We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$175
US$158
View deal
PricelineUS$158
Expedia.comUS$175
Hotels.comUS$175
TripadvisorUS$158
eDreamsUS$158
TravelocityUS$175
View all 13 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (258)
Filter reviews
259 results
Traveller rating
112
97
35
10
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
112
97
35
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews new forest full english family stay small hotel a great stay single bed town centre friendly hotel busy road night stay no lift two nights lovely room central location breakfast room plenty of parking family room
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 259 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2021 via mobile

Well where do I start we turned up to this cycle themed character hotel with our doggie and she was spoilt rotten from the moment we arrived. A bag of treats for the pooch, lots of fuss before we even got to the room and sausages for breakfast every morning. They are so dog friendly I wouldn’t stay anywhere else in the forest with your pooch. If you turned right you were in the New Forest for morning and evening dog walks on your doorstep. All rooms were named after bikes which was quite quirky we were in the Mountain room. Due to Covid there was no room service unless you asked, breakfast was booked in night before with your breakfast choices and everything run smoothly and was very organised. A downside was the road. It was very busy but we were there on a bank holiday during hottest days of the year so far. I would definitely consider asking for a room at the back of the hotel when booking. The room was dated but very clean. With a dog we expect this. No good putting dogs into high class rooms. It was quirky and we were happy. Overall, a great stay for a few nights, staff couldn’t do enough for you and made our stay an exceptional experience.

Room tip: Always call hotel for best rates and ask for a room at back of hotel.
Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Traveler37054654009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan Conroy, General Manager at Penny Farthing Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2021

Dear Traveler,

Thank you for taking the time to post a 5 star review.We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and that we met all your expectations. We love our furry friends at the penny and hope they keep coming.We look forward to welcoming you & your furry friend back to the pennyfarthing in the near future.

Kind Regards
Susan & the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2021

The hotel was spotless the bed was very comfortable the breakfast was very good. The best thing was the mother and daughter team Susan and Danielle they were extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel is very dog friendly they gave our little Maggie a sausage every morning which was a lovely touch. All in all a very good hotel I would highly recommend. We loved it so much we've booked again next year.

Debbie Daly

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank dalydebbie0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan Conroy, General Manager at Penny Farthing Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2021

Dear Debbie,

Thank you for your 5 star review we are delighted you and your furry friend Maggie enjoyed your stay with us.We look forward to seeing you Maggie next year.

Kind regards
Susan and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2021

Lovely staff, dog friendly, clean, great location. Stayed for three nights, near central Lyndhurst, good value for money and will be staying again next year. Car park in rear means car safe and small garden nice for the dog.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 30sethn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan Conroy, General Manager at Penny Farthing Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2021

Dear guest,
Thank. You for taking the time to post a 5 star review we are delighted you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us.We look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Kind regards
Susan & the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2021 via mobile

We only stayed one night, but really enjoyed it. Great location, close to the Main Street. Plenty of parking, comfortable room and good breakfast. Very pleasant and friendly staff all round. Would definitely stay again!

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Intrepid101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan Conroy, General Manager at Penny Farthing Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2021

Dear guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.l will pas your nice comments onto the team.We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Susan & the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2020 via mobile

We visited and when arrived were told we could not pay by card. We would have to get cash out! We were not forewarned about this which was rather irritating!
The room was small, dated and basic however it was clean.
The shower was awful! Hardly any pressure.
Dog treats left in the room which was nice.
The bed was comfortable.
What dropped it from a three to a two was the phone call the next day chasing payment! Never have we ever experienced this!
Breakfast was basic you could have a fry up OR cereal! Really??!!
The mushrooms tasted tinned however I note management refute this, they certainly tasted tinned if not they must have been boiled! Awful!
It want cheap yet it felt very budget! I don’t mind this but his should be reflected in the price of the room.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Galleywench100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews