We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ripped off when delays in exiting”
Review of Lowry Outlet

Lowry Outlet
Ranked #18 of 36 things to do in Salford
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Overlooking Manchester's historic waterfront, Lowry Outlet is an unmissable shopping experience that saves you 70% off the RRP of top brands all day, every day. As well as outlet shopping, you can enjoy a meal at one of the Plaza restaurants and even catch a film at the multi-screen VUE Cinema. Facebook and Twitter Search Lowry Outlet
Reviewed 20 October 2018

Having paid the amount due at the paystation on leaving the mall, I was then stuck in a traffic jam for over an hour trying to get out. As a consequence I was stiffed for a further £2 to raise the barrier, even though the delay was entirely due to the car park itself not being adequately designed or organised enough to deal with large crowds leaving the theatre. Even if they only screw £2 out of 500 people a year that is a Grand they make by being ineffiicient and generally inadequate.. Disgusted

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne J, Manager at Lowry Outlet, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2018

Dear Customer,

Thank you for your feedback,

We are very sorry to hear that you weren't happy with our car parking facilities and had experienced some difficulties when trying to leave the car park. Our car park prices are £1 a hour.

If you would like to get in contact with us here at The Lowry Outlet we can resolve your issue for you. Our contact number is 0161 848 1850.

Once again thank you for your feedback.

Kind Regards,

Henry Long
Customer Services Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (824)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"body shop"
in 9 reviews
"information desk"
in 19 reviews
"the imperial war museum"
in 23 reviews
"shopping trip"
in 9 reviews
"lime bar"
in 13 reviews
"art gallery"
in 18 reviews
"bargains"
in 87 reviews
"harvester"
in 23 reviews
"mooch"
in 9 reviews
"clothing"
in 19 reviews
"football"
in 13 reviews
Filter

34 - 38 of 824 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2018

I have scored "one" to bring a specific issue to the attention of The Lowry Management, not because we had a bad experience in the centre - in fact, we had a good meal at Pizza Express.

Let me explain. We went to see Russell Watson at The Lowry last night - a fabulous concert where Russell was accompanied, among others, by the Manchester Survivors Choir and where there were many tears of joy and admiration.

Our car was parked in The Lowry Centre so off we went after the concert, happily entertained and ready for our journey back to Sheffield.

In the centre, we were faced with dozens of people milling round who were mildly bewildered and hopelessly lost as they could not find their way to the car parks. The signage was almost non-existent which took us round in circles and was certainly no use in helping us find our car. We eventually stumbled on a couple of staff who were locking up their fast food outlet who took mercy on us and walked us to the car park entrance.

There was a collective sigh of relief when we all found the car parks; but in reality that the beginning of the next 'problem' - how to find our way around this vast area and find our car. The same situation then unfolded - dozens of people milling around mildly bewildered and hopelessly lost trying to find their vehicle and worrying that they would not do so before the car park was closed at 11.00pm. We eventually spotted a car park employee who probably wondered what was going on when several people rushed towards him in the hope that he could guide us the right direction; which he did.

I suppose this review may look a little bit over-blown when it is read from the comfort of an office or an arm-chair at home. At the time, it felt disconcerting and wasted about 45 minutes of our time which then had to be added to a 2 hour journey to Sheffield on the wrong side of midnight.

I would prefer these comments to be viewed as an observation, not a complaint. This the second time we have experienced the same problem although we intend to return to The Lowry again - the next time we will be ready for it - hopefully with the issue resolved and better signage installed!

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank davidmor2n1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne J, Manager at Lowry Outlet, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2018

Hi David,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review although this was not a pleasant to read.

Please could you email your details over to my email address with a contact number so I can speak to you in person regarding your complaint.

I want to ensure that your next trip to the centre is a much better experience than the previous times you have visited and would like to discuss this further.

My email address is jjanssen@peel.co.uk.

Look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards
Joanne Janssen ( Customer Service Manager )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2018 via mobile

Not a great deal here at the moment hover hopefully this will change with the planned development over the next couple of years. More variety of shops is needed

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Kellstar1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne J, Manager at Lowry Outlet, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

Dear Customer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Here at The Lowry Outlet we are currently working on plans to introduce new shops and services to the centre to make it more enjoyable for our customers. We are currently working on our new development called The Watergardens which will be new restaurants and bars which will be located at the Waterside entrance of the centre.

We value all of our customers feedback in order to improve our Customers experience and we will certainly take your comments on board.

We thank you again for taking the time to post your review.

Kind regards,

Henry Long
Customer Service Advisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018

We used to always make use of the restaurants here before going to a show, due to the convenience and the free parking validation.
Now that the parking validation has been taken away, we no longer arrive early for shows as this would make our parking even more expensive.
There are some good food outlets here, and I'm sure the removal of the parking offer has sadly meant lost customers for them.
Manchester has countless excellent restaurants, so with the convenient parking offer no longer in operation, we'll be exploring the many other options elsewhere for our pre-show dining.

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank Howard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne J, Manager at Lowry Outlet, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2018

Dear Customer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am sorry to hear that you are unhappy with our car park charges in the centre, the full audit of local parking shows that our new rates are up to 40% less than other local car parks. Being located in the heart of Media City means our car parks also get used as a park and ride, something we’re keen to reduce as we want to ensure spaces for our shoppers.

Vue cinema customers will still be able to enjoy 4 free hours parking when they purchase a Vue cinema ticket and disabled customers will be entitled to four hours free parking on production of their blue badge that they show at the Information Desk.

We value all our customers feedback and thank you once again for taking the time to give us your feedback.

We will make sure all your comments are logged.

We hope that you will give us another chance in the future and visit us again.

King Regards

Henry Long
Customer Services Advisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2018 via mobile

Love the M and S Outlet and got some good bargains here. A good Centre for a mooch around and some good bargains to be had.

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank taffUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne J, Manager at Lowry Outlet, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2018


Dear Customer,

Thank you for posting your review.

Here at The Lowry Outlet we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit and were happy with our shopping facilities that we have to offer.

We hope you enjoyed your football match and to see you again very soon.

Kind Regards

Henry Long
Customer Services Advisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lowry Outlet also viewed

Salford, Greater Manchester
Salford, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Lowry Outlet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing