We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful country escape”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Barns in the heart of the Test Valley Luxurious large double ended roll top bath
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
The Old Barns in the heart of the Test Valley
Luxurious large double ended roll top bath
Triple aspect views from the vaulted and beamed open plan lounge/kitchen/diner.
Alfresco dining on the south facing balcony or watch the sunset with a glass of wine.
The french doors into the bedroom of Damson Cottage
Rustic styling on the solid oak doors
The Old Barns courtyard.
Sunset at The Old Barns
Local walks - in the early winter sun.
Local walks - accross the rape fields.
Lillies on our pond.
Fly fishing on the River Test.
Horsebridge - 1 mile along the Test Way (The John O'Gaunt pub can be found here)
The River Test at compton's fly fishing.
The Old Barns in the snow.
The River Test at Houghton.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Stockbridge, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tim J
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful country escape”
Reviewed 14 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We just spent the weekend in the old barns and although the stay was short, it proved memorable for all the right reasons. Sarah & Rob have done an amazing job with the conversion of the barns and the attention to detail is spot on. Clean, comfortable and of a very high standard.

The setting is idyllic in this lovely part of the country. If you are looking for a country escape, you will be hard pressed to find better. With the river Test, wonderful walks, shooting and fishing all on the doorstep not to mention many fine country pubs, you will be spoilt for choice.

The family are lovely and go out of their way to make sure you enjoy your stay. If you book here you won't be disappointed. Thank you for great weekend

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Accommodation
Liked least: Lack of wifi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2015
Thank you for your lovely review. It was lovely to meet you both and glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again. Rob and Sarah.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jodie L
Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect Weekend Getaway”
Reviewed 9 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

My boyfriend and I booked The Old Barns for a last minute weekend getaway and the location and cottage couldn't have been more ideal.

We stayed in the Damson Cottage which was very impressive. We had a huge comfortable bed, a roll top bath and a beautiful view from our lounge and kitchen area. We had everything we needed in the barn to cater for the relaxing break we wanted.

In addition, the scenery and local town were stunning. We would definitely recommend a walk down to the river and a trip to the local Crown Inn pub for some good English grub!

Overall we had a brilliant stay. It was exactly what we needed and we were made to feel very welcome by the owners. We look forward to coming back :-).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Mar 2015
So glad you enjoyed your stay in Damson cottage and made the most of the local area. We are spoilt for great local pubs and they are all very welcoming. Thank you for your lovely review and hope to see you again soon. Rob and Sarah.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moodygeez...
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful Christmas get away.”
Reviewed 6 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Really relaxing Christmas spent here at the Old Barns. You immediately feel as if you can sell up and move in here. We wanted to get away from all the rush and hassle of Christmas 'holiday' and this was ideal. I imagine Spring, Summer and Autumn are slightly better spent here as you would get longer days to enjoy the countryside and the surrounding area. Everything is catered for, we enjoyed sitting on the balcony chatting to our new temporary neighbours with their dog.
The beds were really comfortable and if we had the same bedding at home we know we would never get up for work. A friendly pub is a short walk away and the locals take time to stop and chat when out and about. Romsey town centre is not far away and I would recommend the White horse http://www.thewhitehorseromsey.co.uk/brasserie-menus#.VKxF3dKsWSo .
Thank you for a wonderful stay

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very relaxing, the beds and bedding were fantastic, couldn't have them at home or else we would never get out of bed.
Liked least: You could hear the neighbours
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jan 2015
We are so glad you had a lovely Christmas stay at The Old Barns. Thank you for your lovely comments about the cottages, we try hard to make them homely and comfortable and it's lovely to hear that we have got it right. We hope to see you again. Rob and Sarah.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura G
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Gorgeous Barn”
Reviewed 11 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

A really enjoyable stay. Lovely walks and warm, cosy pubs nearby. A great place for a weekend getaway with very friendly and helpful owners.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jan 2015
Thank you for your lovely comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the local area. It is a lovely friendly area and you can't get better than a lovely country walk with a pub at the end. Hope to see you again. Rob and Sarah.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris B
Wallington, United Kingdom
1 review
“A great place to stay!”
Reviewed 18 November 2014 for a stay in August 2014

My girlfriend and I along with my parents rented 2 of the cottages at the Old Barns for 3 days. The cottages themselves were lovely - very clean, spacious and full of character but with all mod cons! The owners Rob and Sarah are friendly and very welcoming and gave us some great insight in to the local area. I think it's fair to say that they have pretty much thought of everything from their clear instructions for your stay, to the nice touches like Milk and Eggs (laid on the premises!) in the fridge on arrival and everything inbetween!

On top of all of that, the area is beautiful and there is plenty to see and do, especially if you like the outdoors!

A great place to stay for couples, families and pet’s alike! You won’t be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, scenery, the owners!
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jan 2015
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed the local area. Hope to see you again. Rob and Sarah.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing