We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$152
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$104
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
DeanGate Motel(Lydney)(Great Value!)
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Swan Hotel(Wotton-under-Edge)
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens(Thornbury)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$475
US$390
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$77
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (72)
Filter reviews
72 results
Traveller rating
36
21
10
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
36
21
10
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscountry townsingle bedtop floorwedding partyfull english breakfastcoach housean overnight staycouple of nightsbed was comfortablestayed for two nightswakehairdryer
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 72 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2017

Spotlessly clean and tidy room which on a Friday night I had as a single for £65.Room was massive with a very comfy double bed plus a single.Full English breakfast with all fresh local ingredients and warm and friendly owner and staff.

Obviously very popular with the locals as the bar was full even at 11,30pm.If you are staying in and around Berkeley this is the place to stay for both comfort and value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank mncrbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

We booked a table for 4 at 1pm today, yesterday morning to enjoy a Sunday Roast.
We arrived just as another family group were having photos taken for their Golden Wedding Anniversary.

We ordered drinks and our Main Course from George who was having to work extra hard on his own we gather.
Our roast dinners - 3 beef and 1 pork arrived piping hot with a separate plate of fresh vegetables. Presentation was very good and all the food was very tasty and cooked traditionally just to our liking.
We ordered 2 desserts and they were very good too.
When the bill arrived it represented very good value for money and we all enjoyed our meal.
Would recommend this venue for Sunday lunch, but be prepared to wait a little. The food was worth waiting for.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank steveprotheroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

Very old property, quaint in some respects, wedding party in attendance whilst I was there but didn't disturb me. My room was very small with a single bed, wet shower bathroom, found it a bit claustrophobic luckily only slept in the room. There is a bar onsite which is reasonable with prices. Breakfast is adequate and reasonable. It is what is, a country town and still in the past.

Room Tip: my room was to the back of the property in a wing, you can hear noise from people in their rooms and the slamming of doors.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1xhappytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

My wife and I stayed last weekend at the hotel, with a group of friends to celebrate another friend's 50th birthday.

On our arrival we decided after a long journey to eat in the hotel. The menu was good, offering restaurant and bar menu's. We all chose from the bar menu which was reasonably priced and 6 of us were taken to the restaurant to eat our meal. The atmosphere was good and we were attended too appropriately by the polite waiting staff. I had the Chilli which was very tasty.

Although there had been a Wake in the hotel during the day we were well attended too by Tracey and her team, in the bar, as well as at breakfast. We found the breakfast to our liking and cooked freshly to our specifications.

Our room was on the top floor, was spacious and clean, with good en-suite facilities. The bed was comfortable with us both sleeping well and undisturbed, potentially helped by a measure of Tracey's port!

I would recommend the Berkeley Arms to anyone looking for an overnight stay, long weekend, function or just a 'get away from it' break, as the surrounding locality is lovely.

Thank to Tracey and the team for being part of great weekend; we will see you next year...

Room Tip: The room (11) we had was quiet
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank markhenderson2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

Very convenient for a wedding at the castle but a pretty basic hotel. More of an inn with a bizarre range of furnishings but bed was comfortable enough.
Our bathroom door didn't close which was slightly annoying/ unpleasant!
Breakfast was basic but plenty of it.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank LondonRFitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews