We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“lovely characterful cottage”
Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottage
Back garden Lounge Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
30 reviews
Cottage
Back garden
Lounge Area
Dining Area
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3 with twin beds and 1 Cot
Bathroom 2 (Shower, bidet, sink & Toilet)
Bathroom 2 ( bath, sink & Toilet)
View from Lounge Window
New Forest
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Lyndhurst, New Forest, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Johanna P
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“lovely characterful cottage”
Reviewed 8 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Stayed with 8 people for one weekend. Beautiful cosy thatched cottage, lots of character - uneven walls, steep stairs, historic decorations etc. It didn't feel cramped with 8 of us but of course it's an old house so the layout is a bit peculiar and some of the walls are a bit thin - make sure you go with people you like ;) The kitchen isn't huge but has everything that's needed. And it was nice and warm even though the temperatures outside were below 0!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giorgia T
Florence, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful”
Reviewed 11 February 2016 for a stay in May 2015

We had the best time at this warm, welcoming cottage.
It was perfectly situated in the town of Lyndhurst, so many activities to do with the kids and the family. Also, amazing pub and access to the forest right as you cross the road.
The owners are warm and welcoming and the cottage has everything you could need.
Definitely coming back.

A fantastic stay, thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elainej86...
Feltham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Chocolate Box Thatched Cottage”
Reviewed 8 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

This truly is an amazing cottage. Lovely stay very close to the shops and new forest. Photo's do not show the amazing wealth of charm this cottage has. The stairs are steep and not for the faint hearted but apart from that amazing. Every care has been taken to give you a home.

Can recommend the Swan Pub, food was lovely staff friendly and could not help us enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cottage
Liked least: beds were uncomfortable
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smcs_12
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fantastic location”
Reviewed 9 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Perfectly positioned for exploring the New Forest but in need of a little TLC.
The period features of this cottage make the inside dark and the stairs are not for the faint hearted. We found the beds uncomfortable and one of the bathrooms in need of a bit of sprucing up. The location would bring us back but we would hope to find a bit of work carried out.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: location, location, location
Liked least: hard mattresses
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Dec 2015
We had previously been in contact with this client regarding the beds and explained that our choice for renting was for firm mattresses. The bathroom in question has since been repainted as part of our ongoing maintenance work. We are constantly striving to maintain our cottage to a high standard. For example, this year we have entirely rethatched the roof, substituted the downstairs carpet, revarnished and repainted upstairs. Our cottage is a delightful period building and our wish is that all our guests should enjoy it to utmost.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel W
1 review
“What a lovely cottage in a superb setting!”
Reviewed 11 September 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This is a lovely chocolate box cottage with great facilities too. It is pretty central for the town with great amenit!ies and access to the wider attractions of the New Forestt attractions. The town is a ten minute walk away with forest explorations and all the loveliness of a fabulously natural environment really close by. This is an idyllic location..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: This was a beautifully comfortable and safe environment for our family and we loved our stay.
Liked least: There was nothing to criticise. Yes - the area and busy, but this is probably what you would expect and it certainly had no impact on our enjoyment.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing