We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$156
View deal
TripadvisorUS$156
eDreams
PricelineUS$156
FindHotel
Agoda.comUS$156
Expedia.com
View all 13 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (267)
Filter reviews
267 results
Traveller rating
117
99
36
10
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
117
99
36
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews new forest full english family stay small hotel a great stay single bed town centre friendly hotel busy road night stay no lift two nights lovely room central location breakfast room plenty of parking family room
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 267 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2020 via mobile

Just returned from a 2 night break here. What a friendly hotel with an excellent breakfast. Felt very safe with their COVID-19 restrictions. Large car park with easy access to various attractions. Lots of local pubs nearby within easy access from the hotel. Had a lovely room at the back of the property nice and quiet.
Will be returning

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 186220Deb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan Conroy, General Manager at Penny Farthing Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2020

Dear Deb,

Thank you for you five star review we are delighted you enjoyed your stay at the penny, and very important that you felt safe, which we work really hard to achieve.We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Susan & the team :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2020 via mobile

Well we book a holiday to lynhurst and pick the penny farthings hotel after check the reviews this hotel needs a make over its tide and date there are lots of little things that need sort out from lack of hooks and rails in the bathroom to drawers and cupboards in our first room we were put for a five night stay after my wife talk to reception we move in to a still small room but better one more like picture on our booking and using cov19 for a lack of housekeeping is poor rooms still need cleaning and checking daily by housekeeping we read the the hotel have a bar some bottles in reception is not one and there was not restaurant so good job we were able to book in the town for the night when we arrived as if it been later we would got to eat till breakfast next day the staff we talk to have been helpfull and one more point the full breakfast is play on the point that it all come from within 30 miles of here well very cheap tin mushrooms do not a let down along the very small bit of tomatoe they just lots of little things that let it down tv has only three working channels on it yes we know that there is cov19 but staff should have full ppe and give the service for the rate paid would we come back that I do not know as feel let down what we pay would got us two in a good hotel with breakfast in Thailand that show they need to up the game

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank kojakSouthendOnSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan Conroy, General Manager at Penny Farthing Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2020

Hi. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We have looked at your booking in detail and found that it was stated you chose to book a small double room. For your comfort, we then upgraded your room free of charge to a standard double room when a small double was specified on booking. We really did not now how to respond when we read it was still small. We also offer triple and family rooms with extra floor space and also apartments, this can be booked direct with us or online.
In terms of rails and hooks, we have looked at add even more extra hangers. Thank you for the suggestion.
We do have a fully licenced bar, although small, it offers a small selection of beers, ciders and wine and other spirits for the convenience to our guests to enjoy in front of TV or in the dinning room. We do not offer drinks on taps, however there are several pubs some 1 min walk away.
Our full English breakfast is cooked fresh every morning and for reassurance we welcomed you in our kitchen to show that we never use canned mushrooms.
Our staff here at the Penny we wear masks at all times and observe social distancing as much as we can, we also have hand sanitizers available as it would have already be noticed upon entering the dinning room and on the reception and by the entrance of the hotel. We feel sorry that this did not feel enough, but we are trying our hardest to keep our guests safe during these unprecedented times. Breakfast times are also booked to ensure that we can plan ahead for every guest to stay 6ft or more apart.
Hope this answers your questions and any concerns you had.
We hope to welcome you back and we take on board any feedback provided to us.

Kind regards,
Susan and team here at Penny Farthing hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2020 via mobile

Just arrived home from a pleasant 2 night stay. Greeted by a lovely lady when we checked in. All clean and tidy.

The room was a little smaller than expected, TV was tiny-we didn't watch it but my partner did comment that he would have struggled to watch it with his poor eyesight.

No daily cleaning of the room due to their Covid-19 rules but you could ask for it to be cleaned if you wished.

My only small grumble was that the breakfast wasn't particularly great. We both chose the full english and the portions were small. I would have liked cereal too but was told you couldnt have full English and cereal.

Overall though it was a lovely stay and we would return.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank steph24092
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan Conroy, General Manager at Penny Farthing Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2020

Hi,

thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.
I am glad to read that you have found the room to be clean and tidy.
We have our breakfast complimentary to our guests, we are sorry that you found the portions to be smaller than expected during your stay, we can always customise your order buy adding extra or swapping breakfast items. Any comments are used for improvements.
We hope top welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Susan and the team here at Penny Farthing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2020 via mobile

Positives: lovely decorated and spacious sleeping space. Staff very attentive and helpful. Small hotel with plenty of parking. Ideal location to explore the New Forest.

Negatives: bathroom with shower was very small. We had a room right at the top. No lift by that didn't cause us any issues but if you have mobility issues, this room isn't for you.

The hotel is on a very busy road. Again not an issue for us, but he aware that you may not get much sleep. Take some ear plugs !

Breakfast- this had to be pre ordered which was fine. However, I was disappointed with the breakfast. It was luke warm, the mushrooms were tinned (could have been fresh!). The bacon had but been cooked from fresh as it was rubbery! Don't understand why this could not have been cooked from fresh? There was no rush and there wasn't many people in the restaurant. It seemed as if the breakfast had been sitting around for sometime. Could have been fresher and better!

I would stay again but just making people aware of the negatives.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank sidders67
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan Conroy, General Manager at Penny Farthing Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2020

Hi. Thank you so much for leaving us a review.
We are glad that you enjoyed the location and have found the sleeping space to be spacious, and our staff to be helpful and attentive.
We are located on a busy road, we can always accommodate individual requests and give a room at the back of the hotel.
Sorry to hear you did not enjoy our breakfast, we have looked into that.
We hope to see you visiting us again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Susan and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2020

Spent a night here in one of the attic double rooms called tomahawk absolutely lovely, nice and quiet and clean,plenty of luggage/wardrobe space,staff happy and helpful too,Tasty breakfast thoroughly recommend a stay here in this beautiful part of the new forest lovely that it is dog friendly too lovely to see so many wagging tails.

Room tip: Tomahawk up in the eaves where it's nice and quiet is best.
Date of stay: August 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waspthestitcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan Conroy, General Manager at Penny Farthing Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2020

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your taking time to post a review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.I will pass your nice comments onto the team and hope to welcome you back to our jewel in the forest.

Kind regards
Susan & the team :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews