asked to move it.What would be really nice for us as owners would be for some guests to leave our property as they found it !!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$160
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing