We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 503)
Filter reviews
1 503 results
Traveller rating
1 013
256
140
60
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 013
256
140
60
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews herb house afternoon tea angela hartnett chewton glen hydro pool forest suite spa treatments boot room hartnett holder tasting menu main restaurant courtyard bar hunter wellies gnocchi great spa generous room spa restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
96 - 101 of 1 503 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2018

Arrived in reception and waited whilst the 1 receptionist attended another customer .....wandered through to atrium and waited, strolled back to reception, where the 1 receptionist was still dealing with the same customers. Eventually went back to Atrium and went to the bar....where they found our booking, was shown to a small table for 2 and told someone would be with us shortly. About 15 mins later a waiter appeared and took our tea order and when the tea was brought the food order was taken. It was now 3.35 and afternoon tea had been booked for 3pm.
The sandwiches were good and the scones and cakes were excellent although the inquiry as to whether we would like more sandwiches might have been better before we had consumed the scones!
The offer of more tea was welcomed but the wait of 25 minutes for its arrival not so welcome !

There appeared to be plenty of staff in the Atrium but not so many actually doing much. The customers had to actively seek attention nothing was anticipated. Not expected in a 5 star establishment.

All in all a pleasant experience but service would have to be improved before I would go back.

Date of stay: March 2018
Thank Kay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018

The property is very nice and had an "outside" courtyard bar which was covered in a glass roof. Drinks were a bit slow due to the trainee barman but otherwise, no complaints.
We had the 'sharing platter' which was like an Italian tasting menu. It had a really unusual range of tastes to it, starting with a meat platter from the local smokehouse, then a quirky but delicious pickled veg on humous. The main was a salt crusted Sea Bream which was also delicious. Dessert was a little disappointing - rhubarb jelly with fruit and sorbet though I am intolerant to dairy which makes desserts trickier than usual.
Overall a very pleasant meal and I would recommend the restaurant whole-heartedly.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018

Booked private room for family Birthday celebration. Lovely setting, excellent service. Very poor food. Expected better from a menu supposedly designed by a celebrity chef Overpriced "Seasonal Set Menu" Starter, smallest piece of Mackerel I have ever seen on a piece of burnt toast and some relish. Very little skill needed. Main, Surloin of Beef. Predominant feature an oversized, overcooked Yorkshire pudding. One slab of bland fatty beef. The average pub chef could have done better

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank brianreeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018 via mobile

This is our second time in this hotel for a break from our children! It is such a fantastic hotel. The staff, service, views, food, rooms are all faultless!
We had a couple of very small issues and the duty manager herself came to deal with them, with a smile. Nothing was too much trouble and we feel refreshed and relaxed going back to our babies!
We cannot wait to visit again. Hopefully this year! Thank you Limewood hotel, again!

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank strawbs_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018 via mobile

I have been to Limewood a few times now but decided to have an evening of wine and food in the New Forest indulging in their Tasting Menu. In short it was refreshing and brilliant and I would recommend the wine pairings.

The staff are also excellent! More than just waiting staff they have passion, character and great conversation .....

Limewood is part of the Home Grown Pig Empire but this place really is a cut above those.

I can’t wait til the next time.... and remember you can pop in for just a coffee and some cake or a full blown lunch either way it’s gonna be fun !

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
2  Thank MartinB848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews