We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 613)
Filter reviews
1 613 results
Traveller rating
597
429
256
183
148
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
597
429
256
183
148
Show reviews that mention
All reviews champagne bar pro shop golf break hampshire suite driving range foot spa eco pods playing golf carvery restaurant hot beds spa facilities manor hotel tribute night atrium bar the main hotel golf spa wedding venue
Filter
Updating list...
620 - 625 of 1 613 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2016

Myself and 60 other friends and family booked here for my sisters wedding on Saturday 11 June for 2 nights. we arrived early so didnt expect our room to be ready, we were told it would be available from 3pm. when we went back to the reception at 2.50pm there was a que of people who had just arrived being checked in and we all were waiting for another 20 minutes, the check in was a shambles, and i must say the oldest receptionist(didnt get her name unfortunately) was the rudest and most unproffesional person I have ever came across.
we were then told we were across the way from the main hotel, which meant we were all separated!! I had booked two rooms one for myself and husband and another for my two sons, All i can say is that when we saw the building we were staying in it looked like a premier inn !! :( (which i do not mind at all, but we were paying 3 times as much as the premier in down the road). our room was very dard and gloomy as the small window had a view of a wooden board which was the height of the window to hide some building work being done in the field outside, i would of preffered to look at that :(, the windows only opened a small amount and we had no air conditioning in any of the rooms, to the point where with only 1 fan the room became extremely unbearable , I then woke on what was supposed to be an amazing exciting day for my sister, to a sore throat and feeling really ill. (due to the air in the room, or lack of it ), all the family members had the same problems with their rooms. On the morning of the wedding i needed to spend the morning with my sister getting her ready, which was extremely hard with the heat, in the end we had to have the door to the room open (which meant everybody walking past could see her ). she was more stressed than needed to be becouse of the lack of air conditioning. I just thank god she had the actual wedding elsewhere as the hotel would of been to hot.
Please please do not book your wedding here in the summer months....

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank laurenfrancesmarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldThornsCS, Guest Relations Manager at Old Thorns, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2016

Dear Lauren,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate all feedback be it positive or negative, as it helps us to grow and adapt to our guest’s needs. Every week we hold a meeting to go through all the customer comments that we have received. This is so that all our teams are aware of how we have performed from our customer’s perspective. Your comments about staff, service and ambiance have been addressed with the staff, supervisors and management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2016

We arrived to a huge car park almost full which lead us to believe good things.

However, as we hiked up the reception and checked in we were astounded at the volume of people there. The reception seemed to be struggling with all the check ins and seemed over worked and understaffed.

Once given our room number with no guidance where to go... except that it was in... the main block.... not the block across the car park we went a searching. Once in our room on a very warm day we discovered to our utter dismay that there was no air conditioning. It was stifling hot even with windows open and a tower fan blowing. There were a large number of people in our party and almost everyone was annoyed at the lack of cooling.

The rooms were clean, well presented and comfortable but the Wi fi was about as stable as a kite in the wind. The bars were well staffed as were the restaurants. Breakfast, for a four star hotel, was woefully inadequate. Whilst the staff were very helpful the selection of cereals, fruit juice and cooked items were basic with bacon as tough as the leather on an old boot.

Had it not been for the stifling heat in the rooms we would have enjoyed our stay there better. It would have been far better had the attitude of staff been helpful instead of being just plain unhelpful... most of the time even asking for directions to our room we received a vacant, 'why are you asking me look'
It did feel like a Butlins holiday camp especially in the queue at breakfast. We were overcharged on our bill and reception had the 'we are right you are wrong' attitude even though they had made the mistake and it was pointed out to them. It turned out they had made mistakes on the bills for other members of our group!

I very much doubt we would ever go back there

Room tip: stay somewhere else
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank dunkybabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldThornsCS, Guest Relations Manager at Old Thorns, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2016

Thank you for your review. We appreciate all feedback be it positive or negative, as it helps us to grow and adapt to our guest’s needs. Every week we hold a meeting to go through all the customer comments that we have received. This is so that all our teams are aware of how we have performed from our customer’s perspective. Your comments about service and ambiance have been addressed with the staff, supervisors and management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for work and leisure purposes. Rooms a big and comfy, the spa is lovely but could do with modernising a bit. Enjoyable stays and staff a really polite and helpful.
Food in sports bar and restaurant are both really nice and the drinks reasonably priced

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Uncle_Joys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldThornsCS, Guest Relations Manager at Old Thorns, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2016

Thank you very much for your review! We are very happy you had a delightful stay here at Old Thorns.

Old Thorns makes every effort to create an experience above expectation. We do strive to make each guest feel special and cared for. We are happy that we succeeded. I shall pass on your remarks to the appropriate departments and individuals.

Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2016

Well this is not a four star hotel... The staff are not helpful and in fact can be rude and off hand and NOT what staff at a FOUR STAR hotel.. What FOUR STAR hotel uses power eggs.. When asked if this was so...a movement of a head was what I got...asked for white bread as don't east brown..oh breakfast almost over no we don't have any left... A FOUR STAR run out of white bread????? As for the bedrooms not in main hotel...hot hot hot. Windows open two of opened only 3inch each...two bad..no air con had to ask for extra fan .. We could not sleep to hot... Staff could not care less..this hotel makes its money on hen nights etc..and it's almost as if nobody cares...and at £300 a night this is overpriced ... I did ask to see manager and ask for some form of refund as couldn't sleep... But know not there what a surprise ... The food in the sports bar was the best thing about the hotel on Friday night...so if you want a hotel with FOUR STAR STAFF a hotel FOUR STAR ROOMS don't go to THIS FOUR STAR HOTEL as its not

Room tip: Well just don't go to this hotel.. But if you have to you have a room in main hotel
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Rosemary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldThornsCS, Guest Relations Manager at Old Thorns, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2016

Dear Rosemary,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate all feedback be it positive or negative, as it helps us to grow and adapt to our guest’s needs. Every week we hold a meeting to go through all the customer comments that we have received. This is so that all our teams are aware of how we have performed from our customer’s perspective. Your comments about service and ambiance have been addressed with the staff, supervisors and management.

Please note that our windows do open much wider, the first stop is for air while keeping the room secure. From the inside you may release this stop to gain more air access. I apologize this was not explained to you.

We hope you have a nice Sunday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2016 via mobile

A group of us came here for my friends hen night , we stayed in the pods which are ideal if there are a group of you because you are all close together and can sit on your verandas have a drink and a chat with each other . The pods are lovely really cosy , you have hooks to hang your clothes on , kettle , dressing table every thing you need ! We were all really impressed with the Toilets and showers ( which are just situated around the corner from the pods ) just like hotel bathrooms really nice ! The only thing i didn't like about the pod area were the stones that you walk on they are quite big ,really noisy and be careful walking on them with heels they ruined mine !
Had a lovely 3 course meal which was part of the package ( really delicious ) The Michael Jackson tribute was brilliant we didn't stop dancing !
Breakfast was good plenty of choice , during our stay we could use the pool sauna ect if you wanted any treatments they do need to be pre booked .
We all had a great time and the package was such could value for money,
perfect for a get a way with the girls !

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank lollie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldThornsCS, Guest Relations Manager at Old Thorns, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2016

Dear Lollie,

Thank you very much for your review! We are very happy you had a delightful stay here at Old Thorns and that your "Glamping" hen night will be a fantastic memory for you and your guests.

Old Thorns makes every effort to create an experience above expectation. We do strive to make each guest feel special and cared for. We are happy that we succeeded. I shall pass on your remarks about the pathways to the appropriate departments and individuals.

We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews