We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (336)
Filter reviews
336 results
Traveller rating
222
75
27
10
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
222
75
27
10
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub cooked breakfast high street exceptional food comfortable bed mood lighting lovely room walk in shower separate building lovely meal stayed here for one night breakfast room a lovely stay full english good nights sleep yogurt hill house
Filter
Updating list...
117 - 122 of 336 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2016 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here last year for a friends wedding. We stayed in the converted barn as we liked the appeal of it as it was something different. Was very happy with the stay. Friendly staff. The barn has its own parking space right out front and the room was really nice. Probably not the best for people with mobility issues as the stairs up to the bedroom are a small spiral staircase. Would definitely visit again!

Date of stay: May 2015
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Mr_Swann03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2016

The Bell is a traditional pub which has expanded its business model to add two restaurants - one attached to the main bar, one up the road called the Ostler, and 26 rooms in separate buildings also along the same main High Road in Horndon. Our room was the converted stable and was like a little apartment, with a seating area and bathroom on the ground floor and a bedroom up a spiral staircase. Very comfortable and large bed, and the bathroom and sitting room also to a high standard (could do with an extra wastepaper basket in the main room).

We had coffee at the pub in the morning and had then booked a table for dinner in the evening. The pub was very busy when we went back for a pre-dinner drink but it was 7pm on a Friday so no more than you would expect. The food and service were excellent - particularly enjoyed the scallops, the sea bream and the venison, as well as a refreshing panna cotta dessert. With wine the food bill was £72 for two - very good value - and the room, including a nice buffet-style continental breakfast the following morning (cooked items are available at an extra charge) was £90.

Room tip: Room 7, the stable, is lovely and very reasonably priced.
Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ianchel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2016

Popped in for lunch and had crab followed by well-done pigeon - delicious. Our visit was just for the meal and did not stay. Must have the best food in Essex. Party of four. Enjoyed a pint of shandy too. My colleague had the vegetarian meal

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lawrence P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2016

We stayed in High House, part of the hotel. No description woul do justice to the innovation of design, comfort and amenity. In fact it was so comfortable that we overslept and nearly missed our dinner date!!!!!

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Oliver297e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2016 via mobile

What a smashing place to stay. We stayed in room 6 which was in the attic and had a lovely comfortable bed, big tv and a bathroom to die for. Great free WIFI. Situation in a lovely village. Unfortunately we didn't get to spend much time in the room as we were attending a wedding nearby. We did have a few drinks in the pub which was very pleasant. Staff were very friendly. Would definitely go back here and have a meal in the pub.

Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank husbands78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews