We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not this time”
Review of Saxon King

Saxon King
Ranked #259 of 730 Restaurants in Southend-on-Sea
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

For the last two wednesdays 13th june and 20th june we went there for dinner . We are pretty regulars Always the service was excellent which is very important to us . We always had the staff smiling and happy to serve and always asked in between the dinner if all is well. But this time twice we were very disappointed . First wednesday two weeks ago the young lady Backy was very good as she started serving after we were ignored by others so it was made up . But last wednesday we were completely ignored and had to chase the staff to clean the table . Then had to ask extra plates ,we were given 2 plate as there were 3 of us These 2 plates were dirty. When asked for extra napkins ,were given reluctantly .Main meal was served but no cutlery , so had to go to the counter for them. PULLED CHICKEN IN THE TACOS WAS REHEATED AND WAS VERY HARD . I was very annoyed and First time I never tipped the server. . I will probably give another chance but I like to request the manager to look into this ,which he may not but will be appreciated if the service to be improved and bring back to as it was . There is definitly new staff needs to be trained I would like the response from the management.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mrmoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saxonkingsouthend, Manager at Saxon King, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thanks for the feedback will have a look into this for you . We appreciate all feedback both good and bad so we can aim to improve . Glad to see you were happy on all your previous visits with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (603)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 603 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent food. James ( the manager) and his staff were very friendly and accommodating and can always find you a table at last minute!!! I highly recommend the new flat bread menu or their rotisserie chicken. Also their steak and wine night on a wednesday is worth a journey. I tend to be a regular visitor here, most weeks to be honest so its def worth checking out!!

Thank shazarooney40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markwallace26, General Manager at Saxon King, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for review
Steak and wine is on a thurs :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visit here regularly... staff friendly and good food
Steak and wine night good value and manager happy to swap for other drinks if requested...

Clean premises, good outside seating area

Large drinks selection

Great flatbreads!

Thank Lis O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markwallace26, General Manager at Saxon King, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for the mention see you again soon hopefully

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I’ve been here several times on all different occasions and haven’t been disappointed once. Great food, excellent service, friendly. Can’t beat it!

Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markwallace26, General Manager at Saxon King, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks Tom always good to hear some feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Eaten here a few times. Everything we have had has always been nice. Good service, much better than some other local chain pubs!

Thank Carlsberg2223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saxonkingsouthend, Manager at Saxon King, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

If Carlsberg did reviews then they would probably be the best in the world :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saxon King also viewed

Shoeburyness, Southend-on-Sea
Chestfield, Canterbury
 

Been to Saxon King? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing