We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lime Wood Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Ormonde House Hotel(Lyndhurst)(Great Value!)
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The White Rabbit(Lyndhurst)
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$151
US$123
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Balmer Lawn(Brockenhurst)
US$292
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Woodlands Lodge Hotel(Woodlands)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1 419)
Filter reviews
1 419 results
Traveller rating
954
246
129
59
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
954
246
129
59
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsherb houseafternoon teaangela hartnettchewton glenhydro poolforest suitespa treatmentsmain restauranthartnett holderboot roomhunter welliescourtyard bargenerous roomcountry housetasting menusandwichessteam room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 1 419 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Now I’m fully aware my review is not going to make that much difference amongst the many 5stars but I was bought this afternoon tea as a birthday gift so me and my friend went along, my expectations were high for this place and they just fell short on the day. Limewood is renound for being up there with one of the best but I just didn’t feel their service reflected this on this occasion; there was quite a long wait for tea and food to arrive and whilst I appreciate its not fast food you also don’t want to be twiddling your thumbs waiting to eat- the service was a bit slapdash server spilling tea on the napkins and table and plonking the teapot down causing further spillage and whilst this isn’t a big deal i didn’t feel these mini errors were what lime-wood pride themselves on? and I don’t feel the tables for 2 people are big enough once you have teacups teapots milk menus a plant pot amongst other things it’s a bit of a squeeze. There was however a lovely young girl with blonde hair who was efficient and knowledgeable about the food we had and we thought she deserved a 5 star rating but not sure about the rest of the staff. The food was nice but it wasn’t outstanding- we came away feeling like it was nice but weren’t wowed perhaps they were just having an off day as plenty of other good reviews, come see for yourself though and you can make your own mind up.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
2  Thank hollyhampshire1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Arrived in reception and waited whilst the 1 receptionist attended another customer .....wandered through to atrium and waited, strolled back to reception, where the 1 receptionist was still dealing with the same customers. Eventually went back to Atrium and went to the bar....where they found our booking, was shown to a small table for 2 and told someone would be with us shortly. About 15 mins later a waiter appeared and took our tea order and when the tea was brought the food order was taken. It was now 3.35 and afternoon tea had been booked for 3pm.
The sandwiches were good and the scones and cakes were excellent although the inquiry as to whether we would like more sandwiches might have been better before we had consumed the scones!
The offer of more tea was welcomed but the wait of 25 minutes for its arrival not so welcome !

There appeared to be plenty of staff in the Atrium but not so many actually doing much. The customers had to actively seek attention nothing was anticipated. Not expected in a 5 star establishment.

All in all a pleasant experience but service would have to be improved before I would go back.

Stayed: March 2018
Thank Kay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The property is very nice and had an "outside" courtyard bar which was covered in a glass roof. Drinks were a bit slow due to the trainee barman but otherwise, no complaints.
We had the 'sharing platter' which was like an Italian tasting menu. It had a really unusual range of tastes to it, starting with a meat platter from the local smokehouse, then a quirky but delicious pickled veg on humous. The main was a salt crusted Sea Bream which was also delicious. Dessert was a little disappointing - rhubarb jelly with fruit and sorbet though I am intolerant to dairy which makes desserts trickier than usual.
Overall a very pleasant meal and I would recommend the restaurant whole-heartedly.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank UkRps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Booked private room for family Birthday celebration. Lovely setting, excellent service. Very poor food. Expected better from a menu supposedly designed by a celebrity chef Overpriced "Seasonal Set Menu" Starter, smallest piece of Mackerel I have ever seen on a piece of burnt toast and some relish. Very little skill needed. Main, Surloin of Beef. Predominant feature an oversized, overcooked Yorkshire pudding. One slab of bland fatty beef. The average pub chef could have done better

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank brianreeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

This is our second time in this hotel for a break from our children! It is such a fantastic hotel. The staff, service, views, food, rooms are all faultless!
We had a couple of very small issues and the duty manager herself came to deal with them, with a smile. Nothing was too much trouble and we feel refreshed and relaxed going back to our babies!
We cannot wait to visit again. Hopefully this year! Thank you Limewood hotel, again!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank strawbs_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews