We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great local Indian - will not disappoint!”
Review of Malabon

Get food delivered
Ranked #7 of 65 Restaurants in Petersfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$27 - US$41
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Malabon Tandoori Restaurant Carol Godsmark Top Critic of "The News - Portsmouth" Award The Malabon Tandoori Restaurant on the food, service and atmosphere. Malabon Tandoori Restaurant, Hampshire offers the best quality Indian & Bangladeshi food using the freshest and finest ingredients. Our professional skills lie in the balancing and blending of spices and this is what we want to share with you. Malabon offer many vegetarian dishes and if there's something that isn't on the menu they will cook it as asked. Malabon Tandoori Restaurant (established 2009) is best known to offer the best quality Indian & Bangladeshi food, a warm welcome and excellent service to customers. The restaurant is a listed building with nice warm red colours on the wall and the black and white combination and the original beam to give the place a homely and romantic feeling. We are the only Indian & Bangladeshi restaurant in Petersfield to offer Online Ordering with Just Eat We offer excellent special deals such as Discount On Takeaway on Collection, Our special Monday & Tuesday Banquet Night £11.95 (Per person), VIP Cards and many more - find information on our Specials Page
Reviewed 10 September 2021 via mobile

This is our first time visiting the area and we booked this restaurant based off previous good reviews - and it did not disappoint. Despite it clearly being a favourite with locals, the staff were friendly and attentive and made an effort to welcome us. The food was great and so was the atmosphere. It was also very great value for money considering the generous portions! Will definitely come back if we are visiting again.

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank Claire G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

2 - 6 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2021 via mobile

Superb Indian restaurant. Very friendly service. We had the meat and vegetarian thali - great selection of delicious food and all really reasonably priced. We had a lovely meal and would definitely come back.

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank kjw2401
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 June 2021

We have lost count of how many deliveries we have had from the Malabon during this awful Pandemic. As I believe I have said before - their fantastic food has been a real lifeline for us. A taste of how life used to be and hopefully will be again......soon.

A huge thank you to all the staff at the Malabon - and I do mean everyone from the Kitchen staff to the Chefs, Also Mooj, Jimmy and Du Du (spelling is almost certainly wrong - sorry!!) and the delivery team too. We really appreciate what you do.

Date of visit: June 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Arthur_Tash
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 February 2021

The Malabon has been a real life-line for us during these dreadful lockdowns. They provide and deliver to us the best Indian/Bangladeshi food. It is a real treat for us. Ignore the critics.............why would you criticise them in the middle of this Pandemic?? ..........they are doing their level best to provide and deliver the best Indian/Bangladeshi food ever........and are succeeding magnificently. Once again.. we are so grateful to you......please don't be discouraged.........you are so important to your local community!!

Date of visit: January 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Arthur_Tash
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 January 2021

For some time now the Malabon has been our top Indian in Petersfield, both eat-in and for takeaways. We last wrote a favourable 5 star review of several Malabon takeways in June 2020.

Since then we have had two takeways from them. While in no way can I say that they were 'bad' their taste just wasn't up to their nomal high standard - they were rather tasteless and poorly spiced - and I don't refer to the chilli heat.

This was then further brought home when we subsequently had a brilliant takeaway from the Spice Lounge (see review).

Has something changed? New chef? New owners? Covid change of staff? We would be very disappointed were standards to have fallen or is this "just" a temporary aberation?

It would be good to get a management comment......

Date of visit: January 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RayPhC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malabon, General Manager at Malabon, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2021

Hi thank you for your review.
Firstly apologise behalf of Malabon & my team.
Very disappointed to hear that the two previous takeaway you had from us wasn't up to standards. The first one you took, did you inform us that it wasn't right? because if you did the second takeaway wouldn't of been a problem. Our aim is to give good food & good service & very importantly that our customers keep coming back to us.
We are are the same people running it & have same chef.
My direct email is malabonpetersfield@gmail.com if you like to discuss it further.
Many Thanks
Malabon Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Malabon also viewed

Petersfield, Hampshire
Petersfield, Hampshire
Petersfield, Hampshire
Petersfield, Hampshire

Been to Malabon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.