We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Microwave rules?”
Review of Elm Tree Inn

Elm Tree Inn
Ranked #24 of 77 Restaurants in Ringwood
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 28 June 2018

My partner's lasagne was apparently very good and they did swap chips for sweet potato so well done on that score.
My sausage, mash and peas however were not so bright, especially the hard peas. The mash too seemed to be microwaved.How difficult is it to boil peas and get them edible? I can generally do it and I'm no chef.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 936hungry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (465)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 465 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

Booked a table which u normally have to do on a Saturday evening, wasn’t very busy which is a shame as the food was excellent and service very good, the new owners of 2 years are trying to rebuild there reputation and if the food which they served remains consistent then they will be back on top before long. Very impressed

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank AmandaExpertReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

Well feel the need to write yet another review on the elm tree.

We went in on pie night and the pies were OK and the service was OK

It’s getting better very slowly. Didn’t seem to have the yobbo element today and a better mix of punters.

But remember this place is in voluntary liquidation which almost certainly means they are sweating the asset.

Cut backs here and there to maximise profits.

I will be going in again as I do not want to see yet another pub down the pan and this place could, could, be an absolute gold mine considering the new estate being built footsteps away.

Please support local pubs before they are gone and turned into nursery’s for kids.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank PeteD692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018 via mobile

Lovely pub friendly staff good food and service
It’s definitely not to be missed only just off the main road through the new forest plenty of parking easy access for disabled and dog friendly

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank roadsmun1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

We used to regularly travel out to the Elm Tree on account of their excellent food and generous portions. Unfortunately on arrival we found there to be new owners (it looks like the pub has been directly taken over by Greene King). We decided to give it a shot anyway, and we were severely disappointed. The menu was Wetherspoons-esque, the staff rude and unhelpful, and the food was awful. Burnt food, miserly portions, poor presentation, overall a very unsatisfactory experience.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank cdm212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Elm Tree Inn also viewed

Ringwood, New Forest
Ringwood, New Forest
 
Ringwood, New Forest
 
Ringwood, New Forest
 

Been to Elm Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing