We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$157
View deal
PricelineUS$157
eDreamsUS$157
Agoda.comUS$156
TripadvisorUS$157
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
View all 14 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (267)
Filter reviews
267 results
Traveller rating
117
99
36
10
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
117
99
36
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews new forest full english family stay small hotel a great stay single bed town centre friendly hotel busy road night stay no lift two nights lovely room central location breakfast room plenty of parking family room
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 267 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2021

Clean, comfortable room.
Very friendly and helpful staff who provided plates, cutlery and condiments after we arranged to bring back a takeaway rather than go to a local restaurant following a long day.
Short walk to variety of restaurants and takeaways and short drive to Paulton's Theme Park.
Free on-site parking and lovely breakfast with variety of choice.
Would recommend

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Bremily714
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan Conroy, General Manager at Penny Farthing Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2021

Dear Bremily714

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Susan & the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2021 via mobile

Had a lovely stay, all the staff were very friendly and accommodating. Room was clean and well presented. My dog even got its own sausage for breakfast. Would definitely stay again. It is situated a stone thrown away from the town and the New Forest is easily accessible from here

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank richardpI7982HI
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan Conroy, General Manager at Penny Farthing Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2021

Dear Richard,

Thank you for taking the time to post a five star review.We are so happy you and your furry friend enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Susan & the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2021

Just stayed there for 2 nights and couldn't fault it. Granted there are steep stairs, the room was very comfortable with every amenity provided for for a b and b. Located centrally and within easy walking distance to the town and the New Forest. Would definitely stay there again.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank sept1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan Conroy, General Manager at Penny Farthing Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2021

Dear Sept1962,

Thank you for taking the time to post a five star review.We are delighted you enjoyed all aspects of your stay.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Susan & the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2021

It is the location which sells this place, a little bit rough around the edges, but perfect for a short stay.
While on a busy road, this did not affect our sleep
A single night in late June, it was fully booked, all Covid matters adhered to and friendly staff from check-in onwards.
Some people have objected to the breakfast arrangements, but these are necessary in the Covid climate and have to be adhered to. Our breakfast was well presented and the half hour allocated was sufficient.

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank keith47
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan Conroy, General Manager at Penny Farthing Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2021

Dear Keith,

Than you for taking the time to post a review.We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our staff friendly.
I will pass your nice comments onto the team.We hope to welcome in back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Susan & the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2021

The room was on top floor up steep stairs as we are in our 60s we struggled going up and down we wasn't told this when we booked. The room was so hot even though we had a fan on we hardly slept and the ensuite was so small we could hardly fit in the shower cubicle. The breakfast was small and overcooked and only had a choice of either cereals or cooked breakfast not both and only allowed 30 mins I'm a slow eater as I suffer with acute indigestion I felt uncomfortable and pressured. I paid £91. 00 for our nights stay I feel so disappointed. Only good comment is the lady on the reception desk was friendly and hard working.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Diana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan Conroy, General Manager at Penny Farthing Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2021

Dear Diana,

I am disappointed to hear you did not enjoy your stay at the penny.Did you inform reception you were unhappy with your room as we would have room moved you if the availability was there.The 30 minute slots are there to keep you and all our guests safe in these difficult time.If you informed us about your acute indigestion we could have made a change to your breakfast sitting & time.This is all new to us too, as we are all trying very hard to deliver great customer service and to keep our guests safe in these uncertain times.

Kind Regards
Susan & the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews